Customer Reviews


55 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Don't miss the 'point' of this book
The key to successful marketing is not following someone else's step by step guide on how to be successful as everybody is doing the same. What this book does is inspire you to think about your own ideas on how you and your business can be remarkable.

People who think that you shouldn't buy this book because there is nothing new about it are wrong. They are...
Published on 10 Mar 2010 by Lee Woodford

versus
239 of 254 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Brief Essay Stretched into a Short Book
Purple Cow is probably the most overrated business book published in 2003.
Let me save you money and time. Read the summary below rather than buying and reading this book:
Marketing should begin with a differentiated product or service that gets attention (like a purple cow does among a field of brown ones). Be sure that those who care deeply about that...
Published on 4 Jun 2004 by Donald Mitchell


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best reads ever, 7 April 2008
By 
Mrs. A. K. Rix "Kim Rix" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This book is without a doubt, one of the most inspiring and motivating I have ever had the pleasure of reading. Very straight-forward, very clever and very thought-provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ... with another marketing book that’s packed full of enough good advice to blow your mind – here, 6 Aug 2014
By 
Seth Godin is back again with another marketing book that’s packed full of enough good advice to blow your mind – here, he expands upon the idea that the old ways of marketing are dead and that the only way that your product or service will be noticed is if you stop advertising and start innovating instead.

That’s where the title comes from – it’s difficult to sell a cow with advertising, because at the end of the day, a cow is a cow and we’re all pretty bored of them by now. A purple cow, though – now wouldn’t that be something worth seeing, worth talking about to your friends?

This book, then, is essentially a manual to help you to discover your purple cow. Enjoy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seth Godin at its best, 22 Jan 2010
By 
Miquel (Barcelona, Catalonia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Thanks to this book I discovered the work of Seth Godin and since then I have been reading many other of its books, but I still have The Purple Cow as one of its best. What he says sounds obvious once you have read it but it is rare to find an author that can deliver useful and valuable ideas in such a clear, sharp and funny way. Anyone in the marketing function or starting its own business should read it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good quality - looking forward to reading it, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The product arrived on time - and it's really good quality, would buy the same product from the same people again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Purple Cow is a remarkable book!, 15 Oct 2010
By 
FamilyDefender (Geneva,Switzerland) - See all my reviews
Seth Godin is extremely talented and this book has been life-changing for me. I strongly recommend it - it will change your thinking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Marketing at the edges, 5 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Seth Godin simply written book hails the death of the TV advert and give real insight why companies need to look for niches and look for groups to spread their story.

Great book with some great insights.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Christmas gift for a business acquaintance, 14 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
A request from him for Christmas - not hasn't finished as yet but is thoroughly engrossed in it. Settled down Christmas afternoon with his nose in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent content well presented on 3 CD's, 26 Jun 2014
By 
Mr. S. Loofe (U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
An enjoying audio presentation which I am listening to in my car. Lots of tips and keeps my attention.
Has a similar feel to 'The Tipping Point'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 13 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Abysmal - what a waste of my money!, 30 July 2009
By 
Beansmummy (Oxfordshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read this as advised by the business advisor we employed to help generate more sales in our small business. What a waste of time and money. It tells you absolutely nothing beyond basic common sense. Clearly the man does have a good business brain; he wrote this twaddle and is selling it at vast profit to himself. There are so many other GOOD books out there; give this a wide berth. Or, if you must read it, at least get it from a library and don't spend money on it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 14 5 6 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Purple Cow: Transform Your Business by Being Remarkable
Purple Cow: Transform Your Business by Being Remarkable by Seth Godin (Hardcover - 12 Jan 2004)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews