Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


47 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting (and not stupid)
Has a comprehensive bibliography for future research, and two sets of indicies so can be used as a text book. However you can also read it as a story book. I was surprised just how fascinating the history and development of the concepts behind each of the words described turned out to be.
Published on 19 Aug 2008 by James Renals

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars zzzz....
Oh dear..unfortunately this was a dreadful book that I couldnt complete. Whole chapters went by and the author kept droning on and on and on endlessly.

This was one destined for my charity pile.
Published 23 months ago by Mrs. T. Begum


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

47 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting (and not stupid), 19 Aug 2008
By 
James Renals (London (not the one in CT or ON)) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Has a comprehensive bibliography for future research, and two sets of indicies so can be used as a text book. However you can also read it as a story book. I was surprised just how fascinating the history and development of the concepts behind each of the words described turned out to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars secret life of words, 6 Mar 2010
By 
John A. Moore (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Secret Life of Words: How English Became English (Paperback)
The Secret Life of Words: How English Became English (Paperback) give a brilliant account of hoe and when the various words that were introduced into the English language and also how that langusge changed and adopted including non-Englisg words into every day use. It is surprising thh amount of words that were introduced. This is a good book for the study ot the development of the Englaih language
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book for wordy people!, 23 Feb 2009
By 
Wow! Chanced across this book and thought it sounded good, but it is far better than that! If you have ever wondered about the origin of words in English, want to know which words come to us via where (and often when and why!) or what a calque is (makes you think twice about your mortgage!) then consider this book: it's word trivia galore! Very readable, easy to reference, highly enjoyable and absolutely fascinating.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great present, 9 Jan 2012
This review is from: The Secret Life of Words: How English Became English (Paperback)
I bought this book as a Christmas present for my Dad, and he loves it. I would recommend it to others.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secret Life of Words, 18 Feb 2009
Much more than words - a tour round English history through the medium of our language. Very readable and disappointing to finish!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars zzzz...., 22 Nov 2012
By 
Mrs. T. Begum (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Life of Words: How English Became English (Paperback)
Oh dear..unfortunately this was a dreadful book that I couldnt complete. Whole chapters went by and the author kept droning on and on and on endlessly.

This was one destined for my charity pile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Life of Words: How English Became English (Paperback)
Great book with interesting insights to our language in England
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 7 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Secret Life of Words: How English Became English (Paperback)
Product as stated. Good value for money and swiftly delivered. The book itself is endlessly fascinating and the author writes with great clarity.Thank you very much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 7 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love this book. I am learning so much about how our language evolved. I can dip into it when I have time and it is easy to understand
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars book v cover, 13 May 2013
By 
jon smith (bradford w.yorks) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Secret Life of Words: How English Became English (Paperback)
dont be fooled by the trendy cover-this is NOT 'words for dummies'.the breadth is breathtaking so dont think you can dip in and out. you may find that you need a dictionary beside you as you read--this is a weighty tome and not for the casual observer! it is, despite this,well worth the effort!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Secret Life of Words: How English Became English
The Secret Life of Words: How English Became English by Henry Hitchings (Paperback - 2 April 2009)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews