Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (40)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite!
This is a truly wonderful cookbook - my book of the year so far. Claudia Roden writes beautifully and there is not a recipe in this book that I don't want to cook. A book of three parts, Turkey, Lebanon and Morroco, the differences in these cuisines are quite marked even when using similar ingredients. There are some delicious tagine recipes along with pilafs and...
Published on 12 Mar 2006 by J. C. Hiskins

versus
13 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not enough pictures
This book is a bit of a disappointment. I love the idea of combining the cuisines of Morocco, Turkey, and Lebanon into one book but I have admit, it didn't live up to my expectations. Personally I find there aren't enough pictures. Often there's only a big picture of the main ingredient - total waste of space. I don't care how pretty the picture is, I know what a...
Published on 12 Sep 2011 by THVN


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 86 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exquisite!, 12 Mar 2006
By 
J. C. Hiskins (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Arabesque: A Taste of Morocco, Turkey and Lebanon (Hardcover)
This is a truly wonderful cookbook - my book of the year so far. Claudia Roden writes beautifully and there is not a recipe in this book that I don't want to cook. A book of three parts, Turkey, Lebanon and Morroco, the differences in these cuisines are quite marked even when using similar ingredients. There are some delicious tagine recipes along with pilafs and fish dishes and the desserts are sublime (try the Turkish yoghurt cake!), but for me the mezze recipes are a real standout. You can easilly make a full meal out of a handful of recipes from this great collection and I often do. The variety of the dishes and their stunning flavour is remarkable. I cannot say enough good things about Claudia Roden and this incredible book. If you enjoy cooking something a little out of the ordinary you won't regret buying this book for a second.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars takes me back to the old country, 13 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Arabesque: A Taste of Morocco, Turkey and Lebanon (Hardcover)
my mother is from lebanon and i originally bought this book for her, then ended up keeping it and buying a second copy, then two more for my sisters, and we all use them several times a week. this is perfect food for big families or gatherings where you have a lot of hungry mouths to satisfy, lovely big meals, luxurious and deeply flavoured, impressive looking but, secretly, rather easy to knock up.

i have cooked perhaps seventy or eighty percent of the recipes in here and haven't encountered a bad one yet. if you love italien food but haven't taken the plunge south yet this is the perfect starting place, and if you already love north african and middle eastern cuisine this will probably still throw up a couple of new gems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


105 of 112 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 17 Aug 2006
By 
Dogfael (Aberystwyth, Cymru) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Arabesque: A Taste of Morocco, Turkey and Lebanon (Hardcover)
I can't praise this book enough. Not only is it a delight to read and to hold but it also is a teasurehouse of practical recipes that work. This is the third book by Claudia Roden that I have read and it certainly maintains the standard set in the others. In this book she concentrates on the cooking of Moroco, Lebanon and Turkey giving plenty of background information about the place of food with the cultures of the different countries. The recipes themselves are easy to follow, and produce what they say they will. Excellent, just what a perfect cookery book should be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 66 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Middle-Eastern Feast..., 12 Feb 2006
This review is from: Arabesque: A Taste of Morocco, Turkey and Lebanon (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful book, and I will definitely be cooking from it.
It is divided into 3 sections - Morocco, Turkey and Lebanon, with chapters within each sections - Introduction, Starters & Mezze, Main Courses and Desserts. The introduction to each section is very thorough and tells about the traditions and cultures in each country.

It has many chicken recipes (yay!) - Roast chicken with pine nut and raisin pilaf, chicken with fresh figs and walnuts sounds good to me, and many vegetable recipes and side-dishes - little puff-pastry cheese pies, beetroot with yoghurt, tagines etc. Of course there are dishes we know already - fattoush, hoummus and such, but many of them in a new style.
I don't think I'll regret having bought this book. If you want a book about Middle-Eastern cuisine, you will love this one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars love food? love this book!, 4 Oct 2006
By 
D. Owen (cheshire england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Arabesque: A Taste of Morocco, Turkey and Lebanon (Hardcover)
Claudia Roden is a wonderful writer of food. She envokes the fragrances, tastes and cultures of the recipes she tells you about. Each recipe is easy to cook and every dish i've tried has come out beautiful. This is not only a cookery book, its a travel book aswell! As I cooked, the aroma of the food just took me to a places i've never been. I'd highly recommend this book and couldnt praise it any higher.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good guide to authentic turkish cooking..., 25 Nov 2006
This review is from: Arabesque: A Taste of Morocco, Turkey and Lebanon (Hardcover)
To address the comments of the misinformed "REAL WORLD COOK" - Of the two examples mentioned, sumac is an everyday ingredient in Turkish cooking, typically used in salads. And "gum mastic" ice cream is again a very popular desert and such "sakizli" (gum-based) ice creams are a norm. Further rose water has many every day applications in turkish cooking, and rose ice cream is a perfectly common widespread flavour. These are versatile ingredients found in the cupboards and spice racks of all Turkish homes much as you might find rosemary and thyme in yours. A commendable effort and highly recommended book reflecting authentic Turkish cooking. I can only assume the same can be said of the Morrocan and Lebanese sections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Book, 27 July 2008
This review is from: Arabesque: A Taste of Morocco, Turkey and Lebanon (Hardcover)
Arabesque is written in similar vein to The Book of Jewish Food. There is, again, a lot of socioligical and historical context and the recipes are utterly realiable. The layout is lovely, and the book well indexed. Faultless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great practical book, 20 May 2009
This review is from: Arabesque: A Taste of Morocco, Turkey and Lebanon (Hardcover)
The recipies are really reliable and her instructions are clear and usable . Its become the book I use most often and almost all of the ingredients are available from larger supermarkets as well as specilist food stores . I cant reccomend it too highly to anyone who enjoys cooking !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Divine!, 30 July 2008
By 
M. Agius (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Arabesque: A Taste of Morocco, Turkey and Lebanon (Hardcover)
A fantastic book, a well worn favourite for this style of cooking, the fact she suggests using recipes as inspiration and not to be afraid of changing something, I found to be a lovely touch.

Everything I have made so far have been massive hits with my family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book ... you will not fail to impress!, 9 Nov 2008
This review is from: Arabesque: A Taste of Morocco, Turkey and Lebanon (Hardcover)
I have tried my first three recipes for a dinner party of 10. The couscous with lamb, raisins and caramelised onions, the Zaalouk (aubergine and tomatoo salad) and the chickpea and bulgur salad. The result was fantastic. ALL guests had seconds of ALL dishes!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Arabesque: A Taste of Morocco, Turkey and Lebanon
Arabesque: A Taste of Morocco, Turkey and Lebanon by Claudia Roden (Hardcover - 27 Oct 2005)
£24.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews