Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strangely uplifting
A clear and compelling insight into one of life's everlasting taboos. The author writes with openness and honesty about his early descent into mental institutions and his personal struggle to break free. Fearsome and yet funny, the slippery ascent takes him through squats, prison and even the Hare Krishnas, forever stalked by his alter ego and holding on to his love of...
Published on 22 Feb. 2009 by Soc 1

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointed
I had high expectations of this book, wanting to be fascinated and educated further on living with mental illness from the perspective of one who had experienced it, and gone on to live a life. John O'Donoghue is clearly a survivor and does not fall into the trap of sensationalising his experiences or relying on self pity to promote his story.
However, I felt the...
Published on 9 Jan. 2011 by nicole bookworm


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Full of highs and lows and hope, 16 Aug. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sectioned: A Life Interrupted (Paperback)
I have read a number of books on homelessness and depression but this was a book quite different to the rest. The author immersed me in the highs and lows of his own despair and inner conflicts, of squalor and the heartlessness of the 'no such thing as society' era. I could relate to many episodes either historically and geographically in those dark Thatcher days. How he could bear it all and come through it is beacon of hope to all those who have walked similar paths. This was book that eventually made you feel good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful!, 29 Jan. 2014
By 
Charlotte A. Terrell (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I am studying psychology and found this book fascinating! Very well written and I read it in three days! Highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, not to be missed, 24 Feb. 2009
By 
Z. de Linde - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is a subject I usually shy away from but was drawn in by the central character. It reads like a swimmer trying to overcome waves, dodging some, swallowed up by others, the narrator somehow (against the odds) makes it to shore. There is a rich array of characters, vivid in mannerisms and accents. The language is beautiful sometimes still (`the dancing particles of dust fade back into the gloom'), sometimes vibrant, witty (the Levi incident, the 80p bin bags, the turban, Paris, the offer, etc.. ) poetic (`love, double-breasted and shy') and always lucid. A great read, not to be missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Moving, well written and engaging, 9 Nov. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A book about one man's life dealing with the challenge of both mental illness and being poor and marginalised during the 70 and 80's. Well written, thought provoking and entertaining
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Life Interrupted, 17 April 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sectioned: A Life Interrupted (Paperback)
This is an important book on a personal level, one rarely written of or described in detail. I am sure that it will help to dispel myths and fears regarding mental illness.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Book, 19 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sectioned: A Life Interrupted (Paperback)
Pleased with purchase, book came on time and in good condition. Very interesting book by some one who has had a tough life. Would recommend
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars DID NOT LIVE UP TO EXPECTATIONS, 7 May 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sectioned: A Life Interrupted (Paperback)
Like one of the other reviewers I was disappointed with this book.I was glad that in the end he came to some resolutions about his problems, and that he was able to lead a moderately normal life, and was able to deal with the triggers that set of the mood swings previously, but I was disappointed that I did not gain a great insight into the institutions that John found himself in. The characters seemed unreal, more like pages from fiction than reality.I did not really gain an insight into the mental tortures that John was suffering.He mentions many times about his feelings of failure, but does not go onto develop these ideas, perhaps that was not the purpose of the book.I just felt that the whole book was rather superficial, and lacked any depth,meaning or feeling. P erhaps John wrote the book for his own benefit to try to come to terms with the demons inside him which is fine and worthwhile, but because it was put out for general publicationthen criticism of the fabric of the story and its shortcomings are obviously going to be expressed.
One of those books, in my opinion, once read it will make its way to a charity shop to be read by someone else with high expectations.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opener, 4 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thoroughly enjoyed this book, quite an eye opener into the mind of someone who has very dark days. Recommended it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 12 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
great read, if you like mental health or have an interest!! Sad story but its a true story well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully written, 24 Jan. 2015
This review is from: Sectioned: A Life Interrupted (Paperback)
I'm glad I purchased this book. Beautifully written and very touching. I highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sectioned: A Life Interrupted
Sectioned: A Life Interrupted by John O'Donoghue (Paperback - 3 Sept. 2009)
£7.84
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews