Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear Directions, Delicious Dishes
I absolutely love this book for its simplicity and directness. All of the recipes which I have tried (so far) have turned out well, and that is quite an achievement. There can't be many chefs who write as plainly as Rachel Allen does - she gets the point across, without embellishment, and makes every dish seem both delicious and achievable for food enthusiasts of all...
Published on 24 Nov. 2008 by Daisy

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Its okay, but....
The book has tons of recipes that all seem quite nice and are in the usual Rachel form - which means that they are generally easy to follow. However, I was quite disappointed by the lack of pcitures. There are some but not many which I find a big shame, especially considering the price of the book. Also, there seems to be a misprint in mine, since the title of one recipe...
Published 8 months ago by sonenya


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear Directions, Delicious Dishes, 24 Nov. 2008
This review is from: Rachel's Favourite Food for Friends (Paperback)
I absolutely love this book for its simplicity and directness. All of the recipes which I have tried (so far) have turned out well, and that is quite an achievement. There can't be many chefs who write as plainly as Rachel Allen does - she gets the point across, without embellishment, and makes every dish seem both delicious and achievable for food enthusiasts of all skill levels. The Moroccan Chickpea Soup with Garlic Pitta Crisps are fabulously quick and tasty - firm favourites in my home - as are the Berry Compote, fruity Crumble, Provencale Chicken... I could go on, but I'm sure you can already appreciate how much I have enjoyed dipping in and out of this book of simple, varied and do-able dishes. There is truly something for everyone here - anyone who is familiar with Rachel's books will know that the recipes are grouped according to 'type' - from big Sunday lunches, to Romantic Dinners for Two. A good addition to any household's collection of cookbooks, although probably not for the self-professed gourmet! The recipes are unlikely to be 'advanced' enough for the semi-professional foodie. Wonderful for people who enjoy good food, cooked from scratch in the home, but who have busy lives.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


94 of 98 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect!, 8 Feb. 2006
This review is from: Rachel's Favourite Food for Friends (Paperback)
Just the cookery book I needed. I can cook very well, but have absolutely no imagination when it comes to food (spaghetti 3 times a week).
Rachel Allen's recipes are all quite unusual but not peculiar and her style is a pleasure to read. The book is divided into various sections - Summer Lunch, Party Food, Barbecue - and this works really well.
I have tried a number of her dishes and they worked perfectly.
Highly recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book with lots of good recipes, 14 Aug. 2008
By 
Sabine Zimmermann (Germany) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachel's Favourite Food for Friends (Paperback)
This is the first book of Rachel Allen I bought and I liked it so much, I bought all the other books too. If you're looking for some great recipes to entertain, this is the book you need, you'll find something for practically every occasion: "Christmas Dinner", "Romantic Dinner for Two", "Party Food", "Summer Lunch", "Midweek Supper Party", "Formal Dinner Party", "Sunday Lunch", "Big Family Lunch", "Girl's Night In", "Chocolate", "Barbecue", "Curry Night" and "Afternoon Tea". The book doesn't contain a lot of glossy photographs, but I don't feel you really need them with this book, the recipes are clear enough. I tried the "Little Pots of Passion", which are basically just mango and passionfruit fools - but oh so delicious (I had to make them again). A book you'll use again and again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


66 of 70 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best cookbook i have had in a decade, 5 April 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Rachel's Favourite Food for Friends (Paperback)
this is the only cookbook i have ever made more than about 3 recipes from - the chick pea soup is easy quick and gained applause from a friend who has limited taste post a car accident - the crown of lamb and the two relishes with them worked well as did the spinach and garlic potatoes - and dessert as well from the book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mmmm curry!, 20 Jan. 2010
By 
H. Leahy (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Rachel's Favourite Food for Friends (Paperback)
I borrowed this book and only used the recipes from the curry night section. The curries were really good possibly a bit mild, although i did make the madras korma and the rajhastani. Maybe my cautious choices are to blame! The curries themselves were gorgeous and the accompaniments specifically the buttered spiced basmati rice was sumptuous!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Loads of delicious recipes to try!, 2 Nov. 2010
This review is from: Rachel's Favourite Food for Friends (Paperback)
This is a great Rachel Allen cookbook and is jam packed with recipes for every occasion. The only downside for me is that there are very few pictures, I like to see what I am cooking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple but great ideas that work, 24 Feb. 2011
By 
L. Beekar (Abingdon, Oxon) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachel's Favourite Food for Friends (Paperback)
Really like Rachel's style and simplicity of recipes. I have cooked several from this book already and they work! I have many cookery books and some more inspirational than this, but I would highly recommend it for the busy but keen cook.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Its okay, but...., 1 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachel's Favourite Food for Friends (Paperback)
The book has tons of recipes that all seem quite nice and are in the usual Rachel form - which means that they are generally easy to follow. However, I was quite disappointed by the lack of pcitures. There are some but not many which I find a big shame, especially considering the price of the book. Also, there seems to be a misprint in mine, since the title of one recipe is there but the actual recipe is missing.....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Proof reading required, 9 Jun. 2015
This review is from: Rachel's Favourite Food for Friends (Paperback)
1st recipe I went to cook was chocolate and pear tart. Would be helpful if the recipe stated what you did with the pears after you peeled them. As others, would be nice to have a few more pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, 10 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Rachel's Favourite Food for Friends (Paperback)
Straight forward recipes easy to follow easy to eat again and again. Recipes are for all occasions and all abilities
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Rachel's Favourite Food for Friends
Rachel's Favourite Food for Friends by Rachel Allen (Paperback - 1 Oct. 2005)
£15.58
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews