Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good solid, if unspectacular read. Better than most
A good solid, if unspectacular read. Better than most biographies of its type.
Richards discusses his early life in the Carribean, then moves on to talk about his test match encounters - particularly with England & Australia.
Other subjects covered includes sledging, his public speaking tours with Ian Botham, his controversial departure from Somerset, his...
Published on 5 Oct. 2001

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chopped up, lacking in detail
I was thinking that an autobiography on the life and times of Sir Viv Richards would be a fast paced affair detailing his triumphs as a test cricketer reliving all his great moments. However I was disapointed to find that the book did not even stick to a chronological order meaning that it became difficult to even assess the growing stature of the great mans career...
Published on 6 Mar. 2008 by Mr. M. Dodds


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good solid, if unspectacular read. Better than most, 5 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
A good solid, if unspectacular read. Better than most biographies of its type.
Richards discusses his early life in the Carribean, then moves on to talk about his test match encounters - particularly with England & Australia.
Other subjects covered includes sledging, his public speaking tours with Ian Botham, his controversial departure from Somerset, his time with Glamorgan, the approaches made to him to tour south Africa in the early 80s and the somewhat acrimonious end to his test career (I had no idea he wanted to tour Australia in 92/93!).
The section which most interested me though was the section on the Packer years. I only wish it had been more indepth. As Richards himself admits the cricket played as part of the Packer years was some of the toughest cricket ever played and the sense of challenge that Richards felt comes across loud and strong in the book.
What disappointed me a little was the lack on insight into some of his greatest innings. At no point does he attempt to discuss why he felt his test form dropped off (relatively speaking !!) during the 80s and 90s. That being said he does select what he thought was his best test innings and his decision will surprise you.
He does briefly discuss the eye problems that plagued him during the middle of his career. The cure make interesting reading as does his very frank and honest views on soft/hard drugs.
A good statistical section ends off the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting for fans but somewhat anectodal., 7 Nov. 2001
By A Customer
As a Somerset fan, this was a book I had to read and at nearly 400 pages, you certainly get your money's worth.
Viv Richards, as readers will know, was quite simply the greatest batsman that ever lived. However, I don't think this book quite matches his achievements as a cricketer. I noticed it was co-written by Bob Harris, which in my experience, generally means you're in store for a series of tolerably written anecdotes, but not a sequential diary of events. Although that may be fine for some, I find the jumping around every five minutes a little confusing, but more importantly, you begin to lose that sense of anticipation that is so important when reading a book.
For example, early on, before he'd described how he'd broken into the Test Match arena, he'd describe events and players in a future Test Match to illustrate a particular point.
Viv doesn't hold back his thoughts in this book. If someone or something has annoyed him, he lets it out.
Anyway, if you're a fan of cricket, then you must also be a fan of the man himself, and this book paints an interesting picture of his life.
One little gripe I have about most sports autobiographies, and this book unfortunately is no exception, is that they rarely convey how magical it must feel to be playing for your country, or even your local county side. Maybe when you're the greatest player in the world, it isn't all that special, but all the same, I would have liked to have seen that described in this book.
That, however is a small gripe; the book is a good one, its certainly worth the money, and as he was one of my biggest childhood heros, gets 4 stars from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Chopped up, lacking in detail, 6 Mar. 2008
By 
Mr. M. Dodds "CL_Review" (Banbridge, NI, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Sir Vivian: The Definitive Autobiography (Hardcover)
I was thinking that an autobiography on the life and times of Sir Viv Richards would be a fast paced affair detailing his triumphs as a test cricketer reliving all his great moments. However I was disapointed to find that the book did not even stick to a chronological order meaning that it became difficult to even assess the growing stature of the great mans career. Even at this the detail on the matches themselves are light in detail and I afraid to say very rarely took me to that place in his cricketing life. The book ends with a manifesto from Sir Viv on how he would change West Indies Cricket for the better. While it is clear that Viv is a very passionate and devoted person both to Cricket and his country, Antigua, I also got the sense that it was all slightly unnecessary. While an interesting read for anyone with a genuine love and interest in Cricket I would doubt it's appeal outside this bracket
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THE MAN, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sir Vivian: The Definitive Autobiography (Hardcover)
A real gentleman, and a great account of his life, a book I could not put down and unlike lots of cricket books, not bogged down with endless stats, top marks Viv
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read, 14 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Must buy if you are his fan
Excellent read and funny too. The bit on Boycott and Thomson made me laugh so much
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great man, great read., 17 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Great story of a great, talented and charismatic sportsman. A must read for anyone into cricket!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sir Vivian: The Definitive Autobiography
Sir Vivian: The Definitive Autobiography by Bob Harris (Hardcover - 25 May 2000)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews