Customer Reviews


71 Reviews
5 star:
 (27)
4 star:
 (19)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (8)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


68 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars halogen oven cook book
Bought the book because we had just boought a halogen oven and we wanted to get the best out of it. The book is somewhat restricted in its recipes but that was okay because we wanted to walk before running with anything exotic! The book has been very useful being right up to date with halogen cooking; you cannot for example use normal oven timings and temperature as...
Published on 27 April 2010 by C. Hart

versus
59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Text Only
This should not be confused with other cookery books with the same title. It looks a bit like an old style paperback, poor quality paper and no photographs,associated with the recipes.
The most off putting part was the lack of photographs although I appreciate that homemade dishes rarely look like the photographs in the books they at least give you a feel of what the...
Published on 26 Mar 2010 by Bob


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

59 of 61 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Text Only, 26 Mar 2010
By 
Bob (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Halogen Oven Cookbook (Paperback)
This should not be confused with other cookery books with the same title. It looks a bit like an old style paperback, poor quality paper and no photographs,associated with the recipes.
The most off putting part was the lack of photographs although I appreciate that homemade dishes rarely look like the photographs in the books they at least give you a feel of what the completed dish should be.
The book starts with 23 pages of hints and tips, some quite useful but many of the type "You can watch your food cooking through the glass bowl" I had guessed that. The recipes are then divided into six sections:-
1/ Just Vegetables
2/Rice, Pasta, Grains and Beans
3/Meat, Poultry and Game
4/Fishy Things
5/Sweet and Sticky Desserts
6/Tempting Bakes
In all about 100 recipes, which to be fair have comprehensive instructions and each have an introduction with the advice to use a tin/dish which fits your oven and start with the instruction "Remove the lid from the halogen oven" which I must admit is a pretty good start. Some of the recipes have an unusual twist for example on the back cover it states "All the traditional favourites such as Shepherd's Pie....." This is the first time I have found Shepherd's pie without potatoes and carrots and parsnips instead.
In summary if this is going to be your first halogen cookbook buy one of the other ones with the same or similar titles for example the one by Paul Jones & Leah Meads, however if you have other books and you do not mind the lack of photographs this book will add to your collection of recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


68 of 72 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars halogen oven cook book, 27 April 2010
By 
C. Hart (Herts, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Halogen Oven Cookbook (Paperback)
Bought the book because we had just boought a halogen oven and we wanted to get the best out of it. The book is somewhat restricted in its recipes but that was okay because we wanted to walk before running with anything exotic! The book has been very useful being right up to date with halogen cooking; you cannot for example use normal oven timings and temperature as everything would be burnt or overdone. What halogen cooking has given us is the ability to watch what is happening inside the oven, economy, speed and the ability to clean very easily whatever it is you have cooked. The book gave us the confidence to experiment from cheese on toast right up to a full blown roast meal. I would recommend it to any new user of a halogen oven.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Halogen oven cookbook, 2 April 2010
This review is from: The Halogen Oven Cookbook (Paperback)
Using a Halogen oven for the first time I did not find the book very helpful. I was hoping for more basic information on timings and temperatures. As for the recipes, PLAIN cooking is what I seek not necessarily gourmet meals. Disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A few ideas that work, 21 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Halogen Oven Cookbook (Paperback)
This is a basic book, black and white. It outlines how to use and care for your halogen cooker. It also has a few, emphasis on few, ideas. If you want a chicken recipe, there is only one I think, same with pork etc. So don't expect to be inspired with lots of things to do. But I used it to get the basic idea on how a halogen cooker worked. That way you can modify your own recipes.
Now I know that vegetables take much longer to cook than meat, they go in first.

Mike
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a really useful book on the halogen oven, 6 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Halogen Oven Cookbook (Paperback)
A very useful handbook about halogen oven cookery techniques together with some recipes that work
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good book, 29 Sep 2010
By 
Mr. Raymond Hunter (scotland uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Halogen Oven Cookbook (Paperback)
this book isc a good enough book with recipies but is the same as one i had aready bought for less cash a week or so before, the only difference is the name on the front, so i would adise folks to checkout all books of this nature and check the name of the person who has put the recipies in it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars cannot recommend, 18 Aug 2010
By 
kkkkatyuk (Tyneside, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Halogen Oven Cookbook (Paperback)
I ordered this thinking it was similar to the Halogen cooking made simple book as the front cover looks similar, but was so disappointed at the size of book and more so at the uninspirational recipes and lack of colour photos. In fairness it does give a description of what halogen cooking is all about and what is needed, but as I only wanted some recipes I returned it for the one I intended getting in the first place, which is far superior in every way with its clear concise instructions and glorious colour photos.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Halogen Cook Book, 30 Jun 2010
By 
Ronald Copeland (West Yorks UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Halogen Oven Cookbook (Paperback)
The book was a big help in getting used to setting up for cooking. I strongly recommend it to first time users.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Halogen Oven cookbook, 10 Aug 2011
By 
Linda A. Gallihawk (Dolores,Spain) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Halogen Oven Cookbook (Paperback)
As there was not a lot of information with my Halogen oven I ordered this book. It gave some good advice, but the recipes did not interest me as mostly it is common sense...use the Halogen like a normal oven, I am a good cook so the recipes were not what I would cook and there where no pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Halogen Oven Cookbook, 17 Dec 2010
This review is from: The Halogen Oven Cookbook (Paperback)
This little cookbook is full of interesting facts, and it helps the person use the halogen oven to the full.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xae25d174)

This product

The Halogen Oven Cookbook
The Halogen Oven Cookbook by Norma Miller (Paperback - 25 Mar 2010)
4.49
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews