Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


45 of 46 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars warmer and funnier than before but still a great read
i'm guessing most people will be coming to this book having read "a million pieces", frey's first memoir, and this book picks up where a million pieces left off with frey coming to the end of his prison sentence for his various drug and alcohol fueled activities.
but it would be wrong to assume that this is going to be more of the same. where a million pieces was a...
Published on 6 Oct. 2005

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very disappointing
A million little pieces is excellent (albeit fictional) but this book was both dull and depressing. The pace was really slow, more than the content. Somehow the magic of the first book just wasn't there.
Published 13 months ago by Anonymous


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, 5 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Friend Leonard (Kindle Edition)
a truly amazing friendship full of love and hope, find a great friend you're set for life! I cried a lot!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most beautiful story, ever?, 20 Feb. 2006
This review is from: My Friend Leonard (Hardcover)
I simply cannot get this book (or A Million Liitle Pieces) out of my head.
The other reviews detail the story and the characters. But it has to be the emotions that this book makes you feel. I laughed. I cried. And at times, I could hardly catch my breath or read the text through my tears.
The publicity around the truth of Frey's work is, I think. irrelevant. Quite simply, these might be the best two books you ever read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Masterpiece!, 30 Jun. 2007
By 
R. P. Sedgwick "Grim Rob" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: My Friend Leonard (Paperback)
I know there is some controversy over James Frey's two books and how much of these so-called first hand accounts of his life are what actually happened.

Frankly I am not bothered. Both books are masterful and very original/inspirational/sad/joyful whether they are fictional, non-fictional or some mixture of the two. Whatever label is attached to the book doesn't alter its content.

My Friend Leonard is a sequel which for once is just as good if not even better than the original. I would strongly recommend reading the books in order but each is self-contained and may be read without having looked at the other.

Ironically as the two books are about addiction they themselves are very addictive. Do you read them as fast as you can or do you try and savour them and make them last a few days was my dilemma. With both of them I tried the latter and ended up doing the former.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Taking the edge off!, 23 Feb. 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Friend Leonard (Paperback)
I loved 'a million little pieces' and though 'my friend leonard' is a good/ok book, its a shadow of the first and as such it took something away from its predecessor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 20 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Friend Leonard (Paperback)
Loved this book, although it made me cry more than once. Definitely recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars still liked the book, 30 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Friend Leonard (Kindle Edition)
So the author has been found out to be fraud, still liked the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Friend Leonard (Kindle Edition)
Really enjoyed this book. I didn't want it to end. Brilliant read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Frey's Work, 4 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: My Friend Leonard (Hardcover)
Just like 'A Million Little Pieces', Frey's work on 'My Friend Leonard' is just as impressive. He is a prolific writer with great detail shown through out his books. I would highly rcommend them as being great reads for years to come.
Also recommended: Another impressive writer is Katlyn Stewarts work on Nightmares Echo (I still can not get that book out of my mind)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Friend Leonard (Kindle Edition)
Very good read, different from A Million Little Pieces.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 22 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: My Friend Leonard (Paperback)
A brilliant sequel, an amazing story brilliantly told.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 17 8 9 10 11 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

My Friend Leonard
My Friend Leonard by James Frey (Hardcover - 9 May 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews