Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Appears more realistic than exaggerated and interesting as a result
Oenone Crossley-Holland went to teach English at an Inner City school in South London as part of the Teach First Scheme, a charity which encouraged graduates to teach for two years in deprived areas and schools. The book covers the second year that Crossley-Holland spent teaching (in some ways it would have been more interesting to hear about the struggles of the...
Published on 7 Nov 2010 by Sarah Durston

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh so whiny, boring and self-absorbed
This was such a painful read. Really whiny, boring and self-absorbed, with so few anecdotes that were actually worth sharing and conveyed any idea of the author actually being committed to her job of improving these kids' life chances.
Published 22 months ago by anna23387


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Appears more realistic than exaggerated and interesting as a result, 7 Nov 2010
By 
Sarah Durston (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Hands Up!: A Year in the Life of an Inner City School Teacher (Paperback)
Oenone Crossley-Holland went to teach English at an Inner City school in South London as part of the Teach First Scheme, a charity which encouraged graduates to teach for two years in deprived areas and schools. The book covers the second year that Crossley-Holland spent teaching (in some ways it would have been more interesting to hear about the struggles of the first!)

The book is engaging and avoids becoming bogged down in too much politics or ranting and remains focussed on the kids themselves and both the frustrations and joys of teaching them. Although Crossley-Holland has also included some bits and pieces about her life outside school these are relevant and avoid slipping into the self-indulgent diatribes you find in some similar types of memoir.

Appears more realistic than exaggerated and I'd recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Oh so whiny, boring and self-absorbed, 8 Nov 2012
This review is from: Hands Up!: A Year in the Life of an Inner City School Teacher (Paperback)
This was such a painful read. Really whiny, boring and self-absorbed, with so few anecdotes that were actually worth sharing and conveyed any idea of the author actually being committed to her job of improving these kids' life chances.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars well balanced memoire of learning to teach in a tough school, 11 Oct 2010
By 
Phillistein "eager reader" (Margate, Kent United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Hands Up!: A Year in the Life of an Inner City School Teacher (Paperback)
I bought this book on a whim, having taught for a few years in secondary school and walking away while I still had a measure of sanity (more a shot glass than a yard of ale). This book brought back the memories of how teaching can draw you in and wring you out - tested to the very limits of patience, self respect, and life force. Yet this is ultimately a story of triumph and learning ways to survive and sometimes thrive, to teach creatively in a hostile or indifferent environment, to preserve a sense of self outside of teaching. Oenone gives an engrossing portrait of life in the classroom; you can really feel the life and flow of the school year. The vibrant personalities of staff, friends and pupils are skilfully drawn and the author often leaves little teasers for you to fill in the gaps. Great teaching doesn't spoon feed and I feel Oenone has written a definitive account of life as a new teacher. It should be on all NQTs' reading lists to add an insider's perspective
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Not for me., 24 April 2013
This review is from: Hands Up!: A Year in the Life of an Inner City School Teacher (Paperback)
I have recently read several books about the "enjoyment" of teaching and found all of them a good read.
However, I was very disappointed with this book. Poorly written, repetitive and without any humour. I was bored well before the end. Not worth buying, but I suggest that if you want a good read about classroom life, try "On The Edge" by Charlie Carroll.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Hands Up, 28 Jan 2013
By 
Jeanlyn "Jeanlyn" (Shropshire England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a brillian read and I would recommend it to anyone who works in education.Very realistic situatons and good fun
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Funny anecdotes, made me laugh, 14 Nov 2011
This review is from: Hands Up!: A Year in the Life of an Inner City School Teacher (Paperback)
This book has lots of those funny stories about teaching that we all recognise - fellow teachers will have heard it and seen it all before, but that does not stop it being very funny. I am sure I recognised some of those children from my own schools.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Hands Up!: A Year in the Life of an Inner City School Teacher
Hands Up!: A Year in the Life of an Inner City School Teacher by Oenone Crossley-Holland (Paperback - 20 Aug 2009)
12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews