Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
73
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£9.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 June 2008
This is NOTHING like Milne.

Yes, it is funny, if you like puerile, smutty and sometimes weak jokes.
It has far more in common with Ogden Nash than Milne, but Christopher Matthew lacks Nash's talent.
Eccles' illustrations are excellent, and do remind one of Shephard's.

I am not yet sixty, but getting there fast, and am old enough to remember
the early editions of Pooh and company fondly.
The inside dust jacket review of my copy of 'Sixty' calls this an "affectionate tribute to Milne". In my opinion Matthew has deliberately mis-packaged his work to make money off Milne's place in our hearts.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2009
Brilliant! Every `over-60` who has enjoyed A.A.Milne as a child will surely delight in this book. I was given it on my 60th birthday and take great delight in presenting it to all my friends who reach this `interesting`(!) milestone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2014
As described
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 May 2014
Bought for a female relatives 60th. On reading several pages found it to be geared at males - even though I had searched 60th female gifts. Returned item as very disappointed
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
Very happy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
Love this book - have bought it for several friends for their 60th. If you have read Now we are 6 it is a brilliant parody on this!! Despatched very promptly and arrived in excellent condition.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2014
Bought for a friend who turned 60. it was a great success. In fact it was so well received it was bought for other friends of the same age. Fun and written in the style of Winnie the Pooh.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2011
Just as entertaining as ever and giving a lift on gloomy days - makes agreat small gift. Expect almost everybody will find some welcome amusement.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2010
Bought this for a male friend reaching a certain age. He loved it. Buy it for a guy with a sense of humour who is not bothered about his age.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2012
I bought this as a jokey stocking filler for my wife.
It was embarrassingly unfunny and was quickly put aside.
A good idea gone wrong
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse