Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent memoir of childhood deprivation, prostitution sexual abuse
The author is an accomplished writer whose metaphors are poignant and connects to the reader at a real human level. Ms. Moran is a national treasure, a brave courageous woman who took a look at the global issue of sex abuse inherent and is what prostitution is. This book is a testimony of human resilience. This high quality memoir bears all the horrors of prostitution...
Published 10 months ago by Crazy

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappoited
The book was informative as regarding the emotional and psychological damage of prostitution but extremely lengthy narrative about the legislation, general underlying factors and the authors understandable personal feelings towards it. I purchased he book hoping to read a true and detailed account of the life and conditions that saw the authors decline into prostitution...
Published 2 months ago by Judith Bell


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent read!, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have really enjoyed this book. It's quiet an eye opener but could not put the book down. I would recommend it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful novel, 23 Feb 2014
By 
A. Addison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paid for: My Journey Through Prostitution (Paperback)
Rachel Moran is a brave woman to be so open about her past. Rather than some inward looking self-pitying autobiography, Moran considers her situation in relation to other women and to society at large to question how it is that people can end up in the situation that she did and why it is that prostitution continues to be tolerated today. A thought provoking read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very necessary voice, 7 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book after stumbling across the author's blog. It is a clear eyed assessment and damning indictment of the way society seeks to understand and tackle prostitution. This should be mandatory reading for anyone who works in the sector and particularly those who feel that legalisation of prostitution is the way forward.

Absolutely compelling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Determines, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Very interesting account of a lady who had a terrible childhood and ended up in prostitution. She later left that career and obtained a degree in Journalism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars end of the "happy prostitute" myth, 8 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paid for (Paperback)
the book is bluntly honest, it unveils the truth about this "profession". Not a nice read, but a story you won't forget.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Paid For, 6 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well done Rachel.
This book took incredible courage to write. Made me the reader sit up and take notice.
I now have a very different view of 'the prostituted woman' and the whole dirty business of prostitution.
I would recommend this book to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A thought provoking book, 17 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Well written, made me think about the evils and damaging effects of prostitution from the unusual perspective of the prostitutes woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Not what I had expected, very interesting points made well worth the read. More then just a memoir, I would defiantly consider this reading this book as educational, enlightening and engrossing experience
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much of a message., 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought Paid For to read a true-life account of the sex trade. One person's experiences as a prostitute does not give them the right to generalise, in fact, it's downright arrogant to portray all prostitutes as being unwilling, coerced and so on, and in doing so plays into the hands of the rescue industries who seldom ask those to be rescued for their own opinions. The rescue industries prefer to 'Show Case' people like Rachel who snugly fit into the stereotype they require to be able to function as rescuers.
This book portrays the seedier side of sex work, supports the clichés, is in no way representative of modern-day sex workers and it is at least one decade out of date.
Readers beware, it is the experience of only one person.
There are no myths ripped apart and no enlightenment to be had; all that this book does is to reaffirm safe, middle-class egos of their own transient security. That is a horrible kind of self-titillation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Notvery well written - Very Clunky style and unreadable in places, 13 Aug 2013
This review is from: Paid for (Paperback)
I heard about this book through Irish media - I am living in London and was interested as the press it received seemed positive. I think the author has good intentions in that she wanted to prove that she hasemerged from a terrifying childhood and early adulthood with an education and a family against all odds. Her writing though is clunky. She has treid so hard to write what she probably considers "good English" when in fact it seems she has looked up Thesaurus for every single word. You can almost hear her saying "How can I make this sound more sophisticated." But actually the result is that it makes the reading more complicated and clunky than it needs to be. I am not saying this as an English graduate but as an ordinary reader who likes a good book. The repetition is really quite annoying. She will say the exact same thing in several different ways. To the reader you come to the conclusion that this is just padding out the already shallow story line. I flicked through most of it recognising the repetition each time and coming away none the wiser about this authors experience. There is nothing remarkable about the story. A tale of someone who had a hard knock life maybe but really unremarkable and quite boring in summary. I was expecting to be glued and unable to put the book down. I was happy to put it down in the end after about 2 hours of reading and finishing it with some skimming. The other annoying part is that in her efforts to sound educated and a bad girl come good... she seems to assume that she is an authority on the Human psychological condition. She might be an expert on her own mind but this does not mean she should feel that she is an authority on psychology. She makes so many assumptions that she thinks are fact and she loses credibility as a result.

Overall I did not gain anything from this book on any level; enjoyment/Insight/Catharsis/Intrigue - nothing. She should stick to improving her life without writing about it. I am sure she is doing very well. Good for her. Not a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0a8aae0)

This product

Paid for: My Journey Through Prostitution
Paid for: My Journey Through Prostitution by Rachel Moran (Paperback - 4 Oct 2013)
5.59
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews