Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant read
Great book gives you more of an insight into Haythams life definitely would recommend to any other fans of the game series
Published 18 months ago by Mark Parker

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun video game tie-in that was a lot better than I was expecting
I really love the Assassins' Creed games, but had very low hopes for this book. I couldn't help but assume that a spin off novel from a video game, even one as well plotted as AC, would be predictable and badly written with one-dimensional characters. I bought the book for my boyfriend, but one bored afternoon I couldn't resist picking it up myself, and I was pleasantly...
Published 8 months ago by Georgiana89


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Fun video game tie-in that was a lot better than I was expecting, 3 Feb 2014
I really love the Assassins' Creed games, but had very low hopes for this book. I couldn't help but assume that a spin off novel from a video game, even one as well plotted as AC, would be predictable and badly written with one-dimensional characters. I bought the book for my boyfriend, but one bored afternoon I couldn't resist picking it up myself, and I was pleasantly surprised.

For me, Haytham was by far the most intriguing character in Assassins' Creed 3. Until then, it had all seemed a bit black and white, with evil Templars and good Assassins, then suddenly, there's this mysterious and sympathetic Templar who frees slaves, allies with Native Americans and stops the worst excesses of his colleagues. Plus, he's posh, English. well-dressed and from the eighteenth century - four big ticks in my book.

So firstly, I think the author made an inspired choice in focussing on Haytham rather than Connor, the games official hero. He really fills out the character with an intriguing personality and inspired back story. The writing and characterisation is pretty good throughout, and much better than I was expecting. It's told through Haytham's diary, and it mimics the style of eighteenth century diary writing quite effectively. While I'm sure this will be read almost universally by fans of the games, it could almost stand on its own merits as a general historical fantasy.

The book is at its best when the author is given free rein to create his own plot within the AC universe. I particularly loved the scenes in which Haytham is a young child in London in the 1730s, living with his very rich and respectable father, who fans will recognise as Edward Kenway, the pirate hero of the fourth game. The family dynamics are touching, and eighteenth century London is surprisingly accurately portrayed. I also enjoyed the later scenes of Haytham training with the Templars, which give a whole new perspective on everyone's favourite evil organisation.

Conversely, I thought the book was at its weakest when it rehashed scenes from the game. Firstly, I already knew what was going to happen, and secondly, the need to stick to canon seemed to diminish the author's imagination. Also, in a video game, it's easy to kill twenty people in quick succession and think nothing of it. When a book depicts the same scene and describes how many people the hero has killed or how quickly he recovers from terrible injuries, it feels quite bizarre and unrealistic. On the other hand, the later chapters worked quite well where they filled in the blanks and/or gave Haytham's perspective on Connor's adventures.

Two things to bear in mind for fans of Assassins' Creed 3 who are debating whether this is worth their time. Firstly, as I've already alluded to, it's very much focussed on Haytham. If you're mainly here for Connor, don't bother. Haytham doesn't even meet his mother until nearly 300 pages in, and his son gets barely twenty pages in total. Fine by me, but it might annoy some people.

Similarly, the games always have three interwoven story lines: battles between Templars and Assassins in some historical period, present day conspiracy theories and people using the animus, and all the weird flashbacks to "those who came before." The plot here is much more straightforward - it's a clear cut eighteenth century adventure story, told in diary form, with just the merest hint of fantasy, and no present day plot or ancient flashbacks. Again, I think that was probably the best approach, as I'm mainly a fan for the historical elements (it helps that Renaissance Italy and eighteenth century England are my two favourite periods), but if it's Abstergo and the pieces of Eden that really capture your imagination, you're going to be disappointed.

In conclusion, if you're a fan of Assassin's Creed 3 and want to fill in the blanks, and especially if you're a fan of eighteenth century history, this is a lot of fun and well worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely brilliant read, 18 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great book gives you more of an insight into Haythams life definitely would recommend to any other fans of the game series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Explains so Much, 11 Nov 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Forsaken (Paperback)
Assassin's Creed Forsaken is the fifth novel to be written by Oliver Bowden that tie's into the Ubisoft video game series of the same name.

Unlike previous books which were the game in written form this one is half and half. Told through a series of personal journal entries,reflections and traditional prose it tells the story of Haytham Kenway from his early life upto when we meet him within the Assassins Creed III game and through the game to it's conclusion.

The book is as with all of Oliver Bowden's previous books well written, the story is entertaining and is a nice accompanyment to the game.

If you're a fan of the game series then this is definetely worthing putting on the shelf

***Spoiler Warning***

Read after playing Assassin's Creed 3
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars forsaken, 3 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Forsaken (Paperback)
i've read a lot of oliver bowden's ac books - they are easy to read, not masterpieces, but are enjoyable if you are into the ac games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Assassins creed forsaken, 28 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was a brilliant book very thrilling and very exciting i recommend to everyone who is a assassins creed fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Son loves these books, 3 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Forsaken (Paperback)
Son pleased with these books. Also hooked on playing assassins greed graphics very good. Would recommend these books to friends to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb, 1 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Forsaken (Paperback)
Loved the game, and the expectations about this book were different from the previous ones. Some twists that weren't explained within the game, were clarified now...

Great Book, Great game
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good book, 27 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Forsaken (Paperback)
one of my favorite books very good value for money and its so good I could read it over and over
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The untold story, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Forsaken (Paperback)
I loved the book, particulalry as it not only accounted for Haythams' story leading up to the events in Assassins Creed 3, but seeing Connor's life from the eyes of the templars is brilliant. Any AC fan out there, or even if you're new to the series, this is definately worth reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good books, 4 Mar 2013
By 
L. G. Roberts (Newark UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Assassin's Creed: Forsaken (Paperback)
These books make a good companion series to the play station games, but are still good to read even if you don't have the games.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 210 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Assassin's Creed: Forsaken
Assassin's Creed: Forsaken by Oliver Bowden (Paperback - 8 Nov 2012)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews