Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading for Art History Students
I found this essential for my studies and even enjoyed dipping into it for the fascinating little stories on Greek Gods and Christian Saints illustrated with neat line drawings.
If you are studying or are interested in Art History, particularly Renaissance Italian Art, this is a must-buy.
A concise and well-written tool.
Published on 10 Feb 2003 by clairgp

versus
34 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as useful as it sounds
I was looking for a dictionary which would provide some assistance with the emblematic interpretation of art. I was expecting the book to help with the meaning of mussel shells, musical instruments, shoes, bird cages etc in painting. However, I'm afraid, it does not deal much with the emblems common to seventeenth century Dutch painting. But so long as you are not...
Published on 17 Jan 2003


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading for Art History Students, 10 Feb 2003
This review is from: Hall's Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art (Paperback)
I found this essential for my studies and even enjoyed dipping into it for the fascinating little stories on Greek Gods and Christian Saints illustrated with neat line drawings.
If you are studying or are interested in Art History, particularly Renaissance Italian Art, this is a must-buy.
A concise and well-written tool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Reference Book, 4 Sep 2003
By 
Mr. D. N. Reece (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Hall's Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art (Paperback)
For anyone interested in art, who often visits galleries, and is taken in by paintings of every century, but can mnot quite figure out the roles of figures, and symbolic gestures and positions. Then this dictionary will give you a clearer understanding of the world of art. Occasionally accompanied with black and white line drawings, the book contains an extremely large and wideranding number of symbols, from Gods and religious figures, such as Flora, and Job, to symbolic meanings of everyday objects, such as clocks and coins. The definitions have close attention to detail, with almost all definitions refering amongst themselves in a large network of characters, for example when refering to Icarus, who most of us know flew too close to the sun, may not have known he was the son of Athenian craftsman Daedalus. It also refers to the representations of the legend, with the God Helios, and how painters differed over meanings of the story. Overall this tidy little reference book contains superfluous information, but has contained it all extremely concisely, which makes this a must have for history of art students, or art enthusiastics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A standard reference book, 21 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hall's Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art (Paperback)
Having recently studied symbolism in painting, I have to say this is the standard work on the subject. That said, I think a new perspective is needed. It is what you could call 'sound' but there must be fresh thoughts on the subject. The revised edition is 35 years old, and the introduction by Kenneth Clark, guru of my youth, suggests museum status. It is as it says a dictionary, and has no colour illustrations. There are more recent books on the subject, with good illustrations, but their subject content is relatively naive. Someone needs to up-date or supercede this book, which faut de mieux is the best we have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 42 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not as useful as it sounds, 17 Jan 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hall's Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art (Paperback)
I was looking for a dictionary which would provide some assistance with the emblematic interpretation of art. I was expecting the book to help with the meaning of mussel shells, musical instruments, shoes, bird cages etc in painting. However, I'm afraid, it does not deal much with the emblems common to seventeenth century Dutch painting. But so long as you are not expecting the dictionary to help decipher these kind of 'emblem' symbols, it should probably be fairly useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Subjects and Symbols in art, 11 Feb 2013
By 
Lorraine (Worcestershire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hall's Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art (Paperback)
Useful assistant to Renaissance art studies; would recommend to anyone studying this subject who needed some guidance on the terminology.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Always something new to learn, 8 Dec 2012
By 
M. S. Booth (Southern England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hall's Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art (Paperback)
This was recommended in an Art History class. I took it to the stately home where I volunteer; a visitor was so impressed, she took a photo of the cover to remind her to buy her own copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars excellent reference book, 28 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hall's Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art (Paperback)
This book was recommended at a NADFAS lecture as being a 'must' for lover's of art history as they visit museums and galleries worldwide
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent work of reference. I would recommend it., 18 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hall's Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art (Paperback)
Very good and comprehensive review, the boo will be a great help to me in my work. Better than any I have used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Prompt Delivery, 10 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hall's Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art (Paperback)
Prompt delivery - Book was in very good condition. Will be very useful for the course I am doing - bought it as a reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Really good buy, 3 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Hall's Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art (Paperback)
Really enjoy this book. Very helpful and interesting to read. Would recommend this book to every one who enjoys art and a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hall's Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art
Hall's Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art by James Hall (Paperback - 1 Sep 1989)
£15.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews