Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Erotic but where is it going?
Cat is obviously outrageously promiscuous but well...let's be honest...you're reading it for the juicy details. And hey, if that's how she wants to live her life, who am I to judge? Like everyone else is saying though, this book definitely has some very erotic scenes that make you want to keep reading, but there's something missing. Sometimes I kind of felt like it...
Published on 15 Jan 2008 by Claudia

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amazing...
...that a book about sex can be so dull. Perhaps this book could be viewed as titillating (if you'll pardon the expression!) for women who've led a sheltered life - but nowadays, the average 20-30 something has been there and done much of what Catherine Townsend has (even if they haven't written a book about it). The book is rather slow going, the sex scenes not at all...
Published on 21 Aug 2007 by booksy


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Erotic but where is it going?, 15 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Sleeping Around: Secrets of a Sexual Adventuress (Paperback)
Cat is obviously outrageously promiscuous but well...let's be honest...you're reading it for the juicy details. And hey, if that's how she wants to live her life, who am I to judge? Like everyone else is saying though, this book definitely has some very erotic scenes that make you want to keep reading, but there's something missing. Sometimes I kind of felt like it wasn't going anywhere.

This being said, I thought the threesome/foursome scene was quite titillating, and the Viagra bit was indeed funny. I appreciate Ms. Townsend's honesty, and it was a 'fun read.'

I have to ask though, how the hell can she afford to live in London and live the lifestyle she does? It makes me think my chances of getting laid by rich and wealthy men would increase substantially if I moved across the pond. ;)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What you'd expect!, 25 Jun 2007
By 
Sarah Durston (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping Around: Secrets of a Sexual Adventuress (Paperback)
Catharine Townsend is an American in London, and she writes about sex for 'The Independent'. The book is much like you would expect, aiming to be a 'Sex in the City' type account of her sexual exploits, encounters with various men and her Bridget Jones style 'urban family.'

The book is OK, quite titillating in parts, but the main problem that I had with it is that Townsend doesn't come across as particularly likeable. I have real problems with someone who writes sentences like, 'I'm a steak tartar eating chick who is as ravenous a carnivore in the kitchen as in the bedroom.' (Puuurrleese!)

The endless references to shopping in Selfridges and having Hollywood waxes and manicures became particularly wearing.

There are plus points though...the chapter in which she experiments with Viagra was very amusing!

Does what it says on the tin
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Catherine Townsend, a sexy minx!, 5 July 2009
This review is from: Sleeping Around: Secrets of a Sexual Adventuress (Paperback)
It all started when she was on a BBC Radio Four programme and she read out an excerpt from the book "Sleeping Around: Secrets of a Sexual Adventuress". Her irresistible voice as she read on about her love and considering her move to London. I realized I had to get this book.

This book is an easy-to-read book, each chapter isn't too long and her descriptions of her "adventures" are in such detail that, you would think you were there with her, side-lining her "adventures".

I would recommend this book to anyone wanting to get into a mind of an extraordinary woman who loves living (though very stressed, but her fantastic friends being there to keep her feet on the ground), enjoying bedroom fun (a bit too much), juggling her lovers in finding Mr. Right and balancing her freelance work as a journalist and getting permanent residency in the UK. Hopefully, she did manage to secure her residency so the passport control officer doesn't give her another dirty look... again.

Sleeping Around: Secrets of a Sexual Adventuress
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - mechanical and tender, 14 Dec 2007
By 
C. Raeburn (Basingstoke UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping Around: Secrets of a Sexual Adventuress (Paperback)
This is just one of those books that you cannot put down. Catharine Townsend describes how she achieves various notches on her bed-posts in vivid, erotic detail. The carefully chosen words leave crisp and sexy images in the mind. She skillfully separates liaisons that fulfill a need and those that have the addition of an emotional price tag. Funny, painful, dirty and tender - just like good sex should be. I passed this on to my husband to read and he made a couple of observations:

The first - do women really spend that much time selecting shoes and underwear?
The second - did the wedding ever go ahead? At the time of reading he was in prison sharing a cell with a man who was serving two years for facilitating a false marriage. I hope the follow up is not 'Sleeping in jail'...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Amazing..., 21 Aug 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping Around: Secrets of a Sexual Adventuress (Paperback)
...that a book about sex can be so dull. Perhaps this book could be viewed as titillating (if you'll pardon the expression!) for women who've led a sheltered life - but nowadays, the average 20-30 something has been there and done much of what Catherine Townsend has (even if they haven't written a book about it). The book is rather slow going, the sex scenes not at all arousing, the humour falls short and it's also somewhat Narcissistic, with the author relating compliments about her sexiness/sexual prowess/beauty etc. They add nothing to the pace, content or interest of the book and just seem a bit like self referral or back-slapping. If you're looking for an interesting read along these lines, I'd recommend Girl With a One Track Mind by Abby Lee. It's not high fiction, but as the genre goes, it's pacier, wittier and more engaging than Catherine Townsend's offering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 11 Dec 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping Around: Secrets of a Sexual Adventuress (Paperback)
I did enjoy it, very honest. Good that she highlighted the incompetance with some of her blokes. I think that needs a chapter of its own. I enjoyed the Viagra chapter too. I think she definitely has 'issues' that need to be addressed but can understand if many guys arent to be trusted.. but some are... I thought she was quite witty but clearly went after the wrong blokes. She needs get to know them better! It will save so much time and hassles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Like watching an episode of SATC, 6 Jan 2009
This review is from: Sleeping Around: Secrets of a Sexual Adventuress (Paperback)
Oh my goodness... The blurb sounded interesting, a bit risque and something new to read. No! As I read the prologue I could actually hear Sarah Jessica Parker reading this book to me. The similarities are too hard to ignore; author is a sex columnist, wears tatty clothes to write her column on her Mac laptop and phrases like "serial monogamist" just make this book SO SATC.

To be honest, you'd be better of watching a couple of episodes of Sex and the City if a bit of risque behaviour is what you want. At least they were original and not a poor copy-cat.

In addition, Ms Townsend seems incredibly arrogant and not at all the kind of gal you could see yourself befriending.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 2 Feb 2014
By 
L. A. Fitchett (jersey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping Around: Secrets of a Sexual Adventuress (Paperback)
Brought this book for my holiday, and it was perfect. Just a nonsense read by the pool with a cocktail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read!, 20 Feb 2013
This review is from: Sleeping Around: Secrets of a Sexual Adventuress (Paperback)
I read this book at the same time as 50 Shades of Grey. I much preferred Sleeping Around. It's got the hot sex scenes plus heart, and a fish-out-of-water story that makes you root for the author. Loved her insights on dating. She's hilarious!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars fun and frothy, 13 Feb 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sleeping Around: Secrets of a Sexual Adventuress (Paperback)
This is alot better than most of the chick lit sex books out there . Being a journalist Catherine can write and I admire her confidence, alot of what she said made alot of sense to me . I did become alittle bored by the end , the boy friends became rather samey , as did the shopping trips and the sex in the city friends . Plus with some of her stuff [ swingers parties etc] I sensed that she was only trying stuff out for her column , wasnt as out there as she liked to make out and really was just looking for mr right . An easy read for a cold afternoon , to make you smile rather than turn you on .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sleeping Around: Secrets of a Sexual Adventuress
Sleeping Around: Secrets of a Sexual Adventuress by Catherine Townsend (Paperback - 14 Jun 2007)
£8.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews