Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Then will there be no time of sorrow Then will there be no time for shame"
A hundred and fifty years hence what John Lennon could only imagine, Chip's society has realised. War has been beaten, hunger satiated. Borders have been crossed out. There is no more religion and the human race is now a family. And everyone is a member of it. Not only are they one, they're the same. Eugenics has proven to be the jewel in the crown of scientific...
Published 23 months ago by Oliveman

versus
4 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Terrible sci-fi thriller
Who'd have thought the author of the unputdownable Rosemary's Baby would next come up with such a turgid thriller as this?

Those mysteriously favourable reviewers, who seem to dominate this page at the moment, like to say this is Levin's Brave New World, or 1984 - it's not. It's not in the same universe. Levin does not have anywhere near the intellectual...
Published on 18 April 2012 by Charles


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Then will there be no time of sorrow Then will there be no time for shame", 29 Mar. 2013
By 
Oliveman (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Perfect Day (Paperback)
A hundred and fifty years hence what John Lennon could only imagine, Chip's society has realised. War has been beaten, hunger satiated. Borders have been crossed out. There is no more religion and the human race is now a family. And everyone is a member of it. Not only are they one, they're the same. Eugenics has proven to be the jewel in the crown of scientific advancement. Progress has achieved its apogee. Chip has as much Totalcake to eat as he cares for (even if there's only totalcake to eat). Vitamins are readily available. No one ever need feel ugly or unwanted as sex is compulsory and avoidance of it is seen as an illness. Chip doesn't even need to shave. His day has his TV viewing scheduled in to it. Even the rain only falls at night. All this under the benevolent gaze of a super computer-UniComp-who knows best and is there to gently guide humanity to its peaceful existence. An existence where a member's birth, life and death are all preordained along with all other points on that mortal trajectory. And yet Chip slowly begins to feel that surely living is more than existing and so begin his efforts to grow up. Discretion suggests that no more be said for risk of spoiling the book.

It is inevitable that any dystopian novel will be compared with Orwell's Nineteen eighty-four and Huxley's Brave New World. And while it's true Levin is not in the same class as these two as a writer, he is by far a better writer of thrillers. Consequently, This Perfect Day moves at a heady pace and is more action packed. However, where both Huxley and Orwell are trying to grapple with the issues of humanity and freedom in general and the society of their day in particular, Levin's work seems to be a pushing of his political views. Orwell uses his novel to develop his ideas of the nature of a totalitarian society with emphasis on what an English totalitarian state might look like. He also explores the effect on language that such a totalitarian state may have. For Huxley state control consists of what Neil Postman would later term amusing ourselves to death. Civilised humanity has disenfranchised itself for the sum of soma and games; political awareness swapped in favour of hedonism. Levin doesn't endeavour anything as subtle as them. For him freedom is all, or rather the free market is all and where the super computer's binary efficiency can be seen as a stand in for a command economy. Just as Huxley was satirising H. G. Wells it seems, at times, Levin is satirising the pristine vision of SF writers of the forties and fifties where we'd all be as one with the appliance of science. And he does have a point- those SF writers did sometimes miss the human element of the equation, paradoxically treating the mass of humans as children who need to be commanded for their own good. Though not as cerebral as Nineteen eighty-four, nor as insightful as Brave New World, This Perfect Day is a worthy inclusion in the dystopian oeuvre; it is a thrilling read, makes some good points and raises a few interesting questions whether one agrees with Levin's conclusion or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, under-rated future distopia novel, 2 Oct. 2009
By 
Andy Phillips (Leicestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: This Perfect Day (Paperback)
This book is bound to draw comparisons with the like of 'Brave New World', '1984', 'Logan's Run' and so forth but it's strange that it's nowhere near as well known. I've read all of those books, and this one is at least as good, in my opinion.

The story centres around Chip (as he thinks of himself) who is a member of a worldwide society governed by a single supercomputer. Almost every aspect of the citizen's lives are regulated by the computer, including whether particular people are permitted to have children, what they are called (out of 8 potential names), what jobs they do, where they live, and pretty much everything else. Everyone has an injection once a month that dulls their desire to rebel, their sex drive etc, and they are subject to constant propaganda and brainwashing that the computer, UniComp, knows best and will give them appropriate guidance.

The older generation still have some individual attributes and attitudes, but everyone that is young has a very similar appearance and the same sort of personality. Following some 'anitsocial' thinking from his grandfather, Chip begins to have feelings that it might be nice to be able to choose things for himself. This is the start of his exploration of what really is true and what UniComp has falsified in order to keep order. The majority of the book then follows his discoveries as he gradually begins to question the way the society functions while attempting to appear to be a normal citizen. I won't spoil the story by giving any more details.

This is an absolutely excellent book and I would recommend it to fans of any genre, although it fill particularly appeal to sci-fi fans I would think.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'This Perfect Day' ..by Ira Levin, 28 Feb. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Perfect Day (Paperback)
'This Perfect Day' .. by Ira Levin
I first read this 40 years ago when it was published and have just read the new edition.
In this sparkling original book, Levin postulates a future which extrapolates the process of the worlds' population way into the future.
World peace, so devoutly wished for,has been achieved. The world is now 'A Great Big Melting Pot' with all nations intermingled. War belongs to history and all boundaries have blended into one big whole ... or so it seems.
Each person, now known as a 'member' is classified at birth and is assigned to 'appropriate' work.
TV viewing is programmed into the day, sex is obligatory on Saturdays and it only rains at night. You had better have sex because if you don't your partner will report you to your mentor and you will be sent for treatment. 'I am my brother's keeper' written in the Bible may be interpreted as 'I will take care of him', now it means I am my brother's guard, watching for mistakes and omissions!
'Touch and Go' now means that each member must 'touch' his/her identity bracelet to scanners as they pass through various passages. Everybody has a regular 'treatment' ... vitamins and minerals with a dose of tranquiliser. Food is now 'totalcake' which is freely available - and is all that there is to eat.
In keeping with peace and harmony you might now 'catch two birds with one net' rather than a stone. The book is threaded through with humour, I particularly enjoyed the picture 'Wei Addressing the Chemotherapists' - it doesn't pack quite the same punch as 'The Adoration of the Magi' ...
At first it is amusing, but cracks appear in the peaceful facade and you find yourself caught up in a nail biting thriller ...
Has it dated? Not at all, it is fresh and funny and relevant. I loved it then, I love it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great futuristic novel!!!!, 23 Sept. 2003
This review is from: This Perfect Day (Paperback)
This is a great book. As easy as that.
Though 1984 and, maybe 451 fahrenheit may be the closest to what could happen in a real-life situation, I like "this perfect day" the most.
Basically it describes what happens in a world based on societies where everything and everyone is standardized. Even the people. Everything changes with the birth of Chip, with two eyes of different color. Why is he different? What does it mean? It's a futuristic book, picturing a dark and authority-controlled society where everything goes by the rules, and dissenters are removed.
It's scary, intimidating and brilliant. Read it.
This book has not gotten the attention it deserves, in my opinion. It's better than Huxley's "brave new world", and still that book is the most famous.
Anyway, if you like "1984", "Brave New World" or "451 fahrenheit", check out this one. And while you're at it, read Ayn Rand's "Anthem", the book that started it all. See if you figure it out why she wrote it.
One of the best books in the genre!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chip has an eye on the future, 30 Mar. 2003
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: This Perfect Day (Paperback)
Chip is being raised in a society that for the most part is organized and has its resources adjusted by computer. There are no fights, no need to shave, and no diseases. Everyone is living at least to 32. What more could one ask for. Then there are in theory a few misfits that haven't been to see their counselors and evidently not taking their medicine. You guest it, Chip is just determined that It is ridicules to have computers determine your life. He at least does not want them to control his life. This book has many twists and turns. Some you will guess and some you won't. So be prepared.

Naturally working in Information Systems I can not bring my self to enjoy the ending. Now it is fun to compare this work with "Brave new World" by Aldous Huxley for attitude and "1984" by George Orwell, for subterfuge. Others compare with "Logan's Run" by William F. Nolan and George Clayton Johnson, for the age thing and corrective action. They missed two good movies; they are "Kurt Vonnegut's Harrison Bergeron" (1995) for that brain numbing effect and "Gattaca" (1997) for the genetic thing.

Harrison Bergeron

Brave New World Peter Gallagher, Leonard Nimoy, Tim Guinee, and Rya Kihlstedt

1984 Actors: Edmond O'Brien, Jan Sterling
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed the first half, 24 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Perfect Day (Kindle Edition)
This is my third Levin book (Stepford Wives then Rosemary's Baby). I think this is a book of two halves. I really enjoyed the first half; I do like dystopia novels. But the second half feels like he put the book down for six months then came back to it and finished it in a hurry. That's not to say I didn't enjoy it, just not quite as much as the first half.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chip has an eye on the future, 1 July 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: This Perfect Day (Paperback)
Chip is being raised in a society that for the most part is organized and has its resources adjusted by computer. There are no fights, no need to shave, and no diseases. Everyone is living at least to 32. What more could one ask for. Then there are in theory a few misfits that haven't been to see their counselors and evidently not taking their medicine. You guest it, Chip is just determined that It is ridicules to have computers determine your life. He at least does not want them to control his life. This book has many twists and turns. Some you will guess and some you won't. So be prepared.

Naturally working in Information Systems I can not bring my self to enjoy the ending. Now it is fun to compare this work with "Brave new World" by Aldous Huxley for attitude and "1984" by George Orwell, for subterfuge. Others compare with "Logan's Run" by William F. Nolan and George Clayton Johnson, for the age thing and corrective action. They missed two good movies; they are "Kurt Vonnegut's Harrison Bergeron" (1995) for that brain numbing effect and "Gattaca" (1997) for the genetic thing.

Brave New World Peter Gallagher, Leonard Nimoy, Tim Guinee, and Rya Kihlstedt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Chip has an eye on the future, 1 July 2013
By 
bernie "xyzzy" (Arlington, Texas) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: This Perfect Day (Paperback)
Chip is being raised in a society that for the most part is organized and has its resources adjusted by computer. There are no fights, no need to shave, and no diseases. Everyone is living at least to 32. What more could one ask for. Then there are in theory a few misfits that haven't been to see their counselors and evidently not taking their medicine. You guest it, Chip is just determined that It is ridicules to have computers determine your life. He at least does not want them to control his life. This book has many twists and turns. Some you will guess and some you won't. So be prepared.

Naturally working in Information Systems I can not bring my self to enjoy the ending. Now it is fun to compare this work with "Brave new World" by Aldous Huxley for attitude and "1984" by George Orwell, for subterfuge. Others compare with "Logan's Run" by William F. Nolan and George Clayton Johnson, for the age thing and corrective action. They missed two good movies; they are "Kurt Vonnegut's Harrison Bergeron" (1995) for that brain numbing effect and "Gattaca" (1997) for the genetic thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 15 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Perfect Day (Kindle Edition)
Love this book, read it several times over the years but never disappointed. Would definitely recommend. Have bought this book for my son and daughter and they both loved it too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars interesting sometimes very worrying too many similarities to life today, 29 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: This Perfect Day (Kindle Edition)
Enjoyed the vision felt challenged by the distorted reflections but not surprisingly the end result of humanity being intrinsically able to overcome not sure if that is the case
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

This Perfect Day
This Perfect Day by Ira Levin (Hardcover - 5 April 1970)
Used & New from: £4.31
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews