Customer Reviews


67 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PURE CLARKSON
It's a peculiarity of our language that I might be asked "Do you like Jerremy Clarkson?" and I hesitate to answer. Because I want to say "Yes" but, in fact, I don't much like Mr Clarkson at all. I do, however, like his output very much. I like watching him in interviews, I make a point of watching Top Gear and I, generally, like reading his short...
Published 7 months ago by Clive

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Losing the edge!
I like Clarkson. I've read most of his books and given some good reviews. However, whilst a fine wine can improve with age, there does come a time when the contents of the bottle start to deteriorate and eventually sour. We've had umpteen books now from Clarkson and it's all getting a little repetitious. Indeed, Clarkson does cover the same ground several times in the...
Published 5 months ago by I. Shepherd


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The world according to Clarkson, 8 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
If Clarkson makes you laugh, its a must have . Excellent, he puts into words the things that we all think but cant articulate
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Compulsive reading, 25 Oct 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
No matter how much I may dislike Mr Clarkson as a person, I find his writing to be compulsive reading. In this book, more perhaps than his previous ones, he comes across as a social snob, managing to find ways in several articles to drop in that the Prime Minister is his neighbour, that he owns a farm, that he has a swimming-pool, that he takes his family on hugely expensive holidays, etc. His attempt to justify his statement on television that public sector workers should be shot in front of their families is pathetic - exactly the sort of thing that his writing sets out to lampoon. Many of his opinions are made without bothering to find out the real facts - much like the Daily Mail, which he hates for that very reason. Not, it seems, the nicest person in the world. So why read it? Because he moans better, and with more descriptive skill, than Karl Pilkington. Because some of his writing is hilariously funny, and there is enough of that to ignore some of his written excesses. Because he completely understands the ridiculousness of Labour. Because while he will respect other people and their rights (except the French, obviously), he will have nothing to do with political correctness that goes over-the-top. His best writing is about his own experiences, many of which leave you howling with laughter. This is a book I wish I didn't like so much - but just can't help it. So, I'm afraid I have to say that you have to read it - and be prepared to laugh out loud very often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 22 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Pretty much the same old stuff as previously published
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AS funny as ever, 25 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Opinions so similar to mine make it easy to ready to read - short stories and opinions from Jeremy's newspaper. Very amusing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Clarkson is Clarkson, 8 Dec 2013
By 
John Hope (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Most people either love Jeremy Clarkson or they hate him. If you don't like Clarkson at least a bit, this is not the book for you.
It's a collection of short articles Jeremy wrote for a newspaper over the past few years. They fall into two broad categories: observations on aspects of everyday life, and political/social comment. With his Everyday Observer hat on, Jeremy is very funny and he punches a definite chord with the reader in relating the absurdities and frustrations of daily activities - such as opening packaging, operating a modern boiler, using a modern TV, travel abroad, or shopping on your local high street. However, with his Political and Social hat on, Jeremy fails to either entertain or convince.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love a good rant!, 10 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bloody hell he can't half go on. It's just a shame that more people can't be as honest as Mr. Clarkson.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 24 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Excellent, as ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Usual Clarkson fun but with hindsight a bit hypocrite, 2 Dec 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Is It Really Too Much To Ask?: The World According to Clarkson Volume 5 (Hardcover)
.I always enjoys reading Clarkson's books but this time with the benefit of hindsight and knowing how his family situation is, due to his own stupidity, he comes over as a hypocrite by mocking other people for doing the same as he did, still fun to read though especially the part he tries to defend the Murdoch’s and Rebecca Brooks, but then he did not have the benefit of hindsight when writing the articles
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars is it to much to ask.The world according to Clarkson Volume 5, 21 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Is It Really Too Much To Ask?: The World According to Clarkson Volume 5 (Hardcover)
This it what my Grandson ask me to buy and i cannot fault it. he will love the content. he will be well pleased,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good laugh, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Is It Really Too Much To Ask?: The World According to Clarkson Volume 5 (Hardcover)
I've read all his books. You cant beat them for the toilet or taking on holiday with you. No concentration level required.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Is It Really Too Much To Ask?: The World According to Clarkson Volume 5
9.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews