Customer Reviews


86 Reviews
5 star:
 (54)
4 star:
 (21)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


156 of 166 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very best, most delicious junk food in the whole world
Jamie says he wants to stick up for American food, which often gets pigeon-holed as pure junk; this book is his way of showing how delicious, funky, varied and outrageous it can be. The book's divided into six sections: New York, Louisiana, Arizona, Los Angeles, Georgia, Wild West. As always it is beautifully illustrated by David Loftus's photos and the text is...
Published on 2 Sep 2009 by emma who reads a lot

versus
62 of 67 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read but some flaws
I've had this book for a couple of weeks now and tried out quite a few of the recipes.

On the plus side, the book looks great and contains loads of anecdotes and stories, so is good to leaf through even if you're not looking for a recipes.

The recipes are clear and easy to follow - so far I've tried the chilli, the jambulaya and one of the salads,...
Published on 19 Sep 2009 by Jen13


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

156 of 166 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The very best, most delicious junk food in the whole world, 2 Sep 2009
By 
emma who reads a lot (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jamie's America (Hardcover)
Jamie says he wants to stick up for American food, which often gets pigeon-holed as pure junk; this book is his way of showing how delicious, funky, varied and outrageous it can be. The book's divided into six sections: New York, Louisiana, Arizona, Los Angeles, Georgia, Wild West. As always it is beautifully illustrated by David Loftus's photos and the text is entertaining, good travelogue by JO. The real treat of course is the recipes, so let's cut straight to them.

Selected Recipes:
New York
Burgers, Waldorf Salad My Way, Candied Bacon Green Salad, Deep Pan Pizza, My NYC Cheesecake, Fiery Dan Dan Noodles, Jewish Pencillin (chicken soup) , Potato Latke Breakfast, Veal Parmigiana, Killer Mac n Cheese

Lousiana
Southern Red Beans and Pork, Amazing Pork Cracklings, Jambalaya, Southern Sausage Stew, two different Gumbos, Cajun Blackened Fish, two different recipes for Alligator (you can use pork chicken or swordfish if for some reason you don't have any alligator handy), Sweet Potato Pie, Bourbon and Pecan Tart

Arizona
Mexican Breakfast (this one made me dribble on the page it looks so good, spicey eggs and tomato in a tortilla), Chilli Cheese Cornbread, Navajo Brekkie, Watermelon Salad, Epic Churro Lamb, Chicken Mole (ie with chocolate), Peach Cobbler, Hot Choccy and Churros (with chilli in it), Chilli Popcorn

Los Angeles
Breakfast Tortillas, La Brea Salad, Seven Seas Soup (the one they make for the christening in LA), Mexican Street Salad, Fiery Shrimp Cocktail, Gorditas with Salsa, Chicken on Chickpeas, Stuffed Tomato Tortillas, Tuna Tartare, Chocolate Mole Tart, Blood Orange Granita

Georgia
Venison and Creamy Beans, Southern Pecan and Apple Salad, Comforting Turkey Stew, Crab Balls, Old-Fashioned Peach Ice Cream, Rich Grits, Southern Fried Chicken, Ham Hock on Green Grits, Southern Style Pork and Slaw, Beer Butt Chicken, Five Star Pork Ribs, My Epic Barbecue Sauce

Wild West
Best Baked Beans, Trout and Salad, Mountain Meatballs, Cornish Cowboy Pasties (amazingly this one is genuinely a US recipe), Traybaked Chicken, Chilli con Jamie, Awesome Apple Pancakes, Cinammon Swirls, Appleberry Pie

As you can see from the list - less useful for the inexperienced cook, the lover of plain flavours, the dieter, the chilli-hater, and the vegetarian! But for those of us who absolutely love proper American food this book is GREAT and can be a source for recipes to remind me of many happy holidays driving across the map. A really fantastic book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


62 of 67 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good read but some flaws, 19 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: Jamie's America (Hardcover)
I've had this book for a couple of weeks now and tried out quite a few of the recipes.

On the plus side, the book looks great and contains loads of anecdotes and stories, so is good to leaf through even if you're not looking for a recipes.

The recipes are clear and easy to follow - so far I've tried the chilli, the jambulaya and one of the salads, and they all worked really well.

All the obvious American recipes are here (fried chicken, deep pan pizza, burgers) but there are also recipes included from different immigrant communities, including Chinese and Egyptian recipes, as well as Native American dishes. There are also recipes from different parts of the States as well - Southern food, Cajun food and so on. I really liked the mixture of different things that are included, and it gives you a feel for how food culture changes with each immigrant group that arrives.

On the negative side, most of the recipes feature meat and chilli - if you're a veggie, don't bother!

Also, the recipes all seem to serve vast numbers of people - usually eight, but sometimes up to 12. I don't think many people have to cook for those sorts of numbers on a regular basis. Adapting the recipes to serve four would have made this book more useful, as they'd then be easier to scale down to two or double if there were more people to feed.

The recipes also aren't quite as easy or fuss free as some as Jamie Oliver's other books. The gumbo recipe instructed you to cook unskinned and unboned chicken pieces until they were tender, then take them out the sauce, remove the skin and bone, shred the meat then put it back in the stew. Doing this probably added to the flavour of the dish but it was messy, a bit of a faff and I ended up burning my fingers!

Quite a big proportion of the savoury recipes call for two or more types of meat or fish - depending on your budget, this could limit how much you used the book.

Overall, it's a good book, although more useful to experienced cooks who can afford to spend a bit more on food and have a big family to feed. It's nice to have and good to read though, but I don't think it'll be one of my most used cookbooks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally, A Mainstream American Cookbook..., 15 Sep 2009
This review is from: Jamie's America (Hardcover)
Clearly, Jamie isn't going to cover the entire sphere of American cookery in one book, but to my knowledge, this is possibly the first mainstream high profile book on the subject, so well done Jamie.

I've had an interest in different American cuisines for quite some time, and as an immigrant country the cuisines are obviously as diverse as the origins of the population which makes American cuisines far more diverse than those of Europe.

The public and media perception of US cuisine is obviously skewed to what it is familiar with, deep pan pizza, mass produced tex mex, and the ubiquitous soggy hamburger and fries. These are the imports of high margin, aggressive multinationals. But there is so much more to American food....

The problem is finding out about it. The cuts of meat, the commercial sauces, the regional differences within the US, etc.

I was delighted to find that Jamie includes a recipe for Beer Can Chicken, something rarely seen this side of the pond, but now the ONLY way I roast chicken (but Jamie gets it slightly wrong, the rub should go under the skin, not on it - is this a transcription error?) - this can turn even the most boring mass produced chicken into something special.

I already cook a number of dishes that Jamie covers, and these are some of my favourites, so I think Jamie's selection of dishes is spot on.

As an introduction to the more exciting and tasty American foods, this is simply an excellent book and highly recommended. All I would say is that it still a bit of a starting point. There are plenty of internet resources for developing recipes, and seeing how other people do the same things, and some commercial products that would be used in the US aren't referred to in Jamie's book, but they CAN be obtained occasionally in the UK.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


67 of 76 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last.........., 1 Sep 2009
By 
Bob's Mum (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Jamie's America (Hardcover)
.......... a cookbook which deliciously debunks the myth of 'American' food.

Jamie's America offers a unique taste of the richness and diversity of this country's gastronomic fare. Brilliantly done, in his inimitable style, lots of fab recipes with tips and commentary along the way. I just love the way Jamie gives you a 'chat' as you go through his cookbooks, and this one is no exception.

Like his others, written to accompany the C4 series of the same name, there is something here for everyone. Tasty, beautifully illustrated, clever and interesting, but not preachy. Back to Jamie at his best!

EDIT:
To update my review, I've added the recipes tried and tested so far! Am very impressed how easy and tasty they are, and their adaptability. Have a look online (Daily Mail website in particular) if you want to 'try before you buy' this cookbook.

1. VELVET CUPCAKES - these were easy to make and very 'visual' (looked good displayed on a wire cupcake stand too). Not as vividly 'red' as the traditional Velvet Cake, but I used natural colouring. I cooked these for slightly less time than suggested and got a very soft and almost melting cake. Easy recipe to adapt for different occasions.
2. BROCCOLI SALAD - again a very easy recipes, quick and delicious. I preferred it slightly warm, so best to have everything prepared for the dressing in advance. A little fiddly preparing the Broccoli as directed, but worth it for the presentation. For Friday night tea, I just chopped up the Broccoli randomly (also a lot less waste!) Brilliant for veggies (add cheese of choice) or we had it with a simple steak.
3. STUFFED COURGETTE FLOWERS - similar to Valentine Warner's excellent recipe but with a different mix of cheeses. Added more Chilli to this and it was fab. Again easy to adapt to suit taste.
4. CHURROS - Not enough cinnamon for my lot in this but again easy to adapt. VERY tasty indeed. (Need to make a double batch next time).
5. BEER BUTT CHICKEN - if you have to try one recipe, try this. A revelation and simply delicious. Very easy, meltingly tender chicken. (Novel too - provoked more discussion here then Nigella's Ham in CocaCola!)
6. COMFORTING TURKEY STEW - this was actually Comforting Leftover BeerButt Chicken for us, but good nonetheless. Will probably omit the dumplings next time - good on its own or with rice / mash.

Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Nice photography, fussy, over worked recipes, 6 Nov 2009
By 
This review is from: Jamie's America (Hardcover)
I have lots of cook books that's I use on a regular basis. The cook books I buy are for using, not to adorn my kitchen bookshelves for show or just to flick through for my latest food porn fix.

This book (like all of JO's publications) is well executed and the photography is lovely. I enjoyed reading the little stories in each chapter and if it was a book to read then I would have given it 4 stars, possibly 5.

The trouble is however I actually use my cook books. Out of the 7 recipes I have tried most of them have been really poor. The chilli is revolting. I am a more than competent cook but his use of ingredients is fussy and unnecessary in most of the recipes I have tried.

This was a great TV series but translates poorly in book form.

I love REAL American food but the recipes in here we're less than average in my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Cookbook For Somebody Trying Something Different, 23 Dec 2009
By 
P. Johnson (Washington Village, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jamie's America (Hardcover)
Don't be put off by the reviews saying that this book isn't for beginners. If you like the sound of the recipes just give them a go.

I've never done much more with food than stir frys and warming up frozen pizzas but recently wanted to try out a bit of cooking. I just got married in Vegas and thought a bit of american cooking might be nice so I got this book.

It was an excellent choice. The first thing I tried was the Cornish Cowboy Pasties... turned out trickier than I thought with the pastry and a couple didn't quite look like they should have but they were all delicious. I've tried about 30 of the recipes, some have been a bit tricky but if you follow the instructions to the word and don't worry too much they turn out fine.

Some of my favourites have been the Gumbo (Surf and Turf is really tasty but my favorite is the Spicy Meat Gumbo).

I've seen good reviews of the Sher Ping Pancakes but didn't really think too much of them... they were quite tricky to make as well so I think it's the only recipe in the book that I've tried that I wouldn't advise anybody to try.

The Pizza with the big crust is really nice as is the Green Chillie.

Once you do a few recipes you end up with the spices and things like garlic and bay leaves etc in the cupboard so the first few recipes I did I had to do a bit of shopping but after the first few I just had to get the main ingredients in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Authentic Recipes, 3 Mar 2010
By 
A. Johnson (Atlanta, GA, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jamie's America (Hardcover)
We moved to Georgia from the UK last year. We were sent this as a Christmas Gift, which I thought was a little strange at the time - an English cookbook about America bought in England and sent to the USA?
But I have just bought 2 copies as gifts for people in England! It truly is full of authentic Georgia recipes - Pulled pork, Shrimp and Grits, Pecans, Mash, Collard Greens, Fried Chicken, Hush Puppies, Corn, Slaw, Ribs... The Louisiana section is excellent too - Gumbo, Crab, etc etc.
There is lots of good background information too, about the way people live, cook and eat.
PS Don't believe the hype - I have never been to so many fantastic restaurants, and eaten so much good food. And the barbecue competitions - y'all don't know what ya missin!
(If you enjoy the Georgia section, then look out for Paula Deen cookbooks - she is Georgia's Jamie.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best cookbooks ever, 30 April 2010
This review is from: Jamie's America (Hardcover)
At first I didn't want to buy this, as flicking through the pages I saw just really unhealthy-seeming super-American stuff, like fried chicken, burgers and mac and cheese. However, these are just a minority. Of course, the classics are incorporated, but Jamie mixes it up with really creative ideas for salads, and more obscure cuisines, such as Navajo. The great thing about this book is that Jamie shows how much of a melting pot the US are: it is a mix of Native American, Italian, Creole (and through that, French, Spanish, and African), Mexican and South American, Asian cuisines... add some all-American BBQ recipes, and the result is amazing! Recommend the jambalaya, the peach cobbler, deep pan pizza, Navajo lamb, the cowboy meatballs, the Mexican breakfast, the southern pecan and apple salad, beer butt chicken.... it is all delicious
recommended especially for those who like the staple ingredients in this book: tomatoes, avocados, chilli, paprika, peppers...
minus point for being meat-heavy.however, some of the recipes could work without the meat. not so sure about all the BBQ recipes though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 30 Dec 2009
By 
Ms. Danielle K. Smith - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jamie's America (Hardcover)
Like the TV series this is a great book, but if you're a veggie like me beware, it's very heavily focused on meat recipes. At least my friends and family will be happy. I can't wait to try the cheese cake. I've already had the beans and they were yummy. Jamie as ever describes the recipes in a very easy to follow manor which makes cooking even for beginners easy. This book is really rammed full of recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jamie's America, 3 Nov 2009
By 
J. C. Gillard (Auckland, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jamie's America (Hardcover)
It is great to see a recipe book written on the good apects of American cooking. It is not all pre-prepared and packaged food in this vast country and Jamie Oliver has managed to find interesting and easily cooked recipes for this book.

It is well laid out and the descriptions of the poeple and the food make for interesting reading - it is more than just a recipe book, a travelog as well.

The recipes are pretty healthy with plenty of emphasis on salads. Short of alligator, the ingredients are easily accessible in New Zealand. The recipes I have cooked have been tasty, have been well received and they look like the picture. The awesome apple pancakes were so easy to make and they tasted great

A big plus is that the book uses metric measures, unlike most books on American food

Overall a great recipe book that I know I will use often.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jamie's America
Jamie's America by Jamie Oliver (Hardcover - 1 Sep 2009)
17.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews