Customer Reviews


5 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a real cook's book
Alice Waters is the chef/owner of Chez Panisse in San Fransico. We had lunch there about 25years ago - sauteed prawns with garlic and parsley - (it's in the book) and has never been forgotten. There are no glossy pictures and most recipes can be found in other books but the reason this is so good is that she has tweaked the method to improve the results so her panna...
Published on 9 Feb 2009 by D. Lees

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's alright :0,
I bought this book for my mother because she only does very basic cooking and wanted to become a bit more adventurous and learn a bit more about cooking. The recipies are great nut there aren't any pictures which makes it difficult to flick through them. A real pitty because she doesn't use it as much as she'd like to.
Published on 24 April 2009 by L. N. Coulter


Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a real cook's book, 9 Feb 2009
By 
D. Lees (Rutland, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of Simple Food (Hardcover)
Alice Waters is the chef/owner of Chez Panisse in San Fransico. We had lunch there about 25years ago - sauteed prawns with garlic and parsley - (it's in the book) and has never been forgotten. There are no glossy pictures and most recipes can be found in other books but the reason this is so good is that she has tweaked the method to improve the results so her panna cotta is the best I have ever made as was the pappardelle - more eggs and letting the pasta dough sit at room temperature for an hour seems to be it. Even vinaigrette is improved by adding the salt to the vinegar and tasting before adding the other ingredients. Every method of cooking is covered so I have improved favourite recipes by checking how Alice would do it. This book has been out in the US for a while but this is british version - grams and litres - instead of cups which I think is easier.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful book, awful price, 6 Jun 2008
By 
Charles Elkan - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book costs 31.50 pounds on Amazon UK, 11.50 pounds ($23) on Amazon US. British book buyers are getting ripped off.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book I turn to regularly, 30 Aug 2013
By 
Mrs. M. Donaldson "MaggieD" (oxford, oxfordshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Simple Food (Hardcover)
I am an avid cook, with well over 35 years of experience of cooking every day. I have masses of cookery books, many of which are rarely looked at. But THIS one is a 'go to' regular, as I can never remember pie-crust proportions, and welcome inspiration on what to do with, say, duck legs (braise them, and serve with peas). It is honest, clear, in impeccable taste. Like Alice herself! A cherished memory is of eating in Chez Panisse 15 years ago, and using this book brings back some of the magic. I am so excited that she is bringing out another volume in October this year (2013). You won't regret buying this if you want to read, dream and cook. If you want glossy pictures and lots of modern quirky recipes that are new just for the sake of it, look elsewhere. If you want reliability, great taste, and a gentle, authoritative friend in the kitchen, then go ahead and buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Almost the perfect cookery book, 27 Nov 2013
By 
R. Calvert "Richard" (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of Simple Food (Hardcover)
I've known about Alice Waters for years and always wanted to read and cook her food - but I really don't get on with American weights and measures. I mean I've only just mastered metric. So finding this beautifully written, wonderfully produced book with metric weights and measures was incredibly exciting.

Its one of those books that is as good to read in bed as it is to use in the kitchen. Inspirational and practical in equal measure.

There is no photography which seems to trouble some reviewers, but the book's so wonderfully written that images and flavours flood in with every recipe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars It's alright :0,, 24 April 2009
By 
L. N. Coulter - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this book for my mother because she only does very basic cooking and wanted to become a bit more adventurous and learn a bit more about cooking. The recipies are great nut there aren't any pictures which makes it difficult to flick through them. A real pitty because she doesn't use it as much as she'd like to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of Simple Food
The Art of Simple Food by Alice Waters (Hardcover - 30 Oct 2008)
20.40
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews