Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An easily accessible guidebook
The book is a very light read and the spacious layout resembles a cookbook more than a book on real estate. Short hints are presented mixed with plenty of (irrelevant) pictures - half of them showing Allsopp and Spencer.
The strength of the book is that it has collected *all* the fundamentals in an easily accessible format. It is definitely not for the more...
Published on 15 Feb. 2006

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Best leave this book on your coffee table
If you like the idea of buying a house and want to have a colourful and attractive book to let your friends know that you are 'thinking of buying a house' then this is a must. If you are a first time buyer and serious about buying a house, then don't bother.

It's mostly style over substance filled with nice photos and a really annoying magazine-style layout...
Published on 8 Oct. 2006 by Q. PHAN


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Large text and a lot of photos of Kirstie and Phil!, 9 Sept. 2004
By 
Jon Clayton "Jon Clayton" (Marlow, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Buy a House (Paperback)
I bought this book through Amazon, without having seen it in a book store. It's got some very useful information in it and a few worked examples, some of which would have saved us over £750 in survey costs if we'd read it before attempting to buy a house. I think it could have more examples and a bit more detail, however, instead of all the photos of Kirstie and Phil padding out the pages. The 208 pages could easily have been condensed into about 50.
Still, if you're buying a house, £10 is insignificant and could save you a lot of time and money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome, 21 Mar. 2013
By 
Agnieszka Creed (Reading, Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Buy a House (Paperback)
simple but informative, makes reading fun as it is written exactly the way they speak in tv programs, i love it, exactly the info you need, absolutely recommend to everyone who wants to buy a house - a must have
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth it!, 10 May 2010
This review is from: How to Buy a House (Paperback)
I have spent a fair bit of money on trying to educate myself on property investing. This book has given me a clear idea as to what I need to do before I buy a property. So if you are a first time buyer, get this book. It makes so much sense and is very logical. I should have purchased this book before I invested in learning about property investing. I couldn't recommend it more + it's very relevant to the UK market.

On a side note, we could have seen less photos and a little more about perhaps questions one should ask during/after conveyancing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Buy a House (Paperback)
Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Only for the stupid, 19 April 2006
This review is from: How to Buy a House (Paperback)
This book provides very little relevant or useful information and will benefit only those with absolutely no idea about buying a property.

Its biggest failing is that no consideration is given to the state of the property market and risk, particularly to first time buyers, of committing to a purchase when the market is in decline.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars I've heard it all before, 8 Sept. 2004
This review is from: How to Buy a House (Paperback)
Back in 1988 I bought a 1-bed house for 50K. Five years later I managed to sell it for 38K. Buying at the peak isnt a good idea.
You don't need this book in order to buy a house - If you can't find out foryourself (for free) from speaking to friends, estate agents, mortgage companies etc - then I am afraid that you dont have the gumption to know what to do with a house if you manage to buy it!
Before you tie yourself up with a mortgage or the next 25 years - don't you think it might be a good idea to find out if the house
market is about to fall (or not so much fall as plummet!).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Only half the solution, 24 Jun. 2006
This review is from: How to Buy a House (Paperback)
This book has common sense advice on buying a property. A good read for the first time buyer, plus it has lots of pictures of Kirsty's flat! Only criticism is that it doesn't cover selling a house - I know it's not in the title, but unless you are a first time buyer, you have a property to sell as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Full of bad advice, 2 Dec. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: How to Buy a House (Paperback)
A book that has come to market with amazingly bad timing. Many of the recommendations in this book could have dire consequences on your finances over the next ten years. A house is a big thing to buy, and the advice to get on the ladder at all costs is terrible advice given current market conditions.... Do not buy this book, try 'Understanding Asset Bubbles' instead... then you'll know why this book should be sold for 50p as a door stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Buy a House
How to Buy a House by Kirstie Allsopp (Paperback - 9 Sept. 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews