Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any first year economist
Having recently started my first year at University studying economics, this was one of two books that i was advised to buy. I have found it a vital aid to the marcroeconomic lectures, it explains concepts clearly and uses excellent up to date examples. My only problems with the book are that it does not cover the mathematical notes in enough detail and because it is an...
Published on 12 Dec 2007 by Mr. T. Punton

versus
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Get a cup of coffee for this one, you're gonna need it.
This book is good, make no mistake about it, but bloody hell is it wordy. I'm a man who likes his facts coming to him quick and dirty, but Mankiw sets off on a grand crusade to make everything very very long. Not that this isn't a good thing for some people, but not my cup of tea.
Published on 30 May 2008 by ThatOneOverThere


Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A must have for any first year economist, 12 Dec 2007
By 
Mr. T. Punton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Macroeconomics (Hardcover)
Having recently started my first year at University studying economics, this was one of two books that i was advised to buy. I have found it a vital aid to the marcroeconomic lectures, it explains concepts clearly and uses excellent up to date examples. My only problems with the book are that it does not cover the mathematical notes in enough detail and because it is an American book the majority of figures and exaples are based upon the US economy. But these minor problems should not put you off an excellent book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nice!, 23 Dec 2009
This review is from: Macroeconomics (Hardcover)
I have read Blanchard and didn't like it so well. Too confusing. Mankiw's book is the best macro book at this level that I have read. It is incredibly well presented and explained. He is clear like glass and one topic flows into the next like a hand to a couture glove. Admittedly there's not much maths in it but frankly there's so much covered (550 pages) that adding in sufficient maths would make this gargantuan and probably wouldn't sell much. This is a book about generally understood economic ideas and tenets and the job done is splendid. From here, and assuming you know the maths, I'd suggest tackling Wendy Carlin's Macroeconomics if you want to get your teeth into some harder stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Get a cup of coffee for this one, you're gonna need it., 30 May 2008
This review is from: Macroeconomics (Hardcover)
This book is good, make no mistake about it, but bloody hell is it wordy. I'm a man who likes his facts coming to him quick and dirty, but Mankiw sets off on a grand crusade to make everything very very long. Not that this isn't a good thing for some people, but not my cup of tea.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, 20 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macroeconomics (Hardcover)
Despite being second hand, the textbook looks as good as new! It arrived on time and is exactly what I wanted. Very pleased with the product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars very good, 13 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macroeconomics (Hardcover)
bought it for my aunt and she was very grateful for the copy came in handy and was as good as new
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Geriatric Revision, 22 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macroeconomics (Hardcover)
As an economics graduate of some 50 years I wanted to revisit the basics and this book is far better than the texts i studied. I await with interest an edition that addresses why economists totally failed to predict the crisis of 2008 and seem to have no coherent remedies to the problems it exposed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 23 July 2014
By 
Mj Burt (New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Macroeconomics (Hardcover)
Thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Macroeconomics
Macroeconomics by N. Gregory Mankiw (Hardcover - 17 July 2006)
Used & New from: 0.83
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews