Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (56)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (11)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


100 of 100 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely recipes - using british measurements!
This is a nice little book with some lovely simple recipes in. My favourite is the lamb and apricots dish - which tastes so delicious (great with cous cous). The nice thing about this book is that the ingredients are easy to get hold of, the recipies are straightforward, and best of all the ingredient quantities are expressed in measurements familier to the british cook...
Published on 21 Oct 2008 by Caz

versus
70 of 72 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simple yet comprehensive
To a beginner who has returned to the ease of use and cost savings provided by using pressure cookers I have found that the book is simply set out and easy to read.
It is ideal as the basic facts are explained clearly and advice is supplied as to how and why it all happens.These facts will facilitate the modification of your recipes and help explain any disasters...
Published on 9 Dec 2001


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

100 of 100 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lovely recipes - using british measurements!, 21 Oct 2008
This is a nice little book with some lovely simple recipes in. My favourite is the lamb and apricots dish - which tastes so delicious (great with cous cous). The nice thing about this book is that the ingredients are easy to get hold of, the recipies are straightforward, and best of all the ingredient quantities are expressed in measurements familier to the british cook (no cup measurements)! Would recommend this to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


63 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Indispensable!, 29 Jan 2009
I recently bought myself my second pressure cooker and decided to treat myself to this book - it does exactly what it says on the cover (even allows for variations in type of pressure cooker) and then loads of recipes in English units that just make you want to use the thing every day! 'braised' red cabbage and apples 6mins under pressure compared with my favourite Delia recipe which takes 1.5 to 2 hours in a slow oven. Chicken carcass stock in 40 mins - Hugh F-W's takes 3hrs!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars pressure cooking properly explained, 11 Oct 2009
By 
N. Coup (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pressure Cooking Properly Explained (Paperback)
Being a new pressure cooker owner meant a guide like this was essential. This book is the ideal one to tell all, also there are excellent recipies included, some of which I had no idea could be done by pressure cooker.
This is a must have for anyone interested in this method of cooking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


70 of 72 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Simple yet comprehensive, 9 Dec 2001
By A Customer
To a beginner who has returned to the ease of use and cost savings provided by using pressure cookers I have found that the book is simply set out and easy to read.
It is ideal as the basic facts are explained clearly and advice is supplied as to how and why it all happens.These facts will facilitate the modification of your recipes and help explain any disasters which may happen with your efforts.
There are plenty of recipes to start with although a more exhaustive list of separate ingredients and their cooking times would be of help.
In general a clearly set out book which is easy to use and should find ready acceptance amongst the vast array of cookery books which we all seem to have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sensible little book, 21 Oct 2009
By 
Celia Wall "oncewozwig" (Essex, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pressure Cooking Properly Explained (Paperback)
I am very happy with the book. It gives a no-nonsense outline of pressure cooking with great every-day recipes. A very good starter for people new to pressure cooking and even it you are experenced it's still a very handy reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exactly what I needed, 19 Sep 2009
By 
rossyb "r.breslin" (West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pressure Cooking Properly Explained (Paperback)
This book has all the recipes my mom used to make, syrup pudding, steak and kidney pud, stews, rice pudding. Good wholesome old fashioned type food, lovely, as well as explaining how to use a pressure cooker. My first pressure cooker and the perfect cook book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 45 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book for First time Pressure Cooker Users., 7 Nov 2009
By 
Mrs. L. Abraham (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pressure Cooking Properly Explained (Paperback)
This is an excellent book for the first time pressure cooker user. It gives a great deal of information on the pressure cooker - the pressure cooker explained, how to choose, using, looking after, adapting recipes and about the recipes along with a good selection of recipes for soups, meat, poultry and game, fish, vegetables and rice, puddings, cooking for one and making preserves. I have recently made seville orange marmalade and it was so quick and easy to do. The marmalade set very quickly and tastes delicious!

All the above explained simply for the "rushed of their feet" person of today.

Why did I not get a pressure cooker before I ask myself??
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good starter, 20 July 2009
By 
C. Cyrol (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is a good starter when you just bought a pressure pot for the first time. It explains well what you need to know about pressure cooking and helps you to adopt your non pressure cooking recipe.
There is a large variety of simple to make recipes. A good source of inspiration to try new stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Out Dated, 21 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pressure Cooking Properly Explained (Paperback)
This book was first published in 1978, the diagrams of pressure cookers look like they did in the 70's. If like me you have a cooker that cooks at 12 and 6 pounds you will have to adapt the recipes as they are in 15, 10 and 5 pound pressures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Could Do With Updating, 30 Dec 2009
By 
Michael May "mikemayuk" (Worksop, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pressure Cooking Properly Explained (Paperback)
OK, it's not as if pressure cooking is a mystery any more; if you really need to know how and why it works you can always Google it. Apart from that, a greater array of recipes, that use the cornucopia of ingredients available to the modern chef, would be more than useful, otherwise I'm going to have to start experimenting, using the stuff in this book as a jumping-off point. Any volunteers for the Letitia Cropley Experimental Cookery Club? In short, it'll get you started, but Mrs Beeton's it ain't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pressure Cooking Properly Explained
Pressure Cooking Properly Explained by Dianne Page (Paperback - 14 July 2009)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews