Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A touching read...
Belonging is a touching real life story of Sameem Ali. I found it to be a great book, very well written in my opinion. Sameem describes the events from her childhood and during the years she was growing up very well. There were times where she could not remember the exact details, it was still a very good read. I read the book in 12 hours, by the time I had finished...
Published on 29 July 2009 by Blossom 786

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very good story
Never read a story like this...it makes people think...any child surrounded by us could have a problem and we would not know. Unfortunately, some pages were missing but it was ok as it is an used book.
Published 16 months ago by Vanuka Parameswaran


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A touching read..., 29 July 2009
This review is from: Belonging (Paperback)
Belonging is a touching real life story of Sameem Ali. I found it to be a great book, very well written in my opinion. Sameem describes the events from her childhood and during the years she was growing up very well. There were times where she could not remember the exact details, it was still a very good read. I read the book in 12 hours, by the time I had finished it, I had tears rolling down my face. It is such a touching story. I felt sorry for her mother and in particular for her father who was mentally ill and therefore was kept away from the kids. I would also say Sameems mother was ill as well because I don't think any mother in their right mind would behave in such a way with their child.
Sameem was going to school and doing the household chores at a young age. Should she make a mistake or forget to add something in the cooking, she would suffer from horrific beatings from her mother and elder brother.
Sameem was taken to Pakistan in her early teens and was the victim of a forced marriage to a man in his late 20's.
I felt happy when Sameem finally found happiness and was able to leave the nightmare she was living.
I would definately recommend this book because it is an eye-opener of what goes on in British Muslim families behind closed doors. Of course not every Muslim family is like this but there are some still out there that have a life like Sameem once had.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational, 8 Oct. 2008
By 
Ms. S. E. Richards "Suzanne" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Belonging (Hardcover)
Sameem's book is a source of inspiration not just for those who have suffered abuse at the hands of their family or who have experienced forced marriage but for all women.

Read it, love it and approach your life with a renewed sense of purpose and determination inspired by this wonderful woman's story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A shocking but ultimately uplifting story, 16 Oct. 2008
By 
This review is from: Belonging (Hardcover)
So shocking to think that Sameem Ali's appalling story of mistreatment by her family as a child belongs to this country and my generation. Of course it shouldn't be happening anywhere, to anyone, but being so close to home does give her account an extra impact. The tragedy of course is that this is still going on, here and in other countries - an ongoing abuse of the young and vulnerable which Sameem Ali is now working to combat.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Belonging - Sameem Ali, 5 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belonging (Paperback)
This book is stunning in its shocking truth. I was fortunate enough to be in the writers group which Sameem Ali went to whilst writing this book. It was obvious at once that she had a huge story to tell and as the weeks went by and more and more of the story unfolded we were on the edge of our seats. Clearly she had survived - she was in the room with us. You will have to read the book to find out - and you won't be able to put the book down. Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 29 Oct. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belonging (Kindle Edition)
I have read many books on arranged marriages and the Muslim culture,this is one of the best and the most heartbreaking, although it is one of the few to have a happy ending, this should never happen ,schools in the midlands and in high asian areas should educate these girls and provide a saftey net for them- this book should be given to all muslim girls to read at school !!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Belonging by Sameen Ali, 24 Nov. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Belonging (Paperback)
This is truly a book to remember.Sameen lived in a childrens home and was taken back to her mother to live in Walsall.There she endured a hard life having to do all the chores for the family.All she wanted was her mother to love and appreciate her and all she got was cruelty.
Then at 13 her mother took her to Pakistan and married her to Afzal.
When she became pregnant her mother took her home to Glasgow.Sameen had no idea what was happening to her or even how she became pregnant.
A really beautiful book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gripping true story, 12 Jan. 2012
By 
This review is from: Belonging (Hardcover)
Abandoned by her parents, Sameem Ali spent six and a half years growing up in a children's home. When she was told that her family wanted to take her back she couldn't wait to start her new life with them. Instead, she returned to a dirty house where she was subjected to endless chores. Her mother began to beat her and her unhappiness drove her to self-harm. So Sameem was excited when she boarded a plane with her mother to visit Pakistan for the first time. It was only after they arrived in her family's village that she realised she wasn't there on holiday. Aged just thirteen, Sameem was forced to marry a complete stranger. When pregnant, two months later, she was made to return to Glasgow where she suffered further abuse from her family. After finding true love, Sameem fled the violence at home and escaped to Manchester with her young son. She believed she had put her horrific experiences behind her, but was unprepared for the consequences of violating her family's honour.....

I really enjoyed reading this (if thats the right words). Poor Sam has a very poor childhood - years of verbal and physical abuse (not sexual) from her mother and family and is dealt further nastyness from an arranged marriage at 13. This is one very strong girl who overcomes alot for the love of her son and in the hope of finding someone who really will love her - for her. Its a gripping read but also qute scary to wonder how many young girls are put through similiar. Well worth a read if u like True stories 8/10 for me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant......, 28 July 2009
By 
Ravinder Nahal (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Belonging (Paperback)
I brought this book a while ago but never got the chance to read it until 2 days ago. Since then i found it very difficult to put it down and wanted to constantly read it!
I still can't believe that there were and still are these type of people around us and we don't even know it... I had always read about such things happening in the news and so on, but never felt it, like i did whilst reading this book.
Sameem has come a long way, having just listened to a radio interview from last year, and i find it the book refreshing to read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Belonging, 5 Dec. 2008
This review is from: Belonging (Hardcover)
An amazing true story that will have you gripped from the beginning to the end! Sameen Ali tells her story of how she was beaten, tortured and treated like a slave by her own family. Aged 13 she was forced to marry a complete stranger and became pregnant.
Forced marriage still happens today and people are being killed in the name of 'honour'. Sameen is one of the lucky ones who managed to run away and survive to tell her story! A must read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly heartbreaking story a Must Read!!, 16 Nov. 2013
By 
Mrs Patel (UK, West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Belonging (Paperback)
I really couldn't put this book down. This book is definitely a tear jerking book. This is a true story about Sameem Ali who's story begins at the children's home till the age of seven, until her family decide to take her back home where she gets beaten and treated like a slave.This book will give you a real insight of Sameem' s life which will make you laugh aswell as cry. Pick this book up and read it, you won't be disappointed!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Belonging
Belonging by Sameem Ali (Paperback - 2 Oct. 2008)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews