Customer Reviews


63 Reviews
5 star:
 (31)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (17)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still the best
Cussler still retains his title "the grandmaster of adventure" with a truly inspirational story. The plot is diverse and puts Dirk Pitt's son into play. However, the feel is that this may well be his last sole written book, but don't let that put you off. This has to be one of the best books available today. Cussler is at the height of his game.
Published on 1 Dec 2004 by chrismcclure

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars crying shame
The worst thing that happened to Clive Cussler's universe was the awful decision to, magically and totally implausibly, discover that Dirk Pitt has kids - the son looking exactly like him so that Cussler can keep churning them out and hope that the people who grew up reading the adventures of the original Dirk and Al don't mind. The quality really stopped around "Sahara"...
Published on 8 Jun 2006 by John Lindsay


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars crying shame, 8 Jun 2006
By 
John Lindsay (Stuttgart Deutschland) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Black Wind : (Paperback)
The worst thing that happened to Clive Cussler's universe was the awful decision to, magically and totally implausibly, discover that Dirk Pitt has kids - the son looking exactly like him so that Cussler can keep churning them out and hope that the people who grew up reading the adventures of the original Dirk and Al don't mind. The quality really stopped around "Sahara" for me. As most fans, I bought this book looking forward to another Dirk Pitt novel, but by page 45, having realised that the carbon-copy-son was the star I was already getting bored.

Dear Mr Cussler, instead of the identikit kid (with none of the charm) why not go back to the younger days of Dirk ? A bit of re-inventing did wonders for the Batman mythology. I'm sure that your fans would welcome older stories that you could fit in among the earlier timelines. You have a large market for your stories. It would be a real shame to continue with your current direction. Tom Clancy has had immense success, but also has opted to choose the son-following-in-Dad's-footsteps approach to his Jack Ryan series. This is a lazy approach - almost as bad as an ending where "it was all a dream". I've been with you for the last 20 years and to carelessly disgregard well-loved characters is disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An Author's Conceit, 12 Mar 2010
By 
J Grainger - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Black Wind : (Paperback)
I'm sure die-hard Cussler fans will enjoy this latest 'rip-roaring thriller'. However, when you see a thriller has over 600 pages you know you're going to get pages of minute detail of places, actions and background that is totally unnecessary to the plot and nothing more than padding. I found myself skim reading large chunks just to get to the next part which moves the plot forward. The one-star, though is mainly based on the author's utter conceit in putting himself into the plot, rescuing Dirk and Summer from Kang's clutches. 'The Ego Has Landed" it seems.

Right to the end he attempts to drag out the suspense by suggesting the US still think the Japanese may be behind the plot when, in reality, Kang's North Korean connections were exposed chapters before. Unless, of course, Dirk didn't advise the authorities immediately he was rescued??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Its a record !!, 10 April 2011
By 
Archie Coulter (Altrincham, Cheshire, United Kingdom.) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Black Wind : (Paperback)
Well thats the longest I have persevered with a book to give up because it was just too far fetched with characters that were just too large super heros. I gave up at page 429 out of a 676. People would say 'Oh come on its escapism at the end of the day' Well it took up to page 429 to realise it was just drivel....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Give it a miss, 12 April 2011
This review is from: Black Wind : (Paperback)
In this book Dirk Pitts kids the heros escape certain death many times. One of these times they managed to cut through steel shackles as the tide was rising with... A nail file! I think Mr.Cussler really is taking the Mickey here. His portayal of the Japanese crane driver in Yokohama may seem OK if you know nothing of Japanese dockers and the docks in Yokohama. However I have been running to those docks for 30 years on ships so found his characters ridiculous. Finally he talks about the hijackers having AK 74s. Shouldnt it be AK47 !
Give this book a miss there are much better books out there to read.

Shadow on the Moon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Back to the drawing board I think!!, 30 April 2006
By 
N. Andrews (Welling Kent) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Wind : (Paperback)
I have been a fan of Clive Cussler for as long as I can remember, and always looked forward to the pulication of his latest offering. But recently since he has started to collaborate with other lesser known authors the style and and identity of Clive Cussler's books has taken a nose dive. You could always rely on once a year Dirk Pitt arriving on the shelves and delivering a well written, thriller that you would finish and have enjoyed.

This latest book I did not even finish thus was the poor quality of the writing and the plot. They all seem to do it, Ludlum, Clancy, Patterson, sell out their place as an individual in the market and go with this new trend that publishers love, 2 or 3 books a year that will sell because of the top billing of a bestselling writer.

I have found that the NUMA files featuring Kurt Austin feel as though they are crashed out to fill a summer or Christmas demand and it seems as though Dirk Pitt is going the same way.

And The Oregon Files just fail to deliver.

Lets come up with even more mind numbingly stupid stories, throw in a touch of Bond, mix in the normal suspects of villans and babes and here you have a by the numbers mediocre thriller. Big fat cheque from the publishers and back to the lap top to compile another rip-off for the public.

They have all become comic book in there style and sadly I shall buy no more. Aviod this poor excuse of a thriller at all costs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not by Clive, not about Dirk..., 29 Jan 2006
This review is from: Black Wind : (Paperback)
Well, the title of my review says it all really.
In my view, the reputation of Clive Cussler has been badly damaged. This is not written by Clive Cussler, but by his son Dirk Cussler. It is not about Dirk Pitt, even though it is marked "A Dirk Pitt novel", it is about Dirk's son Dirk Pitt Junior. Yes, Dirk Pitt (Senior??) does feature but, not as the main character. The book is badly written and I didn't finish reading it.
This is a crafty trick to play on your fans Clive; shame on you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Last straw, 26 Oct 2007
By 
Ken Fowler (Leeds uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Wind : (Paperback)
I used to like this author and always waited for and bought the next title as soon as it came out in paperback in the dirk pitt series. However thay are becoming repetitive, more unbelievable(if that is possible), and I struggled to finish this one. I decided there and then not to consider buying another and so far have ignored further books by this author
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars black wind, 9 Jun 2014
The book is far too long . There is page after page of spurious detail which neither entertains nor educates. The grammar and syntax are very shaky and vocabulary is frequently used incorrectly . I also stopped reading before the end and the relief was immeasurable .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Black, maybe - Wind, yes, 13 Mar 2012
By 
J. G. Lynch "chicmurray" (Edinburgh) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Wind : (Paperback)
This book was brought in to me by a well-meaning friend while I was in hospital. It is the first of Cussler`s titles that I have read, and it will be the last. Badly crafted, wooden dialogue, absurd characters, far too long, showy technical stuff - absolute rubbish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars a minor disappointment, 1 Sep 2009
By 
Lassi Kokko - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Black Wind : (Paperback)
Too long book. I dont really like adventures of dirk jr. and summer as much as i like adventures of dirk sr and giordino.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Black Wind (Numa Files)
Black Wind (Numa Files) by Dirk Cussler (Hardcover - 27 Nov 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews