Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen in Prime Learn more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars81
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 November 2003
I thought Keane was a thug and when this book first came out I was determined NOT to read it. Then finally my curiosity got the better of me. Compelling, thoughtful, articulate...a riveting good read. It doesn't have the long descriptions of individual games which can make footballers' biographies so boring. I read it in one go. I'd recommend it even if you're only a little bit interested in Keane or Man Utd, or the Eire team. I still think Keane is OTT in the way he behaves on field, but I feel like I understand him better now and he is far from one dimensional. Hats off, 10/10.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2002
So it's finally here. After all the controversy, Roy's vitriolic tome has hit the shelves. Except that it isn't just Keano's vitriol we are subjected to. Eamonn Dunphy's trademark prose style, familiar to Irish readers, practically leaps off every page. The job of ghost writer must surely be to articulate the subject's thoughts in such a way so as to not notice the joins. Yet Dunphy constantly produces passages which could be mistaken for John B. Keane rather than his gladitorial compatriot. Witness Roy making no bones about his academic efforts (or lack of) at school yet being able to tell us that "What I do recall was a palpable sense of pessimism and apathy among the people Mayfield Community School purported to serve". Nice. His constant references to Mick McCarthy as "Captain Fantastic" (a sarcastic reference to the title of McCarthy's own autobiography of a decade ago) are pure Dunphy. All of this makes it impossible to believe you are getting an insight into just one mind.
All the infamous moments are here. The bust up in Saipan. The Haaland tackle. But the enigma that is Roy Keane is never satisfactorily explored. In fact, Keane seems just as baffled by it as anyone else. Other than trumpeting his unflappable desire to win at any cost he remains a frustrated, flawed genius. Despite being resigned to courting trouble every time he went out on the town in Manchester or Cork, he was always up for a session instead of being at home with his family. The guilt tortured him, yet we are never given any reason as to why he persisted.
Yet some good can come from this book. The shambles that is the FAI has finally been laid bare here for all to see. Keane and Dunphy may someday be hailed as the saviours of Irish Football. But Roy clearly has many other issues in his life to deal with. Whether the therapy of this project helps him to save what remains of his career remains to be seen.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2009
the above book arrived in very good condition for a used book. The book itself is both well written and a very compelling read. It is good for both avid football fans and for people like myself who are interested in reading good autobigraphies.
Roy Keane gives a brutely honest opinion on several football issues with a light humoured touch in places. Well worth a read
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2005
Although this is an autobiography, this is also an exploration into what has made Roy Keane the player he is today.
Sadly one or two things have overshadowed the book but it does make for an interesting read, certainly the views on the Irish international side were thought provoking.
Keane has an immense talent and this leads us through his life and explains how he moved through a drink culture to being one of the top midfielders in the world.
Although shorter then I expected and much had already been put in the press, this is quite good insight into the player.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2002
Read it in one evening.
Frank, apparently honest, raw, disturbing, funny and informative. A complex man such as this should surely have just titled the book - volume 1.
The subtext of this book is that Keane is a very shy man living in a pressurised media bubble called Professional Football. A man of average football skill but with superlative football brain and a will to win that surpasses few other sporting greats.
Despite some of the shocking revelations and the distinct lack of remorse for some of the unsavoury acts of madness he has perpetrated - undoubtedly we will look back from many years hence and realise the greatness that he represents.
Noting Keane's recollection of events from Saipan and how McCarthy accused him of faking injury - what employee in a similar situation would not react the same way. We await the truth from McCarthy's diary - however the Saipan spat seems to have started all the recent turmoil.
The book is worth purchasing, even if just for the photographs on the cover. You can use it as a spur to your day - turn the font cover (serious pose) out for that day when you need encouragement for tough times ahead. And the back cover, turn the cheeky grin outwards on your bookshelf when you get back from that difficult day and tell yourself that the effort was worth it.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2002
Roy Keane goes about explaining the controversial events in his life brilliantly. From walking away from the humorous Irish Squad to his bouts with opposing sides, Keane shows his audience that he is just an everyday man who happens to have an exceptional talent. Roy's book is a fun and informative look into the character commonly known as "Keano." I highly recommend this text especially to those who are not Manchester United supporters, because it offers a well written and entertaining insight into the life of not just Roy Keane, but footballers in general.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2011
whatever your memories of roy keane nobody can say that he wasn't one of the best, if not the best midfielder to grace the premiership. he wasn't full of flair or much of a goalscorer, however he was a leader of the pack, as tough as nails and easily resonsible for man utd winning the treble in 1999...

to say that he was complex is an understatement. he was truly psychotic - destroying alfe inge haalands career because a comment made a few years before. threw his toys from the pram and came accross like a spoilt brat bullying players, referees, managers, fans, etc. - and ultimately a pathetic idiot for leaving ireland in the lurch in the 2002 world cup.

The book itself is very enjoyable because he holds no punches, slags off everyone and goes into detail about his pet hates and what it feels like to win. complete headbanger...
33 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2010
I had always wanted to read this book due to the controversy surrounding it when it was released and I found it a great read. To have been managed by two of the greatest managers in England, you would think Keane would have a great football philosophy and he does, talking about when he was 19 and eating kebabs to winning the treble with Man united.
He went through the transition phase of English football when footballers went from binge drinkers to pro athletes and his view on that is very interesting. Keane also opens a few doors on some of his old teammates and in particular Eric Cantona who my opinion has changed of him since I read this book. A must read for any football fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
Fantastic read. Allows you to get to know many different sides to Keano. The book is honest and genuine...cant wait for his next book which comes out soon!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 16 August 2003
As someone who loves football, but hates the hype which surrounds so much of the modern game, I avoided the hardback version of this book. However, it provides a surprisingly insightful, interesting and in many ways enlightening examination of the nature of celebrity and ambition and of the difficulty of marrying the need for personal fulfilment with professional success in an environment which makes huge demands upon the public figure, but is rather less willing to engage with the private person's needs.
The book upholds the high standards set in much modern sportswriting - Eamon Dunphy is to be congratulated.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)