Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A level of genius rarely seen
Framley is a place you know you might have driven through - and been slightly relieved not to have stopped. Genteel yet subsersive, decent yet demented, the cluster of villages combed by the Framley Examiner throws up some superb character observations and brilliantly written journalise by the frustrated tabloid wannabe cub reporters that grace the pages. Although the...
Published on 31 Oct. 2003 by Peter Crane

versus
3 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Best in small doses
There are some genuinely funny moments in this collection, but the overall feeling I had was that the further I read through the spoof articles and advertisments, the more I had seen it all before.
The humour is pretty one-dimensional, and did get repeteitve, but as a book to open at random and dive in for a few minutes, most people will find something to make them...
Published on 2 Sept. 2005 by M Howard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A level of genius rarely seen, 31 Oct. 2003
By 
Peter Crane (Wolverhampton) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The "Framley Examiner" (Paperback)
Framley is a place you know you might have driven through - and been slightly relieved not to have stopped. Genteel yet subsersive, decent yet demented, the cluster of villages combed by the Framley Examiner throws up some superb character observations and brilliantly written journalise by the frustrated tabloid wannabe cub reporters that grace the pages. Although the newer pages are not quite as sharp as earlier releases (Please let's not go near the old Punch cliche!) the whole concept behind the Framley Examiner insults everyone who lives in small market towns and villages, along with a pointed two-fingers at local news, and yet hurts no-one in the process. Think of League of Gentleman, think of Viz at its very best and you are getting close to this book, but you will still be surprised at just how good cutting-edge humour is at the moment. It's a delicious schoolboy prank the likes of which is rarely experienced. Buy it, read slowwwwwly, and prepare to giggle like the teenager you really are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars blimey this is funny, 15 Jun. 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The "Framley Examiner" (Paperback)
it's not just mr hollyhock. it's vince, the dodgy dealer, and the 'turn your memories into crisps' company, and the teletubby immigrants, and framley zabadak, and 'lesbians demand footbridge,' and the annual race against time, and the school orchestra being so loud the trumpeter's ears bleed, and the kitten in a bottle stall at the fete...
this is a skyscraper of towering nonsense, and endangeringly good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you don't find this funny..., 14 Nov. 2002
By 
Marcus Pailing (Bartlesnipe's Revenge) (Nottingham, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The "Framley Examiner" (Paperback)
I was introduced to the online version of the Framley Examiner a few months ago and I was hooked immediately. The humour might not be everyone's cup of tea, but it has had me giggling ever since. It is a superb skit on the parochial nature of local newspapers - although if you were to read my parents' parish magazine you might be gulled into thinking the Framley Examiner isn't a spoof at all!
Look out especially for the classified ads from Mr Hollyhock - a work of genius...
I strongly suggest you buy it (and read it, obviously).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for a giggle, 21 Dec. 2002
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The "Framley Examiner" (Paperback)
The Framley Examiner provides a surreally satirical glance at the phenomena of ultra dull local newspapers in places where nothing ever happens. At times it can hit moments of genious a la The Day Today, or Brasseye, yet at times can get a bit too repetitive in its manner if you read more than few pages at a time. The classified ads and the personal columns are particularly strong points.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Review Title (Titular (Tits)), 21 Feb. 2011
This review is from: The "Framley Examiner" (Paperback)
The first thing I noticed was that unlike a regular newspaper, the paper used in this publication is not an acceptable substitute for toilet paper.
There are words and pictures, much like any periodical. There are also numbers and punctuation. Well done the editors.
Some of it is in colour, some in black and white, some is in shades of grey, but as most schoolchildren know, that is made up of black and white together.
The blue stripes on the front cover make you look inbetween the blue stripes on the front cover, conjuring up all people's phobia of coming into physical contact with the horizon whilst drifting alone at sea on a dirigible, leaving them floundering in the midst of the main illustration, desperately grasping for a simple, recognisable point of commonality to instill a sense of calmness and stability in an otherwise turbulent and, ultimately savage, universe.
Most of it is funny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For Sale - Book. Pages. Words. Pictures. Hilarious., 4 Mar. 2004
This review is from: The "Framley Examiner" (Paperback)
I received this splendid item for Christmas in 2003, and it really made me laugh. A lot. Then I put it away and forgot about it. I found it again just before Christmas in 2004, so wrapped it up and gave it myself as a present. Imagine my surprise when I opened it on Christmas morning the second time! And it made me laugh, a lot, AGAIN.
It's a well observed mickey-take of local newspapers. The property pages are in my opinion the best: "For Sale - Itchy, Hot, Cramped 2-bed semi. Stinks of flannel. Too close to local amenities. Will swap for bag of crisps". And the news stories are also particularly entertaining. With headlines like: "Bus Lane confused with bus lane", "Ireland turning into cloud" and "FLUFF MISERY" you can't go far wrong.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars laugh - I nearly wet myself, 9 Aug. 2003
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The "Framley Examiner" (Paperback)
Very mixed send up of local newspapers, with local gossip reported as news, garbled small ads and inadvertently exposed prejudice. It reminds me of a variety of journals, more than it should. Should be a copy in every waiting room in the country!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars CRINGEY NEAR TO THE KNUCKLE SPOOF - BUT VERY FUNNY, 27 Feb. 2012
By 
DOPPLEGANGER (TEDDY B) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The "Framley Examiner" (Paperback)
It would be difficult to produce a book that contains a greater selection of 'off-the-wall' humour than "The Framley Examiner". It is jam packed with a vast miscellany of 'toe curling' cringe inducing spoof articles, small-ads, commercial advertising, photographs, and other small town local newspaper news, announcements, local politics. There is hardly an aspect of local goings on that escapes the sharp-eyed, acerbic pen of the 'Framley Examiner' reporters, and contributors.

We all live or have lived in a community which has a local newspaper, which when it drops on our doormat each Thursday morning is usually greeted with excited but unrealistic anticipation that this weeks edition will at last contain something interesting only to be bitterly disappointed yet again. The Framley Examiner will not disappoint! Every item will bring a wry smile, if not an outright guffaw. As a taster of the humour, there is an item about an unpleasant incident when a gust of wind badly injured a group of Boy Scouts by blowing on to them the giant cheque they were proudly displaying showing the amount of money they had raised for a local charity. The paper was offering a free photograph of the incident to all readers who sent in a SAE envelope marked "Dead Scouts"!

It is not for the faint of heart, easily offended, or those leading a sheltered life. It is so crammed with different items and takes on local news and events that it is better read in small doses otherwise you might well be submerged under the sheer avalanche of satire on offer. It is an ideal tome to grace the portals of the smallest place of convenience in the house where a good amusing read will often help with your strain!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The title of a review of the book of the website of the newspaper, 20 Dec. 2011
By 
Mr. Stuart Bruce "DonQuibeats" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The "Framley Examiner" (Paperback)
The first "Framley Examiner" book is packed absolutely full of insanity. What at first might appear to be just a surreal piss-take of local newspapers gradually unfolds into a whole world of inspired lunacy, running gags and rampant weirdness. Best read in small doses, because reading it all in one go will hurt you, it's a brilliant book to just dip into randomly, whenever, and laugh. Very, very good.

Unlike other books like Daily Mash spin-offs, "Framley Examiner" is also timeless- because nonsense doesn't become un-nonsense with age (only with alcohol).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars "Win a lifetime's supply of spiders!", 9 July 2007
This review is from: The "Framley Examiner" (Paperback)
Absolutely hilarious, almost dangerously so. Reading this with friends, we were almost breathless with laughter and unable to read any further for the tears in our eyes. An absolutely brilliant spoof on local newspapers, its attention to detail exceeds even The Brand New Monty Python Bok and The Goodies File. Self-serving Framley mayor William d'Ainty (who OK'ed the building of a tube line from his front door to the golf course) is the product of comic genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The "Framley Examiner"
The "Framley Examiner" by The editors (Paperback - 7 Nov. 2002)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews