Customer Reviews


99 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (7)
1 star:
 (28)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Debut
Reading Conquest was a mix of emotions, the plot pace and characterisations are very much like Bernard Cornwell, in fact it put me in mind of his Arthurian series. The book leads you on a journey of action and adventure as well as education of the time period, but on a note of caution the facts are well blended with many flights of fanciful fiction to make the plot as...
Published on 11 Jun. 2011 by Parm

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars reconciled me to toothache
I got about as far as where the new age hippy is lecturing the pope before I fell asleep. You don't need Mogadon with this book, folks!
Hereward, one of the great heroes of England, is portrayed as Conan the Barbarian, but the book isn't as well written or as much fun as the Conan stories.
Basically Mr Binns has sexed up Kingsley's Hereward the Wake novel from...
Published 11 months ago by pete melvets


‹ Previous | 18 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Conquest., 20 Sept. 2011
This review is from: Conquest (The Making of England Quartet) (Paperback)
Despite some of the reviews, I really enjoyed Conquest. It does what it says on the label. Its a historical boys own novel,that describes English history (rather then legend as in Arthurian legend) on a personal level. If you enjoy Cornwell,Young etc then you will enjoy this.Well done Mr Binns, I suspect some of the reviews maybe from jealous rivals who have had their books rejected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - A Real Page Turner, 25 Nov. 2011
This review is from: Conquest (The Making of England Quartet) (Paperback)
I love this book - it really brings the often forgotten Hero of Hereward to life.
Very well written - after reading it I feel like I know Hereward and Torfida personally. Very enjoyable from start to finish (pity that the result of the Battle Of Hastings wasn`t different - but you can`t change History - yet!!!) ConquestConquest
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 16 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring, 3 Mar. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Conquest (The Making of England Quartet) (Paperback)
Brought this book as I have a love of the fogotten hero of England Hereward

was bored rigid by page 100
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great first book, 14 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book had me hooked from when i read the summary on the back cover in a bookshop to actually purchasing it via my kindle.
it shows the author has a very fertile imagination to link together great events and personalities from long ago in a sometimes humourous but also in a believable way.
i did enjoy the book, so much so, that i also purchased the next book from this author, crusade, which i am hoping will be as good, if not better than conquest was.
it must be remembered when reading this book, that it is a work of fiction and someones great imagination to bring together the events and personalities of the era, it is nothing to use as reference for exams or mastermind!!
it is a great piece of entertainment for those of us who have an interest in the past and the what ifs.....
thoroughly recommended. *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Bad history, 11 May 2011
This review is from: Conquest (The Making of England Quartet) (Paperback)
Just too far-fetched and trite. For instance, when Hereward is being seduced by Edith Swan Neck in a field, and his wife stumbles on them, all Stewart Binns can give Hereward to shout is: "It's not what you think". Soap standard stuff. I invested some time in this book thinking it might take off, but I was just glad to finish it. No real tension or pace, just bad history.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars CONQUEST, 3 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Conquest (The Making of England Quartet) (Paperback)
Aa an avid fan of Ryan and Cornwell, this new author Binns has entered into distingusished company with his debut novel.

For those of us of an age that remeber the old black and white series of Hereward the Wake from the 1960's CONQUEST brings back the character in a new light, a true English warrior with just enough Druid mystic to capture the imagination.

A first class read which I read cover to cover on a flight to the US. I thoroughly recommend this excellent story (some fact some fiction) to anyone who has a love for old England and our nations birth.

More please Mr Binns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Conquest, 8 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Conquest (The Making of England Quartet) (Paperback)
This is a book that will grasp you from the start to the end. It is not just an historical novel, it is a fantastic tale of action and adventure - my husband and I have both read it and loved it. READ IT AND ENJOY IT...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Conquest, 3 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Conquest (The Making of England Quartet) (Paperback)
What a great read, couln't put it down. Vivid imagery and fantastic drama, beautifully written, a real English classic and so evocative of our heritage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb - a real cracker!, 3 Mar. 2011
This review is from: Conquest (The Making of England Quartet) (Paperback)
What a cracking book this is - a real page-turner - couldn't put it down and read it in one sitting. Amazing battle scenes and thoroughly fascinating characters. Buy it - it's fantastic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!, 29 July 2011
This review is from: Conquest (The Making of England Quartet) (Paperback)
I was recommended this book by my partner, as a fan of historical novels I was keen to read it.
It has not let me down, this book is a brilliant journey through a very important part of British history. It was complusive - I couldn't put it down, and when I had to I couldn't wait to get back to find out the next installment of Herewards life.
Stewarts first attempt of a novel should be congratulated, the massive amount of research is aparent. Not only have I throughly enjoyed this novel but felt like I have been educated in a very subtle way.
I highly recomend this book and look forward to Stewart Binns next book.
Words of advice.......BUY IT!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 18 9 10 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Conquest (The Making of England Quartet)
Conquest (The Making of England Quartet) by Stewart Binns (Paperback - 17 Feb. 2011)
£6.39
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews