Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars As good as ever but with bits missing!, 16 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love Rob Thurman's work, and having eagerly awaited each installment of her series, was delighted to make this the first book I bought for my new Kindle Fire. Unfortunately though, some of the text of the first page of each chapter is missing :-(
Each chapter page has ahuge picture of a penguin on it, and then the text just starts mid-sentence.
Obviously I don't know how much is missing, not a lot I think, from context, and I am still able to read and enjoy the story, which is as gripping as ever, and even tells us more about the childhood life of Cal and Niko, but it is a small niggle and spoils the enjoyment of the reading experience.
Come on Amazon Gnomes, wave your wands and fix it! :-D Please! (Full price for not quite a full book is a tad, well, peeving)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding, 15 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Why are you reading this review? Seriously? This is book 8. Book 9 is due out soon, but not soon enough for me. If you're quick, you can start at the beginning at and be ready by the time it comes out. Because once you've read one, you will really NEED to read the rest.

Don't waste time. You don't need more reviews. Buy them. Buy them all. They're so worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 6 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I love the Cal Leandros series and this book is yet another great story. The next one can't come soon enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great series, 25 Aug. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slashback (Cal Leandros 8) (Paperback)
Another great instalment in this series. Highly recommend it, but not for those of a sensitive disposition; as with all the books in this series, it fast, frantic and violent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 19 Aug. 2013
By 
Ms. F. Drew - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Slashback (Cal Leandros 8) (Paperback)
I have read all of the previous 7 Cal books and would recommend this one to all readers. The flashback scenes were well integrated with the main storyline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Action Packed with a side of Horror, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is the 8th book in Thurman's urban fantasy series centring around the action packed lives of brothers Cal & Niko Leandros. Cal is a sarcastic and lazy part-monster and he is the main narrator, though Thurman has taken to switching the narration between him and one other character since the 4th book.

These books are set in solidly built worlds and the characters are well developed and massively likeable. Slashback is split between Cal's POV in the present & Niko's POV in the past. The split worked pretty well in this novel and both stories were very good with the usual action packed chasing after the bad guy in the present and a nice bit of creepy horror in the past.

I enjoyed the revelations about Goodfellow - he's just a brilliant character and a lot of fun to read about. Promise didn't make much of an appearance but she was there. Not sure that's a good thing, it's starting to feel like she's been delegated to the side-lines and she's just Niko's girlfriend now. As for the bad guys - I'll admit I'm not often freaked out by the bad guy in any series novel because there's the heavy element of predictability (no matter how bad they are they usually get slapped down hard by the heroes) but something about one of them this time was very creepy.

How close Cal and Niko are because of their awful upbringing is one of the strengths of these novels, however it does get laid on a bit thick in places here. I really wasn't sure about the revelation behind it at the end - without being spoilerish all I can say is I felt like it took something away from everything they've gone through. I'm sure lots of fans of the series will love it though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brill read, 13 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I really enjoyed this book, the ending was not what I liked. But apart from that all the cal books are brill. They are books I keep going back and reading again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I enjoyed htis much more than the last two novels, 18 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I enjoyed htis much more than the last two novels. It was great to discover the boys' childhood in more a detail, and an couple of surprises as the end. A thoroughly good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Slashback (Cal Leandros 8)
Slashback (Cal Leandros 8) by Rob Thurman (Paperback - 14 Mar. 2013)
£6.08
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews