Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars31
4.4 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 December 2015
Fast efficient service. Great value on second hand books. Would definitely recommend. 5 star rating.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2011
Pros - tons of information and interesting content.
Cons - not scientific really, the facts are made to fit the theory as opposed to the theory being deduced from the facts - other options are never considered.

That said, it's feasible - I'm sure that old civilisations did exist 10 000+ years ago, complete with surprising levels of astronomy and other science. After all, most of the evidence would be under water now (especially as early settlers were coastal) and plenty of folklore/religion refers to ancient floods etc. And archeology is always a subset of what existed - as much will be undiscovered.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2000
An extremely intersting book which challenges the very foundations of established ancient history and of the evolution of ancient civilisations. The author's easily understood discriptions of the basic laws of the heavenly bodies assist in a greater appreciation of message which the author develops throughout the rest of the book. To get the most out of the book it should be read with a completely open mind about the evolution of ancient civilisations!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2014
Brilliant and informative. Another masterpiece from Hancock.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2016
A very interesting read with spectacular photography
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2000
Hancock deserves a great deal of credit for two things: breathing life into an unfashionable subject; and encouraging people to question convention. Sadly, as an earlier reviewer has pointed out, the facts outlined in this and in Fingerprints, don't stand up to the criticism (which Hancock, I notice, dismisses with vitriol) of understandably sceptical experts. I suppose that we should all be cheerful, as at least we need not be so certain that the world is going to end in the way that Hancock has hinted many times. This book is worth buying merely for seeing how one person can put the wind up your conventional scholars. Its even more fun when you see the flaws, and should come with a free copy of the (revised) BBC2 documentary. Fun it is, but History it ain't.
0Comment|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 November 2014
Book was just like brand new, very happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2015
Great book. Great quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 1998
Having read almost all of Graham Hancocks previous books, it's good to see his theories evolving from the interesting to the compelling. This book contains so much convincing information (and beautiful pictures to back it up), that it is hard not to believe that we have been wrong about the evolution of civilisation.
I found this book to be compulsive reading and would heartily recommend it to anyone (just don't approach it with a closed mind).
As and afterthought; might it be an idea if Mr. Hancock, and his colleagues in this school of thought, took time out from proving the existence of an ancient civilisation, and actually set about actually chronicling the actions, as laid out in the old myths and legends?
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 1999
I am amazed by the similiarities found in different parts of world.It is possible for a civilisation with well astronomical knowledge will be ahead in other fields like medicine,archiecture,and a good language system.The author has found out half the details of lost civilisation.I think it is one half of the coin. I learnt from my old texts saying the birthplace,language similaritiesand a civilisation travel around the world.It is the other half.If the two halfs are joined I think it is greatest discovery in the history of mankind.The author has done a excellent work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)