Customer Reviews


132 Reviews
5 star:
 (73)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (23)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well researched, exciting and convincing work, sadly Tom Clancy's last...
"Command Authority" by Tom Clancy is a latest novel from his Jack Ryan series, and unfortunately his last novel at all considering that this successful and acclaimed author of thriller bestsellers died two months ago.

In his last book, the author said goodbye in great style because novel for its subject has the threat of great global conflict that our main...
Published 8 months ago by Denis Vukosav

versus
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best, but still a good read.
I halve enjoyed almost all of Tom Clancy's non Op--centre work, and this is another good example. The story is well paced, and fairly believe able, especially given current events as I write (December 2013). The switching in story lines is well done.

Tom Clancy died earlier this year, so this book will be remembered as his last work (probably). Not a bad way to...
Published 8 months ago by Andrew G. Robson


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not his best, but still a good read., 21 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I halve enjoyed almost all of Tom Clancy's non Op--centre work, and this is another good example. The story is well paced, and fairly believe able, especially given current events as I write (December 2013). The switching in story lines is well done.

Tom Clancy died earlier this year, so this book will be remembered as his last work (probably). Not a bad way to sign off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well researched, exciting and convincing work, sadly Tom Clancy's last..., 5 Dec 2013
By 
Denis Vukosav - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Command Authority (Jack Ryan 13) (Hardcover)
"Command Authority" by Tom Clancy is a latest novel from his Jack Ryan series, and unfortunately his last novel at all considering that this successful and acclaimed author of thriller bestsellers died two months ago.

In his last book, the author said goodbye in great style because novel for its subject has the threat of great global conflict that our main character has the ability to prevent.

Ryan, who is known former secret agent from Clancy's earlier novels, is still in a White House as re-elected US President.
Jack's son, Jack Ryan Jr. is working in UK as a financial analyst and when unusual case of Russian violent gas and oil company takeover happens, he would immediately suspect that something is wrong.
In an interesting turn of events that will start to happen, ambitious Russian president who wants to restore former glory and size of USSR will choose Ukraine as next victim after his plan for violent annexation of the Baltic countries failed.
Russian plan is to finance such an ambitious and expensive undertaking by the sale of oil and gas, which would again return Russia among key players on the world political scene.

And while time is slowly running out, and America doesn't have much options to peacefully prevent the Russian operation that will disturb the balance of power, Jack's son will find out about the case thirty years ago on which his father worked, which may be able to prevent the apparently inevitable clash of East and West...

It's sadly to realize with novel's last page that this is the last Clancy novel we read. With this one he once again managed to create an exciting and convincing work that is read in one breath from beginning to end.
Combining his extensive knowledge of politics, strategy and warfare, the author made thrilling story with great pace, which is at the same time exciting and believable.

Once again he prepared well his book with extensive research, and to his work is difficult to find a flaw in terms of political and military aspects.

And due to these reasons, "Command Authority" that is sadly Tom Clancy's last novel can be recommended to all fans of thrillers, military or political fiction that often looks very close to reality...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not a real Tom Clancy book!!, 7 Jan 2014
Let's get this clear right from the outset. This is a Tom Clancy plot/story line,these are Tom Clancy charactors,but that's as far as it goes.The story is written by Mark Greaney,and it shows!! TC wrote realistic story lines,with realistic charactors,worts and all.
Mark Greaney has taken the plot with the charactors,and written a Gray Man type of story,all gung ho,all American hero types etc etc.
which is ok,if you're looking for a bit of light hearted,tongue in cheek type of escapism. But what it is not,is a Tom Clancy story.
Anyone who has read Tom Clancy Originals wil know what I mean. having said all that,this is an ok read,but really not a Tom Clancy mores the pity.RIP Tom and thanks for the memories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Something to get your teeth into, 25 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Command Authority (Jack Ryan 13) (Hardcover)
I guess like most of the folks who've read this book and left a review I'm a long-term Clancy fan. I've been underwhelmed by his work of the past ten years or so but I reckon Command Authority is his best story since The Bear and The Dragon. Prescient and with an interesting thread on the days before the fall of the Wall filling in some gaps in Jack Senior's CV, this is a book which will have you up late turning the pages. Jr and Sir Basil (Bas!) remain irritatingly drawn but Clark's as reliable as ever and Jack ... is Jack.

This doesn't reach the thrilling geo-political or technological heights of Executive Orders or The Sum of All Fears but it's a good read and a fitting last entry to the canon of my favourite author of the past 25 years.

Thanks for entertaining us royally Tom, and RIP.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Command Authority, 16 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have read and thoroughly enjoyed all of the Jack Ryan series of books, and indeed most were absolutely brilliant page turners. This is the good news!

I have to say that Command Authority is easily the worst of the series and made me wonder on many occasions whether this book had been written by Tom Clancy at all (sadly he died in Oct 2013) because the style of writing, particularly in the first half of the book was just incredibly different.

I felt it was aimed at a 12 year old with so many cases of unbelievably obvious and simple references and wording. the first half of the book is dreary, repetitive and boring and it was a chore to plough through it. The was so little action, so little story and very little point to it.

The second half began to pick up and have a point to the story and it was back to a normal Jack Ryan novel, but boy if you we're a first time reader, you would through the book away in the first dozen chapters!

Mr Clancy's sad demise is a loss to all of his fans, and whilst I want more, I hope it doesn't become a similar franchise to whats happened to the Robert Ludlum Covert One books, where miraculously Mr Ludnum's name still heads the books as author, despite his obvious issue of him being dead!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read, 26 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Command Authority (Jack Ryan 13) (Hardcover)
Started it on Christmas day and cannot put it down - follows on nicely from the previous Jack Ryan books and such a pitty that Tom Clancy has died as he was a master story teller
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars First rate, 19 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant as ever, I hope mr clancy had a few more written before he passed. Thoroughly recommended as with all his novels
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, but woefully wrong on a whole load of details, 22 April 2014
By 
P. D. Wiliam (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Command Authority (Jack Ryan 13) (Hardcover)
As with all Tom Clancy's books, this is a good read, and his prediction of events in the Ukraine is uncannily accurate. However, my enjoyment of the book was consistently undermined by his woefully inaccurate details in the scenes set in the UK. Contrary to what most Americans believe, it does not rain all the time in the UK. In the south east of England, the location of the scene where Clancy describes the frequency of the rain, it rains less than 10% of the time. And milk is never delivered in half-gallon bottles. To the extent that milk is delivered at all (an increasing rarity in England) it comes in pints and quarts. Oh, and newspapers are not thrown onto the driveways as they are in the US; they are, instead, posted through a letter box, like the mail. So the fact that this book gets so many basic details of life in the UK wrong makes me wonder about the accuracy of everything else in the book...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Command Authority, 23 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not the best book (in my opinion) I have read from the late Mr. Clancy. I found it very slow to start and hard work throughout.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Up to standard for Clancy, 5 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Command Authority (Jack Ryan 13) (Hardcover)
I would recommend this to all Clancy fans. The flashback sequences are a little confusing at first. All his usual characters make an appearance. The action sequences a a little contrived but on the whole it is a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Command Authority (Jack Ryan 13)
Command Authority (Jack Ryan 13) by Tom Clancy (Hardcover - 5 Dec 2013)
13.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews