Customer Reviews


127 Reviews
5 star:
 (76)
4 star:
 (29)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (9)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


166 of 173 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Waste not, want not - "let's get in the kitch!"
This book goes with the TV show on BBC2, which aims to create delicious meals that cost LOADS less. Paul Merrett is a chef I've seen before on TV, very accomplished and knowledgeable about food, but his co-author Allegra McEvedy is my favourite of the two. Tall, blonde, and a bit 'jolly hockey sticks', she shortens all her words, exclaiming "let's get in the kitch!" when...
Published on 12 Aug 2009 by emma who reads a lot

versus
194 of 217 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A book for non-cooks
There's little to learn here for anyone but the least experienced cooks - except for a clear method that the cooks claim will save you money. Most of the recipes here are real standards that anyone with more than a handful of cookbooks will already have. Most recipes are very time consuming and not devised for people with limited time on their hands. The 'system' that...
Published on 16 Aug 2009 by Henry Turner


‹ Previous | 112 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible Series and Terrible book, 3 Sep 2009
This review is from: Economy Gastronomy: Eat Better and Spend Less (Hardcover)
I watched the first few episodes of the TV series and gave up in disgust, hot dog hot pots, everything you can do with mince? The idea of basic sauces is fine, but this just does not seem a healthy approach to cooking. I can't actually work out who the audience is. Try reading almost anything by Jamie Oliver, and you will get more appetising, tastier and no more expensive meals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great recipes, 23 Sep 2009
By 
B. Dix (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Economy Gastronomy: Eat Better and Spend Less (Hardcover)
Cooked the beef and tumble down meals, and all were great. They do take a little longer than stated but as a busy mum of three it's great to cook decent meals in the week. Just waiting for the cookie mixture to cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars yum yum, 17 Sep 2009
By 
L. brennan (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Economy Gastronomy: Eat Better and Spend Less (Hardcover)
jsut watching the series and thought i,ll get the book . amazon had the cheapest copy brand new and plenty of things i,m having a go at thanks i like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars economy gastronomy, 15 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Economy Gastronomy: Eat Better and Spend Less (Hardcover)
Coulodn't wait to get the book. Read it from cover to cover and have done 2 of the bedrock recipes already.Easy to follow and taste fab !! Well worth investing in. The initial outlay can be rather pricy but when you make it into 3 meals it doesn't seem as bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Changed my life!, 11 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Economy Gastronomy: Eat Better and Spend Less (Hardcover)
Well, maybe not my life, but certainly the way I shop. I'm not a massive fan of some of the TV recipes (hate salmon, for example) but I can honestly say that NOTHING gets wasted in my kitchen any more, and the revolution only took about three weeks. I've got cupboards that look quite cheffy now, but I actually USE the stuff! Well done guys, keep it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cooking revived, 23 Sep 2009
This review is from: Economy Gastronomy: Eat Better and Spend Less (Hardcover)
This has launch my enjoyment of cooking again, and as I have recently retuened to full time days at work again, being able to create dishes out of leftovers and also ideas for cooking for the freezer have really helped. I used to rely on frozen processed foods, not any more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 60 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, 13 Aug 2009
By 
Mr. S. A. Durbridge "SD" (scotland, Glasgow) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Economy Gastronomy: Eat Better and Spend Less (Hardcover)
Though it would be a good read after being so highly rated but was not impressed, after a few pages I began to loose intrest, shame as I xpected more from the writer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 112 13 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Economy Gastronomy: Eat Better and Spend Less
Economy Gastronomy: Eat Better and Spend Less by Paul Merrett (Hardcover - 27 Aug 2009)
16.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews