Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
81
4.2 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 September 2002
And so it's here, the long awaited autobiography of English (and Irish) soccer's Mr Bad Guy. It's likely if you're a mad Man United fan you'll probably lap this up and see it as some sort of vindication that, given the continuing controversy surrounding Keane on the Premiership and the World Cup stages, Keane has done nothing wrong and has been misunderstood and misrepresented. At least that's what he attempts to state here and, with ghost writer Eamon Dunphy obviously goading him on to be as controversial as possible, Keane emerges as someone who is more convinced by his own press than the rest of us. We're expected to go along with his justification of some outrageous on the pitch behaviour because that's just Keane and even if he does go out of his way to end the odd player's career, sure isn't that just his way? Shouldn't everybody understand that you don't rub him the wrong way or there's bound to be consequences?
So the predictable targets are lined up, muppets all (or so Keane believes): Charlton, McCarthy, Dalgliesh, etc, etc. Brian Clough emerges with some respect and this book will confirm once and for all that Ferguson is nothing short of Christ reincarnated because his man Keane has nothing bad to say about him.
All of this vitriol certainly makes for an easy read, as does the writing style which is pitched somewhere between a children's picture book and Roy of the Rovers. But Keane, in my view, emerges as even more self-centred, inexplicably disrespectful to all and sundry, and arrogant beyond belief.
And, one last point: if you're interested in what he has to say about Ireland and the World Cup controversy, it's already been printed in the tabloids. This section of the book feels like an add-on, quickly written and poorly edited, and padded out with a reproduction of Keane's interview with The Irish Times' Tom Humphries. We all know that Mick McCarthy wasn't exactly blameless in the whole Saipan affair but you'd better reading Paul Howard's much more enlightening and entertaining book, "The Gaffers", for an unbiased account of that episode and leave this average rant for the die hard Man United / Roy Keane / Alex Ferguson nuts!
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2002
I bought this book for two reasons, 1. Because I am a big Roy Keane and Manchester United fan. 2.As its been the cause of conterversy and big news stories. But I was somewhat disapointed. The most juicy bits of the book have already been serialised in the newspapers therefore there is no shock value left, Without this shock value this is no more than a standard footballers autobiography thats been done a thousand times before. It has little interesting to offer apart from Keane using the book to air his views on everyone he dislikes. I would recommend it to anyone who is a fan of football and Roy Keane or to those who havent read the newspapers or watched the news for the past month and a half. But I cant see it being to anybody elses taste. Not awfull just disapointing after all the hype.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2009
the above book arrived in very good condition for a used book. The book itself is both well written and a very compelling read. It is good for both avid football fans and for people like myself who are interested in reading good autobigraphies.
Roy Keane gives a brutely honest opinion on several football issues with a light humoured touch in places. Well worth a read
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2006
Best footballers book i have read. He says the brutal true and it is ace couldn't put it down nearly cost me my degree hehe. And i ain't even a Man utd Fan
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 September 2011
whatever your memories of roy keane nobody can say that he wasn't one of the best, if not the best midfielder to grace the premiership. he wasn't full of flair or much of a goalscorer, however he was a leader of the pack, as tough as nails and easily resonsible for man utd winning the treble in 1999...

to say that he was complex is an understatement. he was truly psychotic - destroying alfe inge haalands career because a comment made a few years before. threw his toys from the pram and came accross like a spoilt brat bullying players, referees, managers, fans, etc. - and ultimately a pathetic idiot for leaving ireland in the lurch in the 2002 world cup.

The book itself is very enjoyable because he holds no punches, slags off everyone and goes into detail about his pet hates and what it feels like to win. complete headbanger...
33 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2014
Fantastic read. Allows you to get to know many different sides to Keano. The book is honest and genuine...cant wait for his next book which comes out soon!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2014
Keane's book reads the way he played, fast, furious, uncompromising. His language paints the highs and lows with the same frank, matter-of-fact commitment he has to everything he says, does, and expects of others. The most fierce footballer in world has ever seen with the most hard-boiled autobiography around.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2013
This soporific drivel was ghosted by Eamon Dunphy a world star for the ROI in his playing days (NOT!!). Dunphy has since been a less-than-mediocre sports' journalist with a chip on each shoulder who had a run-in once with Jack Charlton who exposed ED as the whinging malicious microbe he is. Journalist or not, ED is slightly more literate than Keane. Mildly interesting in the early stages of RK's career it is self-congratulatory in the latter stages (tediously, Keane insists on telling the reader about EVERY bloody goal he ever scored). What resonates out of the book [I accept that he was world-class midfielder] is the fact that Keane is simply a thug - he shamelessly admits his vendetta (and ultimate execution of it) with Alfie Haaland.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 December 2010
I had always wanted to read this book due to the controversy surrounding it when it was released and I found it a great read. To have been managed by two of the greatest managers in England, you would think Keane would have a great football philosophy and he does, talking about when he was 19 and eating kebabs to winning the treble with Man united.
He went through the transition phase of English football when footballers went from binge drinkers to pro athletes and his view on that is very interesting. Keane also opens a few doors on some of his old teammates and in particular Eric Cantona who my opinion has changed of him since I read this book. A must read for any football fan
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Although this is an autobiography, this is also an exploration into what has made Roy Keane the player he is today.
Sadly one or two things have overshadowed the book but it does make for an interesting read, certainly the views on the Irish international side were thought provoking.
Keane has an immense talent and this leads us through his life and explains how he moved through a drink culture to being one of the top midfielders in the world.
Although shorter then I expected and much had already been put in the press, this is quite good insight into the player.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.85

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)