Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lady's tale from a bygone age.
Worldly Penelope Chetwood relates the tale of her solo ride with companion, La Marquesa the mule, through Andalucia during the early 60's. The book records her journey through rural Andalucia and the characters and situations she encounters. Writing in a style akin to the period in question, the old fashioned style is quaint in tone yet manages to capture the essence of...
Published on 24 Sep 2002 by Mrs Jane S Dawson

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Two middle aged ladies in Andalusia
Item arrived promptly, and as described. It was not as good as some other similarly themed books I have read
Published 22 months ago by d e jackson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A lady's tale from a bygone age., 24 Sep 2002
By 
Mrs Jane S Dawson (Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Two Middle-aged Ladies in Andalusia (John Murray Travel Classics) (Paperback)
Worldly Penelope Chetwood relates the tale of her solo ride with companion, La Marquesa the mule, through Andalucia during the early 60's. The book records her journey through rural Andalucia and the characters and situations she encounters. Writing in a style akin to the period in question, the old fashioned style is quaint in tone yet manages to capture the essence of 60's Andalucia and a bygone age.
Highly Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars treasured memories, 30 Oct 2009
By 
E. A. Hagerty "strandreader" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Two Middle-aged Ladies in Andalusia (John Murray Travel Classics) (Paperback)
This is a wonderful account of one middle-aged lady and her trusty (middle aged) mare exploring Andalucia in the l960s. I visited Spain as a child in l962 and it brought back vivid memories of a wild, rural country before tourism found it. You learn a lot about feeding and caring for horses, too. Should be Pony Club recommended reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A truly delightful little book, 1 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Middle-aged Ladies in Andalusia (John Murray Travel Classics) (Paperback)
I've lived in Spain for many years now and was recently given a very battered early publication of this little gem that was purchased in the Fuengirola street market. As its title indicates, it describes the solitary journey of a lady - the wife of John Betjeman, no less - on horseback around primitive Andalusia in the 1960s. It's so delightful I wanted to be able to share it with friends but with a copy that was decent enough to hand around, hence the order placed with Amazon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed it, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
good book well written go go gogo gogo go go go go as as as as aas as as gone
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Two middle aged ladies in Andalusia, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Middle-aged Ladies in Andalusia (John Murray Travel Classics) (Paperback)
Item arrived promptly, and as described. It was not as good as some other similarly themed books I have read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable, 16 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Two Middle-aged Ladies in Andalusia (John Murray Travel Classics) (Paperback)
I ready this book many years ago and it has always reminded me of a friend. So, I bought this copy for her. I think she enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 16 Nov 2014
By 
S. M. Smith (London, England, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Fantastic book enjoyed the journey with her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Two Middle-aged Ladies in Andalusia (John Murray Travel Classics)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews