Customer Reviews


197 Reviews
5 star:
 (117)
4 star:
 (50)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want an insider's view - If you want Ian Fleming or Dickens, look them up
I found the book quite informative and written in the style of how special operators I've known would have written it. The first part about the training was heartwarming to me as it brought back so many similar, familiar thoughts and emotions. I enjoyed reading a member of a younger generation's thoughts about wanting to serve with the best in perhaps the most difficult...
Published on 2 Oct 2012 by 2pt

versus
27 of 34 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Revealing. A functional account but necessarily so.
I was intrigued by this book, an accurate first hand account of the events surrounding Bin Laden's death was always going to be an interesting reveal. The press and government agencies seem incapable of not spinning a story to merit there own divergent goals. Offering a differing account from both the reported and official versions, No Easy Day has swiftly gained a...
Published on 9 Sep 2012 by E. Motler


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want an insider's view - If you want Ian Fleming or Dickens, look them up, 2 Oct 2012
I found the book quite informative and written in the style of how special operators I've known would have written it. The first part about the training was heartwarming to me as it brought back so many similar, familiar thoughts and emotions. I enjoyed reading a member of a younger generation's thoughts about wanting to serve with the best in perhaps the most difficult profession and then persevering through whatever it took mentally, physically and psychologically to succeed. The authors knew the readership would be from many sectors of many societies and cultures making the background information of what a man must endure to be chosen to be in a place like the door of Osama Bin Laden's bedroom in the dark of night.

I was humbled by the candidness of this SEAL who spoke of his fears and how he handled them. He spoke of his family and loved ones back home warmly. He was honest about his tiredness and how he had learned to set aside even thoughts of being comfortable so as not to take his full focus off the tasks before him. Reading this book may bring many surprises to a great deal of the public who rely on the two weakest links in obtaining news and seeing characterizations formed of people in special operations. Those weak links are the "the mass media" in broadcast or print; and "Movies/documentaries" from Hollywood. The SEAL reminded me that the bravado and chest thumping we often see when the news seeks out a "former (fill in the blank) military member", but does little to verify the credentials or relevence of experience of the guest. Occasionally, they will get the right person, but then the interviewer usually asks the wrong questions and keeps steering the interview toward the agenda of the station/network. I say this about all broadcast and print media available in this language without singling out any political view. Journalists could take a lesson from this SEAL about finding the unvarnished truth in a story. He does mention some personal political views, but it is an auto-biography that is often less political than most broadcast/print news. The SEAL lacks the subtlety employed by the mass media, but special operators get little training in subtlety wheras it seems journalists get a lot.

I hope everyone will read this book to help them understand why people choose to undergo such training and then subject themselves to the danger of carrying out the orders of the elected officials who decide what needs to be done and the elected officials who vote the funds necessary to carry out the missions. The special operators are not the ones who decide what is in their nation's best interest. The only thing a military member can decide is if the order issued to them is a legal order and be ready to undergo the review to determine if the order had been legal and to then be ready to face the consequences of disobeying a legal order. The higher up the chain of command, the more review of legality of the order has been done. If you know the Commander in Chief is listening for reports on the mission, you can feel safe knowing the order is legal. A disparaging reviewer mentioned morality. Anyone who may have morality issues with being involved in combat may declare themself a conscientious objector and still serve in most nation's military forces in non-combat duties.

Being married to another retired military officer, I was most happy to see the involvement of women included in this operation. Though women were not a part of the boots on the ground operation, there were countless women involved, both civilian and military. My military career ended after women were in nearly every facet of special operations, with the exception of ground operations. I am sure there are women who may want to be a part of these operations, but the women I knew, who were all tough soldiers, told me when I often asked if they would like to trade places with me, that there was no way they wanted to try that. Many missions are not physically as demanding as others, but every team member must be able and ready to go anywhere and do anything as the SEAL pointed out.

The SEAL used a time line to show how the story unfolded in the press, knowing the next breaking news may show his face and the specfic area of his hometown was mentioned and crawling with newspeople. I applaud his hesitation to sign a memento, but wonder why he did not express reluctance about the team photo. I have seen the photo, with the only face not covered being that of Cairo, the military dog. I am aware some official military photos from my days of film had the negative altered in the darkroom to prevent seeing faces, name tags, even rank, branch and class rings where camouflaged. I don't know how that is handled in the digital age.

I read the book and I read the very few disparaging reviews posted here. As a retired special operator, I can offer the unhappy reviewers a bit of advice. If you see an autobiography by someone whose life was not one of letters, but one of action, please hold your criticism for the lack of scholarly prose, and the lack of the author's review of historical significance. Attempts to diagnose the mental capacities of these men who find humor where they can is petty. Sophisticated humor has not been a hallmark of soldiers throughout history, as they live under the very great stress of knowing the next funeral they attend may be their own. I suggest you treat such auto-biographies as you would an historical account of an eyewitness. Try to focus on putting yourself in the situations described and attempt to imagine your emotions. Adrenaline, yes; but to describe it as being drunk on it is ridiculous. These professionals must perform to perfection and make split second decisions upon which their lives and the lives of their team mates depend. Feel safe in your crystal clear hindsight and leather recliner, while rough men go about the duties the voters in their respective countries put decision makers in office to decide and order these deeds done.

I applaud the courage of this SEAL for bringing this book forward and for donating a significant amount of the proceeds to charities supporting the families of lost SEALs. I also applaud and thank the untold and often unknown service members of every free country. I feel a brotherhood of arms even with the unwilling soldiers forced into service of nations which are not free. Despots and their minor tyrants are on their own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 47 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must read for anybody curious what really happened, 8 Sep 2012
This review is from: No Easy Day: The Only First-hand Account of the Navy Seal Mission that Killed Osama bin Laden (Hardcover)
I have never reviewed a book on here, but I felt the need to provide one for this book (even though I didn't buy it here).

The book deals largely with the events that led up to the death of Bin Laden last year. The author does an excellent job of providing just enough information about his career and the brutal training and missions that these guys go on to ease the reader into the story. There was nothing in the story regarding details about operational procedures of the SEALs that could not be found publicly elsewhere. The story does tend to jump about a bit however through different events that seemingly have little in common except to help understand how these men think and operate.

Now down to the nitty gritty. Without ruining the events as he describes them (despite these revelations being plastered across many media outlets), they do indeed differ somewhat from the official account given by the American Government. How significant these differences are, I will leave for you to decide. The chapters that deal with this are extremely tense, thrilling stuff. I couldn't put the book down once these chapters started kicking in, and the book ends on this thrilling climax leaving the reader wanting more. Always a good way to end a book.

The profits from the book will go to veterans charities that support former Navy SEALs so it is definitely worth the buy. The author states that he does not want to profit from telling the story, simply that he wants the truth to finally reveal itself. This is quite believable, and for that reason alone should hopefully convince you that the events unfolded as he has described. He hasn't appeared to have gained anything from telling his story, and may in fact get himself slapped with a lawsuit from the Pentagon and some unwanted media coverage at this rate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars AN ACCOUNT TO BE READ, 24 Jan 2014
The book, as well known, describes the operation that the NAVY SEAL Team Six, known also as DEVGRU, has conducted for eliminating Bin Laden. The account of the intervention alternates to the personal history of the author, his training to become a member of this famous, even if secret, special team.
The various training phases, aimed to gain the maximum perfection, are narrated in simple way, deprived of emphatic affirmations.
The description of the special equipment (some photos show a few of them), not known to the public, gives a look on some available high-tech armaments and material for high risk interventions of such kind.
There are described some real operational moments in the various theaters of war. Also these stories are honestly reported with the possible unforeseen event and incidents. The men are not super heroes, but only elements highly motivated and determined to accomplish the assigned mission.
The story is honest and free of those boasts and pseudo-statements of petty national policy present on many accounts (more or less reliable) written by former members of Elite Forces. The "Neptune Spear" is told with simplicity, without exaltation. Certainly a few "secret details" have been omitted for understandable reasons. This must be kept in mind when doubts arose on the real carrying out of the action. We can discuss (approve or disapprove) if such operations guarantees more security to all of us, but surely it is a clear message: there is always someone with the ability and resources to find men like Bin Laden and to call them to answer of their crimes.
In any case, the book is well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, details we want to know, 4 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Transparency is a good thing.

It's nice to finally get a first hand account of what happened in Abbottabad, the night the U.S. military raided Osama Bin Laden's hideout in Pakistan.

This book is well written and will keep you on edge as if you were there on the mission with SEAL Team 6.

For people who are interested in the details of this event, this book is likely to be considered the final truth.

Thanks to the author for his service and publication of this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Unglamorisation makes this book real and authentic, 19 April 2014
Good account of SEAL missions and obviously of one that got OBL. Also covers of the SEAL training and earlier missions.

The action is described in a calm and matter of fact way which demonstrates the professional approach of the writer. Americans can be so gun-ho and chest beating when they describe their armed forces but there is non of this in the book.

The writer is likeable and believable and the book is a good and inspirational read.

But why did that helicopter crash? Weird !!

There were quite a lot of abbreviations throughout and I lost track of what they all meant after a while.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome, 9 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Brilliant read, you really get to understand the brother hood of these guys and respect them for their sacrifices. These guys are true warriors.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great in depth read, 28 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
First class book of real world changing mission. If only there was more from the same author his descriptions make it so much more real
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 1 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Easy Day (Paperback)
Blow by blow account of the now well documented account of the capture of the worlds most wanted man. Riveting read,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars No easy day review, 26 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is an amazing story and really brought out the fact that when in battle the men and women fighting for this great country don't think about themselves or their commanding officers but their team mates fighting alongside them.
This is not a biased report about the American military as I am british.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Interesting., 19 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: No Easy Day: The Only First-hand Account of the Navy Seal Mission that Killed Osama bin Laden (Hardcover)
After hearing all my friends talk about this I decided to make the purchase. Well worth the read and a great point of view on what has to be the most talked About topic over the past decade. Good to hear a soldiers side of the story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

No Easy Day: The Only First-hand Account of the Navy Seal Mission that Killed Osama bin Laden
£13.94
Usually dispatched within 11 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews