Customer Reviews


12 Reviews


3 star
0

2 star
0

1 star
0

 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A beautiful book, cottage gardens made easy, 11 Jan. 2001
By A Customer
Kathy Brown's unique style and presentation comes through once again. Once described as the Delia Smith of gardening , her approach of individual recipes for each scheme is very effective indeed. She lists the "ingredients" needed at the beginning of each scheme with required spacing, height and spread as well as when each plant will look its best. This equips the reader with a shopping list for the plants needed as well as providing a planting guide and overall picture all in one.Brilliant! The schemes are divided into plans for shade and sun as well as others like a scheme for an orchard, a pond and a wildflower meadow. There are designs for climbers and fruiting hedges as well as a vegetable patch and soft fruit area. Her choice of plants is always really good.They are usually interesting with a long period of interest and most important of all, easy to obtain. The illustrations are lovely and mellow, reflecting the charm of the good life. The last few pages are divided into headings for various groups of plants used in the book with further information on care and cultivation which is very helpful indeed. A must have book for all gardeners.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best Gardening Book, 18 May 2005
By 
This review is from: Create a Cottage Garden: Recipes for Borders, Beds and Containers (Hardcover)
I was shocked to find this here, unreviewed and without even an illustration of the cover. I must have 30+ gardening books on my shelves, but it's this one that I have returned to over and over again, in the ten years that I have owned it. The 50 recipies for different parts of the cottage garden, are really easy to follow and adapt, and come with full aftercare advice; but better still are the gorgeous watercolour illustrations. These 50 designs are followed by several container plan descriptions, which are photgraphed - it's a shame that they're not illustrated in the same way as the garden section plans, but the main section of the book deserves the 5 stars all on its own. An excellent, beautiful, gem of a book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars what a relief, 1 Aug. 2009
what a relief to find a decent book on creating a cottage garden. This was easy to follow and also great to go back to time and time again. Good for the beginner and the more experienced gardener. I could not recommend this book more highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FANTASTIC BOOK!, 27 April 2005
By A Customer
I bought this book about 10 years ago when I had my first house, and it helped me transform a wilderness into a much admired cottage garden. I'm now using the book again for my second house as the results first time round were so good. The plans are easy to follow, and the advice on aftercare particularly good. A must have book for anyone who loves cottage garden plants.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant Book!, 6 May 2010
An excellent book for any slightly confused newish gardeners like myself. There is a wealth of information out there on plants, design and situations suitable for various plantings, but it is difficult to co-ordinate such a lot of information, unless you are already a masterplantsman/woman.

This book solves the problem, by telling you what to use in recipe form. You cannot go wrong. Just chose the situation you are wanting to plant up, make your shopping list, and away you go.

The book goes further by giving clear instruction on caring for the plants and extends the period of interest in the plantings as much as possible. What more could you ask? It was just what I needed anyway...

Well illustrated with sweet watercolours of each main planting, then the container section has photo's.

Definately the 'Delia of gardening' tag is well deserved. Like any cookery recipe you can tweak the ingredients to suit your taste, i.e. change colours within the range of plants given, say a red tulip for yellow one of the same type and you should still come up trumps!

This is the easy way to a cottage garden, Kathleen Brown could do similar books featuring other popular planting styles based on this successsful formula, which I'm sure would be well received.

It seems to be fairly hard to find this book, but I'm glad I splashed out (more than usual) to buy it, sorry - it's not going to be for sale!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, 1 July 2005
This review is from: Create a Cottage Garden: Recipes for Borders, Beds and Containers (Hardcover)
I got this book out of the library several months ago, but had to return it because someone else wanted it. I've been looking for a copy ever since.
It's an excellent book for those of us who need a helping hand to plan our cottage gardens. Here, complete with beautiful illustrations, is the answer. Kathleen brown guides us bit by bit around the garden, encouraging us to deal with one small area at a time rather than expecting us to be able to do everything at once.
There are ideas on what to plant in front of a small wall, or round the door, or to cover a bare wall, etc etc.
A wonderful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Read, 29 Aug. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Create a Cottage Garden: Recipes for Borders, Beds and Containers (Hardcover)
It's an excellent book with beautiful illustrations to help you step by step in planning your cottage garden. It has some great ideas and encourages you take your time and deal with a small area at a time, creating your own personal unique cottage garden which will give you hours of pleasure. Definitely worth the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Useful book, 16 Dec. 2012
This book is very useful for what I need. It is very useful to pick and choose from each design and the list of plants is ideal. The only negative is the layout and the general presentation - it is very dated and could do with a makeover to make it much more attractive.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A book for any gardener., 19 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is just a wow! A must for a beginner or the more experienced. The bonus for me is that I didn't realise that it was signed by the author.
Many thanks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars create a cottage garden, 17 April 2013
By 
Jenny "Jenny" (Western Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Inspirational love the water colours and I wish Kathy could design my garden in Broughton Hampshire. This was the best book I have browsed for many years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Create a Cottage Garden: Recipes for Borders, Beds and Containers
Create a Cottage Garden: Recipes for Borders, Beds and Containers by Kathleen Brown (Hardcover - 7 Oct. 1993)
Used & New from: £22.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews