Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (29)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for those without allotments.
I don't have an allotment but have always wanted to grow my own fruit, veg and herbs. This book is brilliant to show that you can grow practically anything in almost any type of container - from sinks to hanging baskets, in borders or wrapped around a pergola. What did surprise me was the variety of veg that are happy in containers - things like turnips and leeks or...
Published on 8 April 2010 by joyous

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite good
Its nice to have a book which is dedicated to container and small area gardening for once instead of just having it as a small part of a chapter. It was perhaps simplistic in places and skimmed over the surface of container gardening without going into too much depth. Fantastic if this is your first time gardening but if you have some experience its a bit basic, still not...
Published on 26 May 2011 by E. Pinchbeck


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great for those without allotments., 8 April 2010
By 
This review is from: Vegetable, Fruit and Herb Growing in Small Spaces (Paperback)
I don't have an allotment but have always wanted to grow my own fruit, veg and herbs. This book is brilliant to show that you can grow practically anything in almost any type of container - from sinks to hanging baskets, in borders or wrapped around a pergola. What did surprise me was the variety of veg that are happy in containers - things like turnips and leeks or better still my favourite - beetroot. There is a whole chapter on herbs which would be a great help to anybody who likes cooking (never knew before that I could grow my own lemon grass!). It covers pests and diseases as well as tools all written in a simple to understand format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars container vegatable growing....., 8 April 2010
By 
G. Wisden (Surrey) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vegetable, Fruit and Herb Growing in Small Spaces (Paperback)
This is an easy to understand, easy to read guide to growing, "It does exactly what it says on the cover"
Mr Harrison explains everything you need to know in his own style without the need to use "jargon" or to make things complicated. Working from his own personal experience, he guides the reader through all the whys and wherefores, making the whole process of small/no garden vegetable growing seem as simple and easy as it can be.
Another great book from a great gardener.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great little gardening book, 8 April 2010
By 
L. J. Williams (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vegetable, Fruit and Herb Growing in Small Spaces (Paperback)
Vegetable, Fruit and Herb Growing in Small Spaces

John Harrison has done it again. Another great little book in his gardening series.

Here is a book for those with only limited space and it sets out many ways to grow vegetables fruit and herbs using a wide variety of pots boxes and raised beds. He gives straight forward information on what to grow, where to grow it and how to grow it. He also includes a useful section on pests and diseases.

A very practical guide for beginners and experienced gardeners alike. Excellent value !!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Life Changing!, 29 July 2010
By 
Mrs. M. Biddle (Coventry England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vegetable, Fruit and Herb Growing in Small Spaces (Paperback)
Brilliant book! For the first time I've found a book which tells me what I really want to know. So many gardening books only touch briefly on containers but this one deals with the subject properly. This is the first year I've had real success with container gardening and I'm delighted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another winner for people who actually want to garden, rather than look at glossy pictures, 8 April 2010
By 
Am Hill - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vegetable, Fruit and Herb Growing in Small Spaces (Paperback)
This is a great book with the usual sound practical advice from John Harrison. I have an allotment but I grow quite a lot on my balcony at home, so this has been really useful. If you've anywhere you can put a window box or a tub - you really can grow your own, as this good value book shows. It's the right size to put in your pocket to read on the bus and a lot of good advice for not much outlay.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 28 July 2010
By 
P. Kinsella - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vegetable, Fruit and Herb Growing in Small Spaces (Paperback)
I have bought nearly all the books by this author - he is brilliant. Not only easy and fun to read but gives loads of help and information. Recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This can open up a whole new eating experience!, 9 April 2010
By 
Paula Skaife "Peapod" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vegetable, Fruit and Herb Growing in Small Spaces (Paperback)
I love John Harrisons books, and this is his usual down to earth good advice. I bought this to encourage my son with growing his own projects, and he's loving choosing the veg seeds and pots. Although we have an allotment I wanted him to have something of his very own, not just sharing mums plot. Thanks John, you've made a little boy (and his mum!) a happy, involved little boy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vegetable, Fruit and Herb Growing in Small Spaces, 21 Oct 2010
This review is from: Vegetable, Fruit and Herb Growing in Small Spaces (Paperback)
Vegetable, Fruit and Herb Growing in Small Spaces

This has been one of 3 books i have read recently, Having a Very small Garden I found this to be the BEST one for General Advise, Growing Tips, Hints and Lots more thank expected for a cheap book.
Also the book is written in VERY easy to read format in PLAIN English and I praise John Harrison on the way he has presented this book.
For a Cheap in Price But NO corners cut on advise I MUST score this book as 100% it has been such an inspiration to read and VERY easy to put it into practice which I have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Quite good, 26 May 2011
By 
E. Pinchbeck "addicted to reading" (Walsall England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vegetable, Fruit and Herb Growing in Small Spaces (Paperback)
Its nice to have a book which is dedicated to container and small area gardening for once instead of just having it as a small part of a chapter. It was perhaps simplistic in places and skimmed over the surface of container gardening without going into too much depth. Fantastic if this is your first time gardening but if you have some experience its a bit basic, still not bad for what I paid for it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Thin book, thin content, 14 Sep 2011
This review is from: Vegetable, Fruit and Herb Growing in Small Spaces (Paperback)
As a novice gardener, with a small amount of space available for cultivation, I was looking for a book that would give good advice about where, when, what and how to grow veg and herbs in a restricted area. Looking at the reviews for this book, it seemed ideal. However it appears to provide little more than a list of which veg, fruit and herbs can be grown in pots, and which might turn out to be too large. Actual growing, planting and cultivation information is vague, intermittent and sketchy.
Perhaps the idea is to 'encourage' the purchase of the author's other book(s) to get a complete picture?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa54f74e0)

This product

Vegetable, Fruit and Herb Growing in Small Spaces
Vegetable, Fruit and Herb Growing in Small Spaces by John Harrison (Paperback - 25 Mar 2010)
4.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews