Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing read made me want to read more and travel
I liked this Peter Hopkirk book for the same reason I've liked his others - *the Great Game* and *Foreign Devils On the Silk Route* - they're always exciting accounts of interesting, far away places and times. In this book, Hopkirk goes to the Indian subcontinent to try to trace the route taken in Kipling's *Kim* by the two main characters, Kim himself and his Tibetan...
Published on 29 Oct. 2003

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointment
Should have been called half-hearted quest for Kim, as he seemed to find very little He could have followed up a couple of leads, but seemed afraid to do so. Also the book is padded out with large extracts from Kipling's book, far beyond what was necessary.
Pretty poor and not cheap!
Published 9 months ago by Rm Burrell


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absorbing read made me want to read more and travel, 29 Oct. 2003
By A Customer
I liked this Peter Hopkirk book for the same reason I've liked his others - *the Great Game* and *Foreign Devils On the Silk Route* - they're always exciting accounts of interesting, far away places and times. In this book, Hopkirk goes to the Indian subcontinent to try to trace the route taken in Kipling's *Kim* by the two main characters, Kim himself and his Tibetan monk friend/master. I liked the-indepth description of Lahore and Hopkirk's account of seeking out what landmarks remain from Kim's day - the kind of task many a modern backpacking traveller would enjoy recreating. The anecdotes are, as in all Hopkirk's books, fascinating and made me want to read more. The story of going to Umballa to find Strickland's bungalow (Strickland the master spy/adventurer of the Great Game in Kipling's stories) was especially evocative - the ruined Anglican church, the old bungalows now grown shabby and unkept, the possible location considered - all magical. Hopkirk enjoys himself throughout this book. The trip to the hill station of Simla is perhaps the best part of all, with Hopkirk turning up a lot of interesting information and speculation. The point of his book is to help you enjoy Kipling's *Kim* more, (as Dover Wilson's *What Happens in Hamlet* helps you enjoy that play the more). I thoroughly recommend it. The only place I think I differed with the author is the last chapter, where he quotes a forgotten novel speculating on what Kim would have thought about India's independence. (In the forgotten novel quoted, Kim joins the resistance movement!) I think the whole tenor of both Kipling's novel and Hopkirk's journey suggest the opposite, that Kim would have been terribly unfashionable today and regretted the passing of the Raj, and looked at India's shabby cities of Mumbai, Chennai and Kolkata and yearned for the old Bombay, Madras and Calcutta, This is, of course, an awkward issue to handle but British officials of the Raj era were appalled by the corruption and ineptitude of India's politicians and the way the country became proverbial for poverty and I don't think there's anyway of getting around facing how people of a different era thought - I wish Hopkirk had tackled that. But this is just another example of how stimulating Hopkirk's book is. Take it with you on your trip to India, along with *Kim*, which Hopkirk so rightly point out is the most popular book to read by English speaking travellers to India.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Quest for "Kim", 7 Jun. 2004
By A Customer
Rudyard Kipling's "Kim" has been a favourite since childhood. This book sets out to discover who were the people behind Kipling's characters and the author's research has been meticulous and detailed, uncovering false assumptions by earlier researchers. However, I found the author's repeated self-deprecation irritating and unnecessary. There seemed to be a degree of repetition of thoughts, differently expressed, and I cannot decide if this was a literary device to underline the strength of the author's commitment or a way of padding out the narrative. It is still a good read and should be welcomed by all who read and appreciate Rudyard Kipling.
The book arrived in pristine condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Searching for Kim, 21 Nov. 2010
By 
Kim Lovelace (Chichester UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It took me fifty years to eventually read "Kim" with joy and enthusiasm, now I hope to retrace at least some of the route taken by Kim and the Lama. Peter Hopkirk's lovingly written book has done most of the work I expected to have to carry out myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not all that I had hoped it would be., 21 Jun. 2014
By 
Ernest W. Adams "Game Design Consultant" (Surrey, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quest for Kim: In Search of Kipling's Great Game (Paperback)
Something of a disappointment, unfortunately. It contains a lot of useful background material and is great for learning the political context of the story and the context of Kipling's own life. I'm giving it four stars (60-80%) because it's well-researched and well-written and the material is generally interesting. But there's too much of the author talking about himself and his own activities. Worst of all, there's not a single map showing any part of Kim's travels! He seems to assume that you know where things are despite the fact that many of the names have changed. He also dwells rather longer on the horrors of Partition than is necessary considering that it took place long after the events of Kim and long before the present day.

A good book to have if you are a Kim fan, but definitely not the only one you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A perfect companion to Kipling's classic novel, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quest for Kim: In Search of Kipling's Great Game (Paperback)
As a widely acclaimed chronicler of The Great Game and related historical episodes that occurred across the Near East, Central and Southern Asia throughout the 19th and early 20th century, Hopkirk was well qualified to write this wonderfully accessible book about Kipling's classic novel.

The book's chapters juxtapose plot narrative from the novel alongside his own investigations - from official Kipling archives, historical sources and other published material - into who exactly inspired Kipling's characters (Colonel Creighton, Mahbub Ali, The Babu etc). Each chapter also describes his own trips to various locations in the Punjab and Himalayan foothills where the story is largely set in order to better understand and bring to life, at least as far as modern political and logistical circumstances allow, other elements of the story such as Kim's train journey from Lahore to Umballa, and the lasting legacy of the Raj in places like Shimla and Lucknow.

Hopkirk's book is probably best appreciated if you are already familiar with the story of "Kim" but if you haven't yet read Kipling's novel then as long as the historical backdrop of British Raj v Russia territorial rivalry is a subject of interest it may inspire you to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent book, 6 Aug. 2010
By 
Paul Morris "Unclemo" (Ventnor ,England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Quest for Kim: In Search of Kipling's Great Game (Paperback)
Being a lover of Kipling's Kim I looked forward to a history lesson on the events behind the novel
Peter Hopkirk did not disappoint - he really went to town on the detail and "put you there" right by his side.Thoroughly enjoyable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Delightful Read, 29 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quest for Kim: In Search of Kipling's Great Game (Paperback)
I had first read Quest for Kim way back in the first years of this century. I then ordered it last year as a gift for a young Indian and took it with me on my annual return to India. Sadly I was not able to connect with the intended recipient and Graham and I decided to read it or in my case re read it when relaxing in southern India. For me it was a real pleasure to see Graham enjoying it so much. In the last 15 years we have travelled the length and breadth of India and thus the story resonated clearly with him. I too loved it again. The fact that I had lived in Saharanpur, that we know the Ganga's plains and have been to the source of the holy river and even to the Wagah Border and Amritsar made it special. No I have not been to Pakistan. It is a fun book and I recommend it to those who are interested in travel within India. We then, on our return watched the DVD of Kim with our little grandsons - it does not quite do the subject justice but then we are biased!India: The Peacock's Call
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New footsteps on a well-trodden path, 16 May 2014
By 
Gs-trentham - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
There are two writers at work here: there is Peter Hopkirk, author of many splendid travel books about central asia and the Great Game; and there is Peter Hopkirk, lifelong devotee of Rudyard Kipling's Kim

Here he dovetails the two enthusiasms, guiding the reader through the basic narrative of the novel while himself following the path taken by Kim. His quest is to find not only the young sahib in turn of theCentury India, but also to identify the actual places and people who inspired Kipling.

Hpkirk's passion will grip the reader and his practised eye for a diversionary tale - sample the regulations governing dogs on India's trains - keeps the subject fresh and alive.

Maybe fully paid-up members of Kipling Societies will want to award the fifth star but this rnon-specialist reader simply enjoyed being a fellow traveller for 300 pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kim, 9 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hopkirk's book for me "put meat" around RK's Kim.
Reading the book in tow with Kim was rewarding.
A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A must for all readers of 'Kim', 18 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Quest for Kim: In Search of Kipling's Great Game (Paperback)
This book will be appreciated by anybody reading 'Kim'.

Peter Hopkirk's authority on all matters to do with the Great Game is well known, and this very readable book is an excellent supplement to the footnotes and references that most modern editions of Kim require and sheds additional light on many aspects of Kipling's classic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Quest for Kim: In Search of Kipling's Great Game
Quest for Kim: In Search of Kipling's Great Game by Peter Hopkirk (Paperback - 27 Mar. 2006)
£10.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews