Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yuma yums without sugar.....
Better than expected, I thought it would just repeat the recipes from his other books. This would ha been fine as recipes are hard to follow on a kindle but this book has lots of new treats which will hide the fact you are cutting down sugar to all your friends and family. Been very happy with the ones we have already tried and even more happy to be losing weight whilst...
Published 8 months ago by Mrs

versus
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars These recipes are not "sugar free" but use Dextrose. ...
These recipes are not "sugar free" but use Dextrose .. which is high GI and is SUGAR! To claim he has given up sugar is a misrepresentation ... Not suitable for diabetics or those wanting to give up Sugar!!
Published 6 months ago by Mrs J D Moohan


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yuma yums without sugar....., 31 July 2014
By 
Mrs "Frazzled Mum" (Crediton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The No Sugar Recipe Book (Paperback)
Better than expected, I thought it would just repeat the recipes from his other books. This would ha been fine as recipes are hard to follow on a kindle but this book has lots of new treats which will hide the fact you are cutting down sugar to all your friends and family. Been very happy with the ones we have already tried and even more happy to be losing weight whilst doing it!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars These recipes are not "sugar free" but use Dextrose. ..., 10 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The No Sugar Recipe Book (Paperback)
These recipes are not "sugar free" but use Dextrose .. which is high GI and is SUGAR! To claim he has given up sugar is a misrepresentation ... Not suitable for diabetics or those wanting to give up Sugar!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really good recipe book for sugar addicts..every recipe a good one., 20 Aug. 2014
By 
P. J. rowlands "pennyjr45" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The No Sugar Recipe Book (Paperback)
So far ive tried the coconut cocoa bars and the christmas cupcakes and they are delicious. Im a week into sugar free eating and this book is making it an easy ride. Ive lost 2lbs this week without trying at all. recipes are easy to follow and the dextrose (beer making sugar) is easy to get hold of and cheap. I got mine from my local Wilko store.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Baking with no regrets, 24 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The No Sugar Recipe Book (Paperback)
This book is a miracle. What a joy to be able to make delicious desserts without the added sugar. All tried and tested. My daughter in law bakes every day and is so enamoured with my copy, I have bought a second one for her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star, 8 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The No Sugar Recipe Book (Paperback)
It isn't "no sugar", it is just "different sugar". Diabetics look elsewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 20 Oct. 2014
By 
Mrs. J. Hall "Hall" (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The No Sugar Recipe Book (Paperback)
After watching the truth about sugar. I decided I wanted to quit sugar. David gillespie wrote the book sweet poison and has lost a lot of weight and improved his health. The recipe's are made using dextrose. But it is the good half of sugar not the frucose type in cane sugar. Some of the ingredients would have to buy from a health shop. So far I have tried the carrot cake. It was delicious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dextrose recipes, 15 Dec. 2014
By 
K. Platt "blackplantlady" (Sheffield, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The No Sugar Recipe Book (Paperback)
Sugar means extra weight and cutting it from your diet, should mean you easily lose weight. I know because I have done it myself with another famous book written by a TV personality. Not only that but I gained energy and lost the aches and pains. David has written this book to provide you with sugar free treats that use healthy alternatives. It features more than 80 illustrated recipes. However, most of them include dextrose. It is a form of glucose derived from plants and naturally occurs in honey. In fact it is sometimes known as glucose, but is more correctly D-glucose. What this book is about is replacing glucose with dextrose. You need to completely rid your body of other sugars first. I am not happy with the title of this book- The Alternative Sugar would have been less misleading. The recipes look good, easy to make and are well photographed. Yet again, they don't look particularly healthy or what would aid a slimmer's diet - coconut, cream, glucose syrup. This is a delightful cookbook, but I don't think it does what the title suggests.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not suitable for diabetics, 6 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The No Sugar Recipe Book (Paperback)
Ingredients not readily available in UK. As a diabetic thought this would be suitable but most recepies include dextrose not suitable for diabetics
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I wanted to find ways to give him the occassional sweet treat. So many recipes that are "sugar free" ..., 5 Mar. 2015
By 
Gill Croz (Shropshire, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The No Sugar Recipe Book (Paperback)
I want to thank David Gillespie for this book which I bought because my grandson has an enzyme deficiency and can't process sucrose (convert into glucose). I wanted to find ways to give him the occassional sweet treat. So many recipes that are "sugar free" include fructose which still has to be processed but dextrose (glucose) has already been converted!! I haven't tried any of the recipes yet but it is such a relief and will help make our lives a little easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars which it uses a lot is no more good for me than sugar, 23 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The No Sugar Recipe Book (Paperback)
I am diabetic and thought this would be for me but when I checked up with my local chemist, Dextrose, which it uses a lot is no more good for me than sugar. Think this should be made clear in description of book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The No Sugar Recipe Book
The No Sugar Recipe Book by David Gillespie (Paperback - 17 July 2014)
£11.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews