Customer Reviews


337 Reviews
5 star:
 (189)
4 star:
 (90)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (11)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting read
Having read both the Emperor and Genghis Khan series of books this was a must have when it was released.
Conn Iggulden's books are always very well researched and this one was no exception. I have read many books on the WOTR but this one is interesting in that it starts right at the beginning of the wars and will, no doubt, end with the death of Richard on Bosworth...
Published 2 months ago by Expat

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Stormbird
This is the first in an upcoming series on the Wars of the Roses, the struggle between Lancastrians and Yorkists for the throne of England and the right to succession following the death in 1377 of Edward III.

The author has written epic sagas before, but the fifteenth century English setting is a new departure for him I believe. I found this book a good novel...
Published 8 months ago by Keen Reader


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting read, 21 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read both the Emperor and Genghis Khan series of books this was a must have when it was released.
Conn Iggulden's books are always very well researched and this one was no exception. I have read many books on the WOTR but this one is interesting in that it starts right at the beginning of the wars and will, no doubt, end with the death of Richard on Bosworth Field. It gives quite a personal insight into the lives of not only the nobles but also common people and for that reason is quite fascinating. If you are interested in this period of history I am sure that you will learn a lot that you didn't know - I certainly did.
Shame that I have to wait for the 2nd instalment to be released but will certainly buy when it is released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A very good piece of historical fiction, 8 July 2013
By 
Sussman "Sussman" (London CA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I have either read or listened to a number Conn Iggulden's historical fiction books and CD audio books. They have all been, for me, very well done and highly entertaining. Dare I say that his books set a high standard across the board for `historical fiction'. Mr Iggulden's first presentation was a book called `The Gates of Rome'; this was to be first of a series of five books of what is known as Emperor Series. The series is based around the life of Julius Caesar, from juvenile to his eventual betrayal and death (The Gods of War). The author's ability to cleverly entwine fact and fiction, in seamless fashion is truly flawless in my opinion, and this really makes his books work. This range of books has proved so popular that a film company has optioned the rights.

For me Wars of the Roses `Stormbird', proves to be just as promising a title as the ones mentioned previously. Without giving spoilers and regurgitating the plot summary, this current tale has the attention to historical detail that makes the narrative, ooze with history, and seems as if a newly discovered parchment from the past had just been discovered and published giving vivid new insights.

The tale of centres around `The Wars of the Roses' that were a series of dynastic wars fought between factions of two competing branches of the royal House of Plantagenet; the houses of Lancaster and York. A rather weak Henry VI's, who is plagued by both mental and physical ill health, has his right to the crown challenged by one Richard, Duke of York, who seems on the face it -initially away- being purposely marginalised by the Kings Court. The characters within the tale are all well rounded and you get a real feel for their predilections warts and all, such as the powerful and antagonistic Margaret of Anjou - King Henry VI's consort. For me this book was really good reading pleasure and I am rather impatient for the rest of the books in the current series to be 'published'. This is audio-book is well worthy of full four stars in my estimation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner, 9 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having read all of Conn Iggulden's books I was interested to read his take on this period in British history and the main characters who were involved. I enjoyed the book very much and Mr Iggulden does a wonderful job of fleshing out the main protagonists along with his own characters and his descriptions of the tactics, underhand plotting and the bloody slaughter on the battle fields is excellent. I look forward to his next offering in the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Stormbird, 29 Nov 2013
By 
Keen Reader "lhendry4" (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This is the first in an upcoming series on the Wars of the Roses, the struggle between Lancastrians and Yorkists for the throne of England and the right to succession following the death in 1377 of Edward III.

The author has written epic sagas before, but the fifteenth century English setting is a new departure for him I believe. I found this book a good novel of the prelude to, and beginning of the Wars of the Roses, but not great. The characters were largely historical figures, but there were `fictional' characters used by the author to expand on the historical sources, and these were drawn more fully than the historical characters I thought. I found the characters were rather shallow, and we never really got inside their heads - while we saw action, we never really understood motivation or intention.

The action is well portrayed, but I didn't ever really feel that I was drawn into the story entirely; personally I didn't feel an empathy for any of the characters, historical or fictional, and I never really felt like I was totally involved in the whole story. There's much more to be told of the Wars of the Roses, but I think that Mr Iggulden will not be able to entice me to read more of his saga. Good, not great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Cousins not at war yet, 13 Aug 2014
By 
England in 1437 - Henry V, the hero of Agincourt, long dead and his son, Henry VI, is reaching maturity. A weak and pious man, his council decide that a marriage to the French royal family will strengthen his reign and power. He marries Marguerite of Anjou, a cousin of the king, and a woman about to develop strength of her own. English foreign policy is to cede the lands won in battle back to France, thus displacing many settlers and causing public resentment. Henry's cousin, the Duke of York, feels that Henry is a weak king and wants the throne for himself.

The history behind these times is well-known and the Cousins' War is a popular period in history currently, therefore Iggulden is tapping into a demand already there. I have not read any of his previous books as I felt they were tailored to a different audience but I decided to try this one solely due to the period. To be honest I was pleasantly surprised - it's not high literature but it is a really enjoyable read. The narrative is pacy, it jumps between different characters (so real, some imagined), it's honest to historical fact and the battle scenes are well written. For a holiday blockbuster read, it's great!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read., 1 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A good read although I found the battle descriptions a little tedious. Good well-rounded characters though and looking forward to the next volume.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 July 2014
By 
As with all of conn igguldens books another delightfully engrossing historical novel. Looking forward to book 2
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 30 Jun 2014
By 
J. J. Lynch "John" (Hertford England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
thoroughly enjoyed this novel Conn Iggulden at his best wrapping historical events with a element of fiction to keep the story alive and believable. Excellent Read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wars of the Roses, 7 Jun 2014
By 
Pete D (Cambridgeshire) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I've read Conn Iggulden's Emperor series and Conqueror series and am now looking forward to the second book in the Wars of the Roses series. All of Conn Iggulden's books reach the 5 star mark for me, he is a great historian and if he wanders from the facts for the sake of the plot, he will acknowledge this.

Wars of the Roses (Stormbird) is excellent and covers the period when England lost most of its possessions in France. With a weak and ill king on the English throne it is to be expected, and it sets the scene for the beginning of the Wars of the Roses between the Hose of Lancaster and the House of York. Bring it on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Conn Storms Back, 10 Oct 2013
By 
You know, if you half closed your eyes you could be reading a Bull-Dog Drummond or Richard Hannay yarn, such is the ripping tone of Conn Iggulden's latest adventure.
If they'd taught history like this at school we'd have been fighting to get into class, not fighting the will to live.
Iggulden's a man who knows how to press all the buttons that make a British-born man's blood course and thrill, his juices flow, his mind run riot in a world where actions speak louder than words, and the words are pretty damn loud.
He did it with his Julius Caesar and Genghis Khan series, and now he's taken what is for many a subject as dull as ditchwater and turned it into living, bleeding, aching, loving, scarred flesh.
Stormbird delivers the background and build-up to the Wars of the Roses: A limp-d***ed king, a b*****d of an enemy within, a well-fit and feisty queen, an uppity French noble, a loyal but doomed diplomat and a home-grown troublemaker with a rag-bag army hell-bent on violent revolution.
Thrown into the boiling pot are characters made up to drive the tale along and keep it gripping your mind and guts: An all-action, dangerously devious spy, and a dispossessed war veteran with a mighty longbow arm.
Though historians might quibble, every inch of this book is believable, not least the battle in the stinking streets of London at night...you can feel yourself slipping in the filth and blood.
This is a serious MUSCLE book with just enough gore to satisfy the animal within and enough intrigue to keep readers eager.
In short, it's yet another masterpiece by Conn Iggulden.
The Wars of the Roses may be just beginning but he's already won the prize...King of Historical Fiction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 234 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Wars of the Roses: Stormbird (Wars of the Roses 1)
Wars of the Roses: Stormbird (Wars of the Roses 1) by Conn Iggulden (Paperback - 24 April 2014)
3.85
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews