Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enlightenment
Following Rachel Moran,s appearance on the late late show I bought the ebook .To say the book is a gripping and intense page turner ,in no way lessens its importance as a book which has the power to change mindset and attitude.
The depth of personal experience shared by Rachel Moran of her life as a prostituted young girl and women can only lead to the eradication...
Published 17 months ago by Thomas Hanly

versus
15 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrified by the level of deceit
I bought this book in the kindle pre release for one very simple reason.

The author claims she spent the years between '91 and '93 standing about 15 yards across the road from me to work. I have met Moran at a conference and already knew this to be untrue, but I wanted to see if there were any verifiable facts at all in the book.

There were...
Published 6 months ago by Avid Reader


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars enlightenment, 24 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Following Rachel Moran,s appearance on the late late show I bought the ebook .To say the book is a gripping and intense page turner ,in no way lessens its importance as a book which has the power to change mindset and attitude.
The depth of personal experience shared by Rachel Moran of her life as a prostituted young girl and women can only lead to the eradication of the worlds oldest and most abusive profession.
If you want to be left in no doubt of the social, political, and moral corruption embedded in the sexwork and glamour industry this book iis compulsory reading
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent memoir of childhood deprivation, prostitution sexual abuse, 19 Jun 2013
This review is from: Paid for (Paperback)
The author is an accomplished writer whose metaphors are poignant and connects to the reader at a real human level. Ms. Moran is a national treasure, a brave courageous woman who took a look at the global issue of sex abuse inherent and is what prostitution is. This book is a testimony of human resilience. This high quality memoir bears all the horrors of prostitution married to sexism and gender based violence and compelled me without a doubt to back the 'Turn off the Red Light' campaign.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utmost respect and admiration, 12 April 2013
By 
Eagles Point "JW" (Columbus, OH United States) - See all my reviews
There are no words to describe the heart of this dear sister, and that after all she has been through. She is very much the real deal in real life, and people desperately need to hear her story and her insights. She was there, she knows, she saw things from the inside as they truly were, not as people think or say that don't know, or guess, or statistically analyze one dimensional observation.

I couldn't be more proud of her, and I will stand by her no matter what because I know.

Thank you sister, you are truly a Free Irish Woman. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 22 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Horrified by the level of deceit, 14 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this book in the kindle pre release for one very simple reason.

The author claims she spent the years between '91 and '93 standing about 15 yards across the road from me to work. I have met Moran at a conference and already knew this to be untrue, but I wanted to see if there were any verifiable facts at all in the book.

There were none...not one single mention of a familiar person or event. Not only did the author not work where she claimed she did, she apparently has no idea at all about the real people who did. She does not even know the material facts of sex work, at that time, itself.

This book is simple fraud and beyond that incredibly insulting and hurtful to the real people, not just sex workers, and clients, but Gardaí and residents who, among other things, were neither stupid, nor indifferent enough to walk on by while a drug addled child (sic) sold sex in front of them.

I should have posted this review right away, but I was scared of identifying myself and assumed Amazon would not let the review appear anyway, however I have now sworn out an affidavit in my own name which is online here:
[...]

I am happy to make notarised hard copy available to Amazon at any time upon request.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Didn't get it, 29 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I read lot's of books like this - but this one is odd. The content is a cross between a journalistic narrative and one of a true story. The author, who herself identifies as a sex worker, just seems so polished, as if she is creating herself, rather than telling her story, I couldn't finish it. I don't know what it was, but this book is an odd read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Proud :), 14 April 2013
This review is from: Paid for (Paperback)
Very Proud to know this lady and to have read a book like this belong to a true survivor,I highly recommend this book not only because i know rachel but because it is honest and she does not hold back one bit, she is fighting all the way for women who are still in the position she once was :)MEL - Dubliner xxx
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars too much nonesense, 10 Jun 2014
i found the book dragging. there is too much of the author generalizing one type of person. i felt i was been told how prostitutes work and thats how it is and her opinion as fact. i found it odd as i like to read and make my own mind up. i have read about addiction and prostitution alot and found this to be hard to belive everything and far too opinionated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Wish I hadn't purchased it., 3 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book really bothered me. But not because of the subject matter, because of the author's repetition. It was overly long, and I felt like none of the story was getting through because every second paragraph the author had to interject how no one would willingly be a prostitute and how her sheltered upbringing by her sick parents led to her downward spiral. Honestly I got so pissed off that I had to stop reading. I have no doubt that the author has had a hard life, but I really think an editor should have stepped in at some point and given some advice on how not to repeat yourself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappoited, 14 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book was informative as regarding the emotional and psychological damage of prostitution but extremely lengthy narrative about the legislation, general underlying factors and the authors understandable personal feelings towards it. I purchased he book hoping to read a true and detailed account of the life and conditions that saw the authors decline into prostitution but unfortunately there were very few specific experiences referred to so it was difficult to build up a picture of the surroundings, people and writer. I found myself skipping many pages as it was never getting to an interesting specific tale and found myself repeatedly reading of the authors opinions rather than experiences. I missed more than half the book because of this which is very unlike me and found myself flicking pages to avoid reading the same thing over and over. I was very disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars None, 4 May 2013
this is a truly open and honest account of what is happening in ever town and city across the world.megan thank you for givng a voice to the many women who feel they cant or have no way out.you are an inspiration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Paid for
Paid for by Rachel Moran (Paperback - 12 April 2013)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews