Customer Reviews


66 Reviews
5 star:
 (45)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


73 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Allotment Guide my thoughts
Another great little book from Mr Harrison, I was very impressed with his 1st book Vegetable Growing Month-by-month: The Down-to-earth Guide That Takes You Through the Vegetable Year and his second certainly does not disappoint.
"The Essential Allotment Guide" is written with the gardener in mind, with simple and concise information on subjects like how to get a...
Published on 14 May 2009 by One man and his plot

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars No photos
It's not a bad book - but it's just an essay, with the odd line drawing thrown in. So if you're anything like me you like to have at least the occasional photo to keep up a visual interest. Ploughing through a whole book of text doesn't keep me engaged for long.
Published 28 days ago by MadaboutRadley


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

73 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Allotment Guide my thoughts, 14 May 2009
This review is from: The Essential Allotment Guide: How to Get the Best out of Your Plot (Paperback)
Another great little book from Mr Harrison, I was very impressed with his 1st book Vegetable Growing Month-by-month: The Down-to-earth Guide That Takes You Through the Vegetable Year and his second certainly does not disappoint.
"The Essential Allotment Guide" is written with the gardener in mind, with simple and concise information on subjects like how to get a plot, not always as easy as it sounds! Clear that jungle of a plot you have just leased and turn it into a productive oasis.
I've been an allotment holder for years and wish I'd have had this to hand when I started out. So glad I've got it now, who says you can't teach an old dog new tricks.
In his work Mr Harrison's love for gardening comes forth as does his enthusiasm for cost effective food growing. Not a coffee table book but a real book for reading and using.
All in all a lovely book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another "Must Have" vegetable growing book !, 27 May 2009
By 
L. J. Williams (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essential Allotment Guide: How to Get the Best out of Your Plot (Paperback)
Another great book from John Harrison, I love John's writing style, it is friendly and chatty and easy to read. It has all the information you need to get you started on your allotment, from clearing it to getting it into delicious production.

It has all the information that would take years to learn from chatting to your plot neighbours, so will get any new gardener off to a flying start. It can teach the experienced gardener a thing or two as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Its a growbag of knowledge, 22 May 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Allotment Guide: How to Get the Best out of Your Plot (Paperback)
Despite the initial disappointment because it didn't have colour pics etc; I sat down to read and could not put it down.

I'm a first time veg gardener who is clearing land at my home to turn into an allotment (60ft x 40ft). This book has managed to cover off all the main topics from preparing land; siting of items such as greenhouses / cold frames; construction of raised beds / cold frames; through to composting and growing.

It also take the positive approach to instil the right mindset about reusing and recycling.

i cant speak for all, but i can say it has helped me immensity to tackle my first year with confidence and a better understanding.

Money well spent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Allotment Guide, 7 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Essential Allotment Guide: How to Get the Best out of Your Plot (Paperback)
When I started on my allotment 2 years ago, being a complete novice I needed all the advice I could get. I bought a number of books on keeping allotments but found that page after page of instructions were impossible to assimilate. Then I bought Essential Allotment Guide How to get the Best out of Your Plot and realised that this is what I had needed all along. The information is presented as if you are chatting to the author, with tips and humorous asides which make it much more easy to remember . If you only have only one book for your allotment make it this one, it's not a huge book only 155 pages but what a feast of useful information in a user friendly format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The allotment, 4 Jun 2009
By 
This review is from: The Essential Allotment Guide: How to Get the Best out of Your Plot (Paperback)
Well what a fantastic and very helpful book i am still reading this one taking it all in. John who wrote this book gives you down to earth guidance information and sometime funny help his website is just as good no frills just good old fashioned advice. what more can i say but do buy this book, it is well worth the money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wineart, 17 Dec 2009
By 
W. P. J. Sheppard "Eklbride" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Allotment Guide: How to Get the Best out of Your Plot (Paperback)
An excellent book for anyone who is interested in growing there on food, either in an allotment or in their own garden. Full of practical tips without being long winded. Details on growing many vegetable varieties. It takes you from thinking about taking over a plot and what you will need - including the time that you will have to devote to run it succesfully. There is also a section on how to build a compost bin from recycled material as well as constructions on the plot, saving your own seeds, with a seed life chart and a sowing and harverting chart. A good pocket reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Essential Allotment Guide, 29 Sep 2009
By 
K. Glover (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essential Allotment Guide: How to Get the Best out of Your Plot (Paperback)
This is an excellent introductory guide to starting up and allotment with lots of useful tips written in a clear and lively way. As a total newcomer to allotment gardener, I found this invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Cuteboysmummy, 9 July 2010
This review is from: The Essential Allotment Guide: How to Get the Best out of Your Plot (Paperback)
As a new allotment holder this is a a very useful book. A lot of good info on ground preparation, how to grow a variety of different fruit and veg and how to start from scratch. Much superior to the TV tie in books which have lovely photos but big gaps in information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Easy to understand allotment guide, 5 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Essential Allotment Guide: How to Get the Best out of Your Plot (Paperback)
I have just gotten a new allotment and in searching for help I found John Harrison's website which is very helpful and decided to purchase this book. So many books promise much and deliver little but John's website and book have been invaluable to me. It is heartening to get good basic advice from someone who is writing from experience in an easy to understand way even for the complete novice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a good read, 2 Sep 2009
By 
Richard C. England (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Essential Allotment Guide: How to Get the Best out of Your Plot (Paperback)
a good book that provides plenty of ideas and information to a new allotment holder like myself. it is easy to read and simply laid out so there is an instant understanding of the subject material. all for the price of a glossy magazine or 2 sunday papers an absolute bargain thanks
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Essential Allotment Guide: How to Get the Best out of Your Plot
4.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews