Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't believe this book is not available
After reading 'Wednesday's Child', I can't believe that this book is currecntly unavailable from Amazon. Wednesday's Child is a unique insight from a man who obviously has enough experience and knowledge of the child protection field to make a serious difference. His books seriously influence anyone who reads them and his knowledge should be shared in order to make the...
Published on 6 Sep 2007 by S. Shepherd

versus
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DISSAPOINTED
I thoroughly enjoyed Wednesdays Child and bought 2 more of Shane Dunphys books, Last Ditch House was also fantastic however i am extremely dissapointed to find that crying in the dark was the exact same book, only a different title. This should be at least pointed out so that other readers do not make the same mistake.
Published on 12 Sep 2009 by S. HANCOCK


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DISSAPOINTED, 12 Sep 2009
By 
S. HANCOCK (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Last Ditch House (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed Wednesdays Child and bought 2 more of Shane Dunphys books, Last Ditch House was also fantastic however i am extremely dissapointed to find that crying in the dark was the exact same book, only a different title. This should be at least pointed out so that other readers do not make the same mistake.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars very dissappointed, 26 Jun 2009
By 
Debra Humble (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Last Ditch House (Paperback)
I avery disappointed and annoyed to find out after buying them that Last Ditch House and Crying in the Dark are the exact same book. Its so so misleading and unfair
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I can't believe this book is not available, 6 Sep 2007
By 
S. Shepherd - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Last Ditch House (Paperback)
After reading 'Wednesday's Child', I can't believe that this book is currecntly unavailable from Amazon. Wednesday's Child is a unique insight from a man who obviously has enough experience and knowledge of the child protection field to make a serious difference. His books seriously influence anyone who reads them and his knowledge should be shared in order to make the rights of the child an important part of every generation. Child abuse happens every day, day in day out. Hopefully, through Authors like Shane Dunphy, we can realise this and break through our 'Britishness' and not ignore it any more. Please Amazon, get you finger out and make this book available. Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars exactly the same book as crying the dark, 2 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Ditch House (Paperback)
really cross this is exactly the same book as crying in the dark but released under a different name! i brought it becuae i love the way shane dunphy writes and i hadnt read this title i was so looking forward to it but not happy at all now!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, 8 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Ditch House (Paperback)
This book is a good read with a great insight into the work done by social service and how the good eggs can made a real difference to children life's
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 16 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Ditch House (Paperback)
have got several other of the authors books & this is another great book from him, you get a good insight into the valuable work social workers do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars My fave author, 8 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Ditch House (Paperback)
I love these stories, there's a reality that alot of these type of books don't have. He admits when he feels out of his depth, or when he's made a mistake. Absolutely brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Another Fantastic Account!, 21 Sep 2011
This review is from: Last Ditch House (Paperback)
Another great story by Shane! However, I didn't realize this is the same story as the book he has called "Crying in the Dark", and I unknowingly purchased both! However, as soon as I realized, I sent "Crying in the Dark" back and kept "Last Ditch House", as I had ordered them in paperback before I got my kindle. As always, Shane Dunphy writes a brilliant account!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars TWO TITLES - SAME BOOK, 9 May 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Last Ditch House (Paperback)
SHANE DUNPHY IS A GREAT WRITER AND I WAS LOOKING FORWARD TO READING SOME MORE OF HIS BOOKS - CRYING IN THE DARK AND LAST DITCH HOUSE .JUST INMAGINE MY DISAPOINTMENT WHEN I FIND THAT BOTH THESE TITLES ARE THE SAME BOOK!! THERE SHOULD BE A NOTICE INFORMING CUSTOMERS ABOUT THIS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Misleading, 9 Sep 2011
By 
This review is from: Last Ditch House (Paperback)
This book is listed as having only 14 pages!!! Surely, as well as being a ripp off for another book with a different name, it can't also only have 14 pages? Must be a typo.
Was going to take a look but after looking at the other reviews, I'm so glad I didn't buy this. It's not as if the author wouldn't have known all this. Sly and devious and a slap in the face for fans of his.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Last Ditch House
Last Ditch House by Shane Dunphy (Paperback - 6 Feb 2007)
Used & New from: 4.28
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews