Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars14
4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
12
4 star
2
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item
Share your thoughts with other customers

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 April 2004
As a first year Biochemistry student at the University of Warwick I would defiantly recommend this book to anyone who is taking a degree in Biology/Biochemistry/Microbiology. At Warwick our course follows the content of the book and gives us the recommended reading pages for each topic.
If you have studied A-level Biology I think you will find this book very easy to follow and easy on the eye.
It assumes only knowlege of biochemistry up to A-level standard and then slowly builds to give a very thorough level of understanding.
0Comment|30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 February 2006
This book provides detailed information on all subjects covered by the biochemistry modules in my degree. The layout is systematic, and the diagrams are very useful. I would recommend this to any student looking for a comprehensive biochemistry text to last throughout their degree.
0Comment|18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 April 2009
I am a medical student in Italy. As far as I know, almost everyone in my University use Lehninger Principles of Biochemistry, as it said to be the most comprehensive.
I find it just too stuffed with "words", a feature which puts off students who really want to learn this fantastic subject.

On the contrary, Stryer's Biochemistry is systematic and very well structured. The explanations are clear and concise.

As to Devlin's biochemistry, it must be said that it offers many more medical insights than the others, but it seems to me to lack clear and easy-to-study explanations upon more "traditional" concepts: glycolysis, oxidative phosphorylation and so on.
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2003
An easy to understand text for Biochemistry at degree level. Clear illustrations and text is coloured to help you memorise topics easily. The book id divided into four parts THE MOLECULAR DESIGN OF LIFE, TRANSDUCING AND STORING ENERGY, SYNTHESIZING THE MOLECULES OF LIFE AND RESPONDING TO ENVIRONMENTAL CHANGES. These parts go into a great depth and I strongly recommend this to anyone studying Biochemistry. It's an excellent international edition.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2014
OK, so I bought edition 5 on teh second hand bit of Amazon. i doubt whether there have been many significant changes in Edition 7 except for perhaps molecular biology and genetics.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2015
Amazing purchase. I'd recommend it to all biochemistry students as it was recommended to me by few of my lecturers. The condition of book was very good.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2011
Literally arrived the next day. Thought it would take at least a good week. Good price, good condition, good times.

Thanks!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2014
Totally love this well explained book, and it did its job with helping me pass my studies in uni
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 May 2016
Very good background reading for biology teachers teaching the new Advanced Higher biology course in Scotland. Buy the most recent edition you can afford !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
I was recommended this book for uni, I haven't used it yet, the book is pretty descent in its quality
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.