Customer Reviews


42 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enlightenment
Following Rachel Moran,s appearance on the late late show I bought the ebook .To say the book is a gripping and intense page turner ,in no way lessens its importance as a book which has the power to change mindset and attitude.
The depth of personal experience shared by Rachel Moran of her life as a prostituted young girl and women can only lead to the eradication...
Published 21 months ago by Thomas Hanly

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Seemed more like a long winded novel
… Did not ring true on so many levels. Is this an autobiography? Seemed more like a long winded novel.
One reviewer who worked in that part of Ireland at that time said she never knew of this woman "Rachel Morgan". It does make me wonder…
Published 2 months ago by MSHG


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enlightenment, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Following Rachel Moran,s appearance on the late late show I bought the ebook .To say the book is a gripping and intense page turner ,in no way lessens its importance as a book which has the power to change mindset and attitude.
The depth of personal experience shared by Rachel Moran of her life as a prostituted young girl and women can only lead to the eradication of the worlds oldest and most abusive profession.
If you want to be left in no doubt of the social, political, and moral corruption embedded in the sexwork and glamour industry this book iis compulsory reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent memoir of childhood deprivation, prostitution sexual abuse, 19 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Paid for (Paperback)
The author is an accomplished writer whose metaphors are poignant and connects to the reader at a real human level. Ms. Moran is a national treasure, a brave courageous woman who took a look at the global issue of sex abuse inherent and is what prostitution is. This book is a testimony of human resilience. This high quality memoir bears all the horrors of prostitution married to sexism and gender based violence and compelled me without a doubt to back the 'Turn off the Red Light' campaign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping and enlightening, 17 Feb. 2015
This book is by far one of the best books I have read in the anti-prostitution area... Rachael is very honest, real, deep, and authentic as a writer and as the person I imagine her to be through her writing!!! Thank you Rachael for your courage, insight, honesty, and passion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utmost respect and admiration, 12 April 2013
By 
Eagles Point "JW" (Columbus, OH United States) - See all my reviews
There are no words to describe the heart of this dear sister, and that after all she has been through. She is very much the real deal in real life, and people desperately need to hear her story and her insights. She was there, she knows, she saw things from the inside as they truly were, not as people think or say that don't know, or guess, or statistically analyze one dimensional observation.

I couldn't be more proud of her, and I will stand by her no matter what because I know.

Thank you sister, you are truly a Free Irish Woman. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Seemed more like a long winded novel, 7 Dec. 2014
By 
MSHG (London, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Paid for: My Journey Through Prostitution (Paperback)
… Did not ring true on so many levels. Is this an autobiography? Seemed more like a long winded novel.
One reviewer who worked in that part of Ireland at that time said she never knew of this woman "Rachel Morgan". It does make me wonder…
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Proud :), 14 April 2013
This review is from: Paid for (Paperback)
Very Proud to know this lady and to have read a book like this belong to a true survivor,I highly recommend this book not only because i know rachel but because it is honest and she does not hold back one bit, she is fighting all the way for women who are still in the position she once was :)MEL - Dubliner xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 25 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrified by the level of deceit, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book in the kindle pre release for one very simple reason.

The author claims she spent the years between '91 and '93 standing about 15 yards across the road from me to work. I have met Moran at a conference and already knew this to be untrue, but I wanted to see if there were any verifiable facts at all in the book.

There were none...not one single mention of a familiar person or event. Not only did the author not work where she claimed she did, she apparently has no idea at all about the real people who did. She does not even know the material facts of sex work, at that time, itself.

This book is simple fraud and beyond that incredibly insulting and hurtful to the real people, not just sex workers, and clients, but Gardaí and residents who, among other things, were neither stupid, nor indifferent enough to walk on by while a drug addled child (sic) sold sex in front of them.

I should have posted this review right away, but I was scared of identifying myself and assumed Amazon would not let the review appear anyway, however I have now sworn out an affidavit in my own name which is online here:
[...]

I am happy to make notarised hard copy available to Amazon at any time upon request.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars interesting life story, 6 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paid for (Paperback)
Ms Moran became a child prostitute at 15 years old. What is amazing about her story is despite leaving school early, coming from a seriously dysfunctional family and becoming homeless at an early age she still managed to go back to university and get a degree and turn her life around. This is probably one of the reasons why the book is well written and informative. I found it interesting as I used to live near the part of Dublin where she worked so this book was a real eye opener for me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Insightful novel, 23 Feb. 2014
By 
A. Addison (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Paid for: My Journey Through Prostitution (Paperback)
Rachel Moran is a brave woman to be so open about her past. Rather than some inward looking self-pitying autobiography, Moran considers her situation in relation to other women and to society at large to question how it is that people can end up in the situation that she did and why it is that prostitution continues to be tolerated today. A thought provoking read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wish I hadn't purchased it., 3 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book really bothered me. But not because of the subject matter, because of the author's repetition. It was overly long, and I felt like none of the story was getting through because every second paragraph the author had to interject how no one would willingly be a prostitute and how her sheltered upbringing by her sick parents led to her downward spiral. Honestly I got so pissed off that I had to stop reading. I have no doubt that the author has had a hard life, but I really think an editor should have stepped in at some point and given some advice on how not to repeat yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paid for: My Journey Through Prostitution
Paid for: My Journey Through Prostitution by Rachel Moran (Paperback - 4 Oct. 2013)
£7.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews