Customer Reviews


125 Reviews
5 star:
 (81)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tasty tips
If it's your first foray into jams, preserves or chutneys,this is the ideal book to use.

It's informative and the recipes are very easy to follow.

I now have several shelves of jams and chutneys, made from homegrown produce so I'll be enjoying them until it's time to make some more.
Published on 23 Oct. 2009 by Mrs Six

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars John where precisely did I go wrong
I have many of John Harrison's books so thought I would try Easy Jams Chutneys and Preserves
My first recipe was lemon curd as I have made it before using Nigel Slater's recipe.
I fallowed his instructions to the letter even though I did think it was rather a lot of sugar

4 large lemons
6 eggs
1lb caster sugar
4oz butter unsalted...
Published 10 months ago by Julie Lapworth


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tasty tips, 23 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Easy Jams, Chutneys and Preserves (Paperback)
If it's your first foray into jams, preserves or chutneys,this is the ideal book to use.

It's informative and the recipes are very easy to follow.

I now have several shelves of jams and chutneys, made from homegrown produce so I'll be enjoying them until it's time to make some more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 40 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get this book, 19 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Easy Jams, Chutneys and Preserves (Paperback)
What a book!!! From the time it arrived I havn't put it down! I've never made jams, chutneys ect before but can't stop now. This book makes it so easy. Takes all the fear out of jam making. Oh and not just jams ....but that's for you to find out when you get the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Sticky Problem, 3 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Easy Jams, Chutneys and Preserves (Paperback)
An excellent book. Very informative with loads of recipes. Got me out of a problem with jam not setting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy James & Chutneys, 28 July 2009
By 
Mrs. S. J. Hunter (Derbyshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Jams, Chutneys and Preserves (Paperback)
Excellent book, will be purchasing another as a present for a fellow allotment holder. Everything John does is great, his website is excellent and I love using it when I have a problem. Keep up the good work John and Val.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 5 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Jams, Chutneys and Preserves (Paperback)
I make a huge amount of jam and chutney every year so always on the look out for new ideas - this book proved invaluable - good value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Jam, 22 Sept. 2010
By 
JC (Leeds England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Easy Jams, Chutneys and Preserves (Paperback)
Bought for a friend for a christmas present - had a sneaky read through myself and lots of interesting tips and lovely receipes. Probably try some myself and even keep it for myself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What I think, 20 Aug. 2010
This review is from: Easy Jams, Chutneys and Preserves (Paperback)
Easy James, Chutneys and Preserves is a no nonsense book and gives me all the facts that I need. Price was very reasonable and whilst not resorted to taking it to bed with me yet I have not put it with the rest of my cookery books just in case there is a bit of info that I need to refer to quickly!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy Jams, Chutneys and Preserves, 19 Oct. 2009
By 
A. Clarke (Boston, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Easy Jams, Chutneys and Preserves (Paperback)
This is not just another preserve book, of which I have several, but all the recipes are tried and tested by the Harrisons, their friends and relatives. I have so far tried several of the recipes and they are very good.

The handy size is good too as it doesn't take all the room up on your worktop!

John Harrison is a very down to Earth author, who knows how to connect with his public! Looking forward to more books from you Mr Harrison!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, great value, 24 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Easy Jams, Chutneys and Preserves (Paperback)
This is great book for anyone interested in getting started making their own sweet and savoury preserves. The book is divided into different sections and explains the basics behind the methods before going on to the actual recipes.
There is no expensive equipment required, just fruit and/or veg and some empty jars is pretty much all you need to get started.
Its a great way to use up any homegrown produce and very satisfying to know exactly whats gone into the jam on your toast or the chutney in your sandwich.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars inspiring but no pictures, 24 Jan. 2010
By 
VenusSpecimen (south east, u.k) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Easy Jams, Chutneys and Preserves (Paperback)
this is more of a sit down and read book than a flick through and seek inspiration, but once you do sit down and read it, you'll be inspired GALLORE! super book with many many versatile recipes in it. all very doable in modern homes. very pleased to have this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 213 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Easy Jams, Chutneys and Preserves
Easy Jams, Chutneys and Preserves by Val Harrison (Paperback - 30 July 2009)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews