Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best teaching aid for culinary students
The Book of Ingredients has been a god send for my students. It is accurate in all details of foodstuffs, giving good quality pictures and details of where the items are from and what they may be used for. I am now on my third Book of Ingredients as the others have been so well used that they have had to be replaced.
I would recommend this book to anybody who is...
Published on 11 Nov 2001

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Great concept, picture quality poor
The book covers a wide and interesting array of ingredients, fish and meat being particularly good sections. However the book could do with being updated with more middle-eastern and far-eastern ingredients, and the picture quality is poor.
Published 11 months ago by M. D. Budd


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best teaching aid for culinary students, 11 Nov 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: The Book of Ingredients (Mermaid Books) (Paperback)
The Book of Ingredients has been a god send for my students. It is accurate in all details of foodstuffs, giving good quality pictures and details of where the items are from and what they may be used for. I am now on my third Book of Ingredients as the others have been so well used that they have had to be replaced.
I would recommend this book to anybody who is interested in cooking and to any prospective chef who needs to check up on various ingredients.
An excellent book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great source of info, 10 Sep 2003
By 
David Briggs (Swindon, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Book of Ingredients (Mermaid Books) (Paperback)
I have been searching for this book ever since i saw it at work. It is an absolute must for catering students and anyone who is serious about cooking. Easy to use and full of brilliant pictures. If you can't find what your looking for in this book then it shouldn't be in your kitchen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Illustration, 25 Jun 2014
This review is from: The Book of Ingredients (Mermaid Books) (Paperback)
Great book full of pictures, nearly every ingredient is shown, although its interesting to see how styles have changed over the years
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Great concept, picture quality poor, 28 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Ingredients (Mermaid Books) (Paperback)
The book covers a wide and interesting array of ingredients, fish and meat being particularly good sections. However the book could do with being updated with more middle-eastern and far-eastern ingredients, and the picture quality is poor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... lost a copy many years ago and am so glad I could get this one second-hand (with the added ..., 3 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Ingredients (Mermaid Books) (Paperback)
I lost a copy many years ago and am so glad I could get this one second-hand (with the added value of notes made by the previous owner).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 4 Nov 2014
By 
Cynthia Guest "telly addict" (yorkshire, england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Book of Ingredients (Mermaid Books) (Paperback)
very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Book of Ingredients (Mermaid Books)
The Book of Ingredients (Mermaid Books) by Philip Dowell (Paperback - 21 Mar 1988)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews