Customer Reviews


200 Reviews
5 star:
 (133)
4 star:
 (48)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clancy finds his Form
Threat Vector is a bit different from past Clancy books; over the series the story of the Ryan family went from a terrorist attack on his family; to over the course of several books multiple terrorist attacks on his Country. From small battles through Biological War to Ultrawar; and the last two The Bear and the Dragon and The Teeth of the Tiger portrayed a warfare and...
Published 20 months ago by Chris Hoare

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit of a Bore
A bit too much along the lines of some of his other novels. almost predictable what is going to happen next.
Published 4 months ago by carbine


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clancy finds his Form, 12 Dec 2012
By 
Chris Hoare "Chris" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Threat Vector is a bit different from past Clancy books; over the series the story of the Ryan family went from a terrorist attack on his family; to over the course of several books multiple terrorist attacks on his Country. From small battles through Biological War to Ultrawar; and the last two The Bear and the Dragon and The Teeth of the Tiger portrayed a warfare and battlefield that was different to what we were seeing in Iraq and Afghanistan. Along the way; despite the vast lead character count, the books lost their soul - ceased being about a spy doing small things and became descriptions of how the USA could overpower anyway with its technological prowess.

With the reboot bringing Jack Ryan's Son as a new analyst / operations officer at the blacker than black Hendley Associates; Threat Vector takes us back to spies treading softly; to risks behind every door and to characters living with paranoia. The old faces are there; to the point that the book has a 3 page character list before you get to page 1. At 700 pages I had planned to read 100 a day for a week and make it to the end. I finished in 3 days. The changing scenary; and fast moving situations lead me to chasing down the last 300 pages on the third day. As with all Clancy books there is a lot of setup and a snap finish; but with threat vector he provides a denouement settling the characters down and handing over the baton from Ryan Sr to Jnr.

Threat vector is a vast improvement on the two books above; and provides a great story and look at how a war between technological superpowers might look today. If you like the Clancy of old the combined story with Mark Greaney has much to appreciate here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read - quite involving, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Taking the old crew and continuing with their story, albeit the later books are not as good as Clancy's early works, but it amazes me that the authors can still keep coming up with new avenues to explore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars built up excitement through the book, 24 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A long slow start , but gradually more and more exciting, and difficult to put down !
Look forward to the next read
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exciting cyber warfare tale., 4 Dec 2012
By 
J. Lesley "(Judy)" (United States) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Have you ever read a book before whose theme just stayed in your mind to such an extent that you found yourself thinking about it long after you had finished reading it? That is what THREAT VECTOR has been for me. Part of the reason is because I recognize that the basic plot ideas here could actually become reality in some form. Could. That is a very important word in that sentence. Another part of the reason this story has stayed in my mind so strongly is that this collaborative effort between Tom Clancy and Mark Greaney has characters who come so vividly alive on the pages that I accept that this just might have actually happened to them. Yes, it is fiction, but it certainly does open up the possibilities of "what if...............".

What if one nation had a secret cyber network in place now which could watch operatives of other governments carry out their missions in startling, minute, real time detail? What if they had unlimited resources to continue to develop their technology to take over the United States, indeed the world, using this cyber warfare? And what if loss of life meant absolutely nothing to them as long as they accomplished their goal? It is the mission of Jack Ryan, Jr. and everyone else at The Campus to find this Chinese government Ghost Ship - the technology center - and destroy it, no matter how impossible the mission may seem. Can everyone survive this mission?

I think this book was incredible. Quite a strong statement and yet, for me, it fits here. I had a love/hate reaction to the main plot because it is hard to face the fact that something like this might actually be possible. In the first sections of the novel some of the details seemed to take a long time to develop, but ultimately I understand the reasons it was necessary. What sets this book apart for me are the vibrant characters and the clever plot threads. There is a really good villain called "Center" whose identity is kept well hidden and a computer nerd with almost rock star status. The good guys - Adam Yao, "Trash", and "Cheese" - along with returning friends from previous adventures feel so real it is hard to accept that they are fictional characters. This novel was a roller coaster thrill ride that kept me reading all day and far into the night. Clear some time and get ready for some pure entertainment before you begin reading this story. If you are like me, you will resent anything that interferes with your reading time.

I received a complimentary copy of this novel for review purposes. The opinions expressed are my own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This was a fathers day present which i have enjoyed immensley. I have read other books by Tom ..., 14 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Threat Vector (Jack Ryan Jr 4) (Paperback)
This was a fathers day present which i have enjoyed immensley.I have read other books by Tom Clancy and this is equally as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Threat Vector (Jack Ryan Jr 4) (Paperback)
brillant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Threat Vector (Jack Ryan Jr 4) (Paperback)
great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read!, 20 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read all the previous novels in the series, this one did not disappoint. Clancy builds up the intrigue from the start and weaves in many sub-plots along the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars enthralling, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book, kept me in suspense until the last few chapters when sadly it became a little predictable. Still a good read though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another great story, 19 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Again a little long winded in establishing the characters but a really good read when it gets going well worth getting to grips with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Threat Vector (Jack Ryan Jr 4)
Threat Vector (Jack Ryan Jr 4) by Tom Clancy (Paperback - 26 Sep 2013)
3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews