Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (43)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


44 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Happy days over the stove
The latest Jamie Oliver collection is as much a culinary pleasure as ever. The book production is stylish and feels more mature than the first volume (can't comment on the second) : out with the annoying illegible pastel blue titles that were difficult to read, and in with more tasty, unpretentious recipes using ingredients that are supposedly all available at a...
Published on 8 Nov. 2001

versus
24 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not nearly as good as the first two!
If you are about to buy your first Jamie Oliver book I would recommend one of his first two rather than this. Many of the recipes are similar to previous ones (but not as good), and if like me, you don't eat meat (but do eat fish) there isn't a great selection as nearly everything is wrapped in proscuito! If you just want to drool over Jamie however, it's a good book...
Published on 10 Sept. 2001


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars He clearly doesn't have any more than two books in him, 21 Dec. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Happy Days with the Naked Chef (Hardcover)
The first two books contained numerous fantastic recipes, the third is a big disappointment in comparison. A number of the recipes appear to be heavily 'derived' from other well know food writers / chefs such as Nigella and Nigel Slater.
There are the odd gems in here, some of the salads for example but fish finger butties?? I think it's time for him and 'the lovely Jules' to retire and buy that pub in Essex.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Bit disappointing!, 28 Sept. 2001
This review is from: Happy Days with the Naked Chef (Hardcover)
Having been totally delighted with the recepies in Naked Chef & Return of the Naked Chef I eagerly awaited the latest addition to my collection but, after trying out several of the recepies I felt this one was not up to scratch. Jamie's 'favourite curry sauce' was to say the least, a bit bland. The chilli wass nothing spectacular and the banana bread was far from the easiest thing I've ever made. I will persevere but, I'm afraid, Jamie, you loose a lot of street cred with me on this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 6 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happy Days with the Naked Chef (Hardcover)
all fine thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Good cook book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 80 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars OK if you've only just learnt how to boil an egg, 18 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Happy Days with the Naked Chef (Hardcover)
Each to their own I suppose but I'm afraid that recipes for such creative masterpieces as Toad in the Hole; Fish Finger Buttie; Steak Sarnie; and Sticky Sausage Bap, aren't exactly pushing the envelope of culinary excellence. I was rather surprised not to find a recipe Beans on Toast with Pukka Cheddar.
Three words: EMPEROR'S......NEW.....CLOTHES
Okay for people just starting out in the kitchen but very limiting for anyone else.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 8 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happy Days with the Naked Chef (Hardcover)
As described
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pukka moves on into greater things, 10 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Happy Days with the Naked Chef (Hardcover)
A colourful,lively mix of mouthwatering recipes even I might try and cook!!!! One for those of us who think ..um...well it looks great but could I do that? Yes you could ,even I could....!! The photos are wonderful, the instructions are,as ever, straightforward and Jamie is as gorgeous and enthuthiastic as ever! If you've never been tempted to buy a cookery book before....buy this and it might just get you hooked!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 24 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Happy Days with the Naked Chef (Hardcover)
like the easy recipe. good purchase and excellent value for money. like jamie oliver's books waiting for the america's book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars panopoly of pancetta, 23 July 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Happy Days with the Naked Chef (Hardcover)
as a lacto-ovo-pescadrian (i.e. I eat fish, eggs and dairy but no other meat) I was a bit taken aback by just how many recipes include pancetta. but then i found my dream recipe - seared tuna with ginger, chives and soy sauce - and his meat-eater's transgressions were forgiven. and, oliver had made a fresh herb eater of me (grow em, tear em up and toss em in, they can do no harm) and after the bliss of chicory and chives I can ask for no more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliantly entertaining., 7 Sept. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Happy Days with the Naked Chef (Hardcover)
Jamie makes eatting fishfinger sandwiches acceptable! Food that inspires you to enjoy making and consuming it. Recipies that give you alternatives and guidelines rather than you will use exact ammounts and do it this way rules. Cooking at it's best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 15 6 7 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Happy Days with the Naked Chef
Happy Days with the Naked Chef by Jamie Oliver (Hardcover - 3 Sept. 2001)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews