Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars how to learn about art
This book will explain the things you wondered about in art, and did not know the answers. For example in one painting of Queen Elizabeth 1, why is she holding a sieve ?, answer a sign of her Chastity.
A handy reference to all the Saints,and Heroes of the mythical world.
Who were Saint Apollonia or Calypso, buy the book and you will find out, an excellent...
Published on 10 Aug. 2012 by dentibus

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not enough definition of symbols......
this book appears to receive very good reviews, however having owned it for only three hoursi think it will sit on my shelf unread. i wanted an easy reference for looking up imagery to use in paintings. From the title this appeared to be ideal, however it seems to only refer to religious subjects or only offers the title of a painting in which the symbol is used rather...
Published 13 months ago by Smedley


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars how to learn about art, 10 Aug. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book will explain the things you wondered about in art, and did not know the answers. For example in one painting of Queen Elizabeth 1, why is she holding a sieve ?, answer a sign of her Chastity.
A handy reference to all the Saints,and Heroes of the mythical world.
Who were Saint Apollonia or Calypso, buy the book and you will find out, an excellent reference book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Symbolism in Art, 5 Aug. 2013
By 
J. Glasgow - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art (Hardcover)
I love this book and had no idea it existed until I recently read an article which quoted it. It's challenging enough to understand most of the old master paintings and this will be a welcome assistant, particularly when visiting exhibitions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Look and See, 4 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Useful dictionary for general use when looking around galleries or religious iconography, would have preferred larger format and better graphics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent for art lovers, 3 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A very useful book-I am doing an OU degree and have found it clear and concise. A must buy for anyone studying art
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars See above review. The book was a present for my wife for her birthday., 16 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
We would recommend the volume to anyone who has an interest in art. The text is clear and easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable, 2 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have no complaints about this product. I've enjoyed reading the book, and it will continue to be useful when observing old artworks. It was in good condition and arrived on time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not enough definition of symbols......, 6 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
this book appears to receive very good reviews, however having owned it for only three hoursi think it will sit on my shelf unread. i wanted an easy reference for looking up imagery to use in paintings. From the title this appeared to be ideal, however it seems to only refer to religious subjects or only offers the title of a painting in which the symbol is used rather than actually telling you its meaning and why it was placed in the painting in the first place. An example is Falcon, ( i just had a another quick flick through to find one so i was wrong about it staying on the shelf...but it's back there now) described as a bird of prey ( really?!!) and then an example of a painting in which a falcon appears, but no idea as to what the falcon might actually symbolise, if anything at all. Or Crescent moon..simply "see moon". Is there really no meaning behind a crescent moon in a painting?!
so for me this book is sadly lacking and as a result too annoying, mayb less so if you have an interest in early religious art. if any one knows of a book that would suit my purpose its title would be very much appreciated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Cleaned it off as best I could but still very smelly, 10 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art (Hardcover)
Lots of mould on cover of book. Cleaned it off as best I could but still very smelly. Haven't been able to look at it for more than a couple of minutes before getting too agitated by the smell. This is a shame as it looks like a very interesting and potentially useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great travel companion, 27 Sept. 2009
Full of excellent information, easy to use, academic, but not a very user friendly type face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art
Dictionary of Subjects and Symbols in Art by James Hall (Hardcover - 11 July 1974)
Used & New from: £8.75
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews