Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enlightenment
Following Rachel Moran,s appearance on the late late show I bought the ebook .To say the book is a gripping and intense page turner ,in no way lessens its importance as a book which has the power to change mindset and attitude.
The depth of personal experience shared by Rachel Moran of her life as a prostituted young girl and women can only lead to the eradication...
Published on 24 May 2013 by Thomas Hanly

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed
Was very disappointed as was expecting more of an story about her life, especially when she left to persue a different path. Felt it was more about facts and her opinions.
Published 1 month ago by Jacqueline


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enlightenment, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Following Rachel Moran,s appearance on the late late show I bought the ebook .To say the book is a gripping and intense page turner ,in no way lessens its importance as a book which has the power to change mindset and attitude.
The depth of personal experience shared by Rachel Moran of her life as a prostituted young girl and women can only lead to the eradication of the worlds oldest and most abusive profession.
If you want to be left in no doubt of the social, political, and moral corruption embedded in the sexwork and glamour industry this book iis compulsory reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent memoir of childhood deprivation, prostitution sexual abuse, 19 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Paid for (Paperback)
The author is an accomplished writer whose metaphors are poignant and connects to the reader at a real human level. Ms. Moran is a national treasure, a brave courageous woman who took a look at the global issue of sex abuse inherent and is what prostitution is. This book is a testimony of human resilience. This high quality memoir bears all the horrors of prostitution married to sexism and gender based violence and compelled me without a doubt to back the 'Turn off the Red Light' campaign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 14 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Was very disappointed as was expecting more of an story about her life, especially when she left to persue a different path. Felt it was more about facts and her opinions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opening!, 3 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I was recommended to read this by a friend. It was a real eye opener. I think that it has been such a challenge to write this and admire the author. Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. An amazing woman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utmost respect and admiration, 12 April 2013
By 
Eagles Point "JW" (Columbus, OH United States) - See all my reviews
There are no words to describe the heart of this dear sister, and that after all she has been through. She is very much the real deal in real life, and people desperately need to hear her story and her insights. She was there, she knows, she saw things from the inside as they truly were, not as people think or say that don't know, or guess, or statistically analyze one dimensional observation.

I couldn't be more proud of her, and I will stand by her no matter what because I know.

Thank you sister, you are truly a Free Irish Woman. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Rachel Morans courageous story, 3 Mar. 2014
By 
C. Herron "Christine Herron" (Aberdeenshire Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This isnt a story to be getting off on, it's a true story of the harsh reality of the 'sex industry'. Rachel works hard to maintain an objective view of a large chunk of her life, she doesn't pull her punches or baulk at describing the relentlessness of the abuses inflicted on prostitutes by those who have paid for the experience on those who are deemed to have agreed by accepting the money.

Her story tells of a society that colludes in these abusive relationships that damage the whole of our society and not just those who engage in them. Well worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I have never read anything more heartbreaking or hopeful. ..., 2 Jun. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paid for: My Journey Through Prostitution (Paperback)
I have never read anything more heartbreaking or hopeful. What an incredibly strong woman, this is a story that needs to be heard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars interesting life story, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paid for (Paperback)
Ms Moran became a child prostitute at 15 years old. What is amazing about her story is despite leaving school early, coming from a seriously dysfunctional family and becoming homeless at an early age she still managed to go back to university and get a degree and turn her life around. This is probably one of the reasons why the book is well written and informative. I found it interesting as I used to live near the part of Dublin where she worked so this book was a real eye opener for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A very necessary voice, 7 Feb. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book after stumbling across the author's blog. It is a clear eyed assessment and damning indictment of the way society seeks to understand and tackle prostitution. This should be mandatory reading for anyone who works in the sector and particularly those who feel that legalisation of prostitution is the way forward.

Absolutely compelling read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful novel, 23 Feb. 2014
By 
A. Addison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paid for: My Journey Through Prostitution (Paperback)
Rachel Moran is a brave woman to be so open about her past. Rather than some inward looking self-pitying autobiography, Moran considers her situation in relation to other women and to society at large to question how it is that people can end up in the situation that she did and why it is that prostitution continues to be tolerated today. A thought provoking read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paid for: My Journey Through Prostitution
Paid for: My Journey Through Prostitution by Rachel Moran (Paperback - 4 Oct. 2013)
£10.68
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews