Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars15
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 May 2013
A delightful and colourful 'must' for Sir John Betjeman disciples, especially if read whilst listening to JB himself read from it on his CD of the same name. His inflections and pronunciations add depth and coloiur to the experience. I strongly recommend that you buy both and be uplifted.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2013
Having lived around the areas he talks about in his own inimitable style of verse, Betjemans reflection of his early life transported me back there with the wonderful illustrations adding to it's charm..
If you're starting on your Sir John Betjeman discovery or just getting an interest in poetry then this is a must have
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2013
This is a nice book. I already have a first edition by Murray and I liked the idea of an illustrated version. I must admit I was a little disappointed with the illustrations. They are nice but they are really sketches rather than pictures.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
Great drawing to add to the wonderful poetry - it just adds to the delight of Betjeman's finest work - a real joy to own and constantly pick up and read
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2015
Evocative. Best when spiced with understated humour. Shows what an excellent vehicle blank verse can be.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2016
Very pleased with condition of book, the content was better than expected because it was illustrated.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 September 2015
Very good condition and a bonus was the lovely illustrated edition
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2012
This book was in very good condition, which is what I wanted, as it is one to treasure. A delightful read. If you haven't already read this and you do enjoy biographies, you might look out for a copy of this. I particularly love the illustrations, so evocative of the time and era. Excellent service and delivery.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2015
arrived as expected on time
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2015
So Betjeman and so amusing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse