Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liven up lunch
I am one of those mothers who don't experience peaks of creative inspiration first thing in the morning and consequently my children have suffered some pretty dull and boring packed lunches.
However we recently purchased Ms Joyce's colourful and appealingly illustrated 'lunch boxes' book and, well ,those plain old cream cheese and ham sandwiches...
Published on 18 Nov 2005

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sandwiches anyone?
This book is a complete waste, it basically has sandwich filling ideas the chapters in it are as follows:

* About the author page 5
* Intro pg 8
* Health bit pg 10
* A weeks lunch plan and shopping list pg 15
* Sandwiches, wraps and rolls pg 19
* Snacks and dips pg 55
* Salads pg 71
* Stuff to make ahead pg 93
* Sweets...
Published on 8 Jan 2011 by Mina


Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Liven up lunch, 18 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Lunch Boxes (Hardcover)
I am one of those mothers who don't experience peaks of creative inspiration first thing in the morning and consequently my children have suffered some pretty dull and boring packed lunches.
However we recently purchased Ms Joyce's colourful and appealingly illustrated 'lunch boxes' book and, well ,those plain old cream cheese and ham sandwiches just aren't cutting the mustard any more!
There are loads of recipes that are easy to throw together in the morning when you're still in 'sloth' mode and some that require a little more preparation when you're more alert.
It also has to be said that we don't restrict ourselves to lunchboxes, we also use the book for lunch at home and dinner as well, 'beef chilli with beans' is a case in point and the recipe is simple enough for my children to follow.
The food is healthy and some of the recipes are quite adventurous for children in introducing spices and different flavours yet hiding them in the guise of nursery favourites such as 'honey and paprika drumsticks'.
Lunch boxes in our house are looking a lot less pale and uninteresting than they were...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great ideas for kids tastes, 12 Dec 2005
This review is from: Lunch Boxes (Hardcover)
My daughter has just started school and I have the issue of making sure she eats her lunch but also gets a variety of food. This book had some really good ideas that even appeals to my daughter's bland tastes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very useful book, 21 Aug 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lunch Boxes (Paperback)
with my littlun just starting to need proper packed lunches i ordered this book in desperation as half of the contents of the sandwich box came back opened, mangled, rejected.

even if you don't follow the recipes (and they are simple simple simple!) they're great ideas to tweak.

if, like me, you have no imagination in the food prep department, i'd absolutely recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for ideas, 15 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lunch Boxes (Hardcover)
Good book to have on the shelf to give you a bit of inspiration when writing your shopping list. Some of the things are a bit of a skitter but easily adapted. Its good to go through it with the kids as they pick out things I wouldn't have thought about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great tips, 27 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lunch Boxes (Hardcover)
excellent tips in books for healthy lunch boxes parents have borroweedd the book and brough it back to our centre.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good for ideas, 23 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lunch Boxes (Hardcover)
Quite a good book with lots of interesting ideas although some of the sandwiches could be a bit pricey and I wonder if young kids would really eat him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sandwiches anyone?, 8 Jan 2011
By 
Mina (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lunch Boxes (Paperback)
This book is a complete waste, it basically has sandwich filling ideas the chapters in it are as follows:

* About the author page 5
* Intro pg 8
* Health bit pg 10
* A weeks lunch plan and shopping list pg 15
* Sandwiches, wraps and rolls pg 19
* Snacks and dips pg 55
* Salads pg 71
* Stuff to make ahead pg 93
* Sweets and treats pg 107

I've included page numbers so that people can see how much of the book is devoted to sandwiches, there's only 2-3 ideas that I would actually use. If you can think of sandwich fillings yourself and want interesting ideas for your children lunches/meals then I would recommend Nicola Graimes The Top 100 Recipes For a Healthy Lunchbox: Easy and Exciting Ideas for Your Child's Lunches, which has ideas that the whole family can enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Lunch Boxes (Hardcover)
Great little book. Has saved my life more than once!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Lunch Boxes
Lunch Boxes by Jennifer Joyce (Hardcover - 25 Aug 2005)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews